Accessibility statement

Writers at York

Writers at York is a lively programme of readings and workshops, which bring to York the exciting new voices and some of the most important contemporary writers. Events in recent years have featured poets Denise Riley, Alice Oswald, and Seamus Heaney, playwright David Edgar, novelists Graham Swift, Emma Donoghue, J. M. Coetzee, Booker-shortlisted novelist Fiona Mozley, and many others.

See below for more information about this year’s events, and an archive of past events.

2019/20 Programme

Past Events








  • Ciaran Carson and Owenvarragh, 27th June 2013 (Rymer Auditorium)
  • Seamus Heaney, 26th June 2013 (Central Hall)
  • Bernard O'Donoghue, 16th May 2013 (Treehouse, HRC)
  • John Wilkinson, 23rd April 2013 (Treehouse, HRC)
  • Peter Robinson and Mairi MacInnes, 7th February 2013 (Treehouse, HRC)
  • Justin Quinn, 5th December 2012 (Treehouse, HRC)
  • Ciaran Carson, 8th November 2012 (Treehouse, HRC)

2006 to 2012

  • Jennifer Johnston, 29th June 2012 (Treehouse, HRC)
  • Alice Oswald, 13th March 2012 (Bowland Auditorium, HRC)
  • J. M. Coetzee, 24th June 2011 (Central Hall)
  • John Banville, 23rd June 2011 (P/X/001, Physics Building)
  • Sir Andrew Motion, 8th June 2011 (Ron Cooke Hub, Heslington East)
  • Christian Bok, 19th May 2011 (Bowland Auditorium, HRC)
  • Don Paterson, 29th June 2010 (P/001, Physics Building)
  • Adam Foulds, 17th May 2010 (Bowland Auditorium, HRC)
  • Simon Armitage, 28th January 2010 (Bowland Auditorium, HRC)
  • Saskia Hamilton, 16th June 2009 (H/G/21, Heslington Hall)
  • Lavinia Greenlaw, 5th March 2008 (P/002, Physics Building)
  • Carol Ann Duffy, 29th February 2008 (Jack Lyons Concert Hall)
  • Geoffrey Hill, 21st November 2007 (Alcuin 004)
  • Graham Swift, 27th October 2007 (Vanbrugh 045)
  • Paul Muldoon, 31st October 2006 (Langwith 028)
  • J. M. Coetzee, 6th June 2006 (Jack Lyons Concert Hall)

Useful Links:

News and Events