Is owning your home good for your health? Evidence from exogenous variations in subsidies in England

Thursday 7 June 2018, 2.00PM to 3.15pm

Speaker(s): Dr Eleonora Fichera, Senior Lecturer in Economics, Department of Economics, University of Bath

Abstract: The 'Right to Buy' policy gives secure long-term tenants of publicly rented housing a discount in order to encourage them to buy their home. Using macro- and micro-level analyses, we exploit the structure of this policy to investigate the causal effects of home ownership on health. In both analyses, home ownership is associated with higher levels of health and well-being. Further models suggest that the mechanisms through which home ownership affects health may operate via labour markets with new job opportunities, extra time saved travelling and resources available for healthy leisure activities.

Location: ARRC Auditorium A/RC/014

Who to contact

For more information on these seminars, contact:

Maria Jose Aragon
mariajose.aragonaragon@york.ac.uk
Jessica Ochalek
jessica.ochalek@york.ac.uk

CHE Seminar Programme

  • Monday 21 January
    Professor Rachel Baker, Yunus Centre for Social Business and Health
  • Thursday 7 February
    Professor Philip Clarke, The Universities of Melbourne and Oxford
  • Thursday 7 March
    Professor Sonia Bhalhotra, University of Essex 
  • Thursday 4 April 
    Eugenio Zucchelli, Lancaster University
  • Monday 13 May
    Davide Rasella, Fiocruz Brazil
  • Thursday 4 July
    Stephanie von Hinke Kessler Scholder, Bristol University
  • Thursday 5 September
    Jose-Luis Fernandez, LSE 
  • Thursday 3 October
    Soren Rud Kristensen, Imperial
  • Thursday 7 November
    Linda Davies, Manchester University
  • Wednesday 5 December
    Mandy Ryan, HERU, University of Aberdeen