Accessibility statement

Professor Peter O'Brien Highlights

Research Prizes

  • AstraZeneca, GlaxoSmithKline, Pfizer & Syngenta prize for Process Chemistry Research, 2017
  • University of York Vice-Chancellor’s Teaching Award for 2014-15
  • RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award, 2013
    “For his important contributions to asymmetric synthesis, particularly the development and  applications of the (+)-sparteine surrogate”
  • GlaxoWellcome prize for innovative research in organic chemistry, 2000
    “For the development of practical syntheses of chiral diamines and of enantioselective epoxide rearrangement reactions”
  • RSC Meldola Medal, 1999
    “For distinction in asymmetric organic chemistry based on the development and use of chiral bases”

Invited Lectures at International Conferences and Universities

  • University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, 2016
  • Bayreuth University, Germany, 2016
  • RSC Heterocyclic & Synthesis Group Lakeland Meeting, Grasmere, UK, 2015
  • Discovery Chemistry Congress, SelectBio, Berlin, Germany, 2015
  • AstraZeneca, Mölndal, Sweden, 2014
  • 10th International Symposium on Carbanion Chemistry, Kyoto, Japan, 2013
  • Institut des Sciences Moléculaires, Université Bordeaux 1, France, 2013
  • Challenges in Organic Chemistry and Chemical Biology (ISACS7), Edinburgh, UK, 2012
  • 9th International Symposium on Carbanion Chemistry, Florence, Italy, 2010


  • Visiting Professor at the University of Utah, USA 2016
  • Visiting Professor at the University of Geneva, Switzerland 2006
  • Secretary/treasurer of the RSC Heterocyclic and Synthesis Group, 2005-2007
  • Member of the Organic Executive Committee of the RSC, 2005-2007
  • Invited Guest Editor for a Tetrahedron “Symposium-in-Print” on Chiral Bases, 2002
  • Associate Editor of the international journal Tetrahedron (since 1998)
  • International academic collaborations with Prof Kenneth B. Wiberg (Yale University, USA), Prof William F. Bailey (University of Connecticut, USA), Prof John A. Porco (Boston University, USA), Prof Brian M. Stoltz (California Institute of Technology, USA), Prof Dr Carsten Strohmann (TU Dortmund, Germany) and Prof Göran Hilmersson (Göteborg University, Sweden)