Research & Related Staff

Dr Florian Block
Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs

Email: florian.block@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325458 
Room: RCH/222

Enabling the general public to interact with real-world data through the use of novel interactive technology and visualization techniques. Utilizing interactive technology, data visualizations and games for scientific outreach, digital civics and citizen science. 

Dr Shauna Concannon
Research Associate in Data-Driven Video Stories
February 2018 - January 2019

Email: shauna.concannon@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325299 
Room: RCH/003A

'Perspective Media: Personalised Video Storytelling for Data Engagement' funded by EPSRC.

Dr Sebastian Deterding 
Reader/Senior Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs

Email: sebastian.deterding@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325259 
Room: RCH/222

Motivational and engagement design; persuasive design and games; gameful and playful design; creative AI; games and play in culture.

Dr Anthony Masinton
Research Associate
June 2018 - November 2018

Email: anthony.masinton@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: TBC

Working on the AHRC funded ‘Within the Walls of York Gaol’ project. The project is a collaboration between the Universities of York and Glasgow and York Museums trust which will design and deliver innovative bespoke immersive experiences for use by museum audiences.

Dr Laura Mayne 
Research Associate
January 2014 - June 2018

Email: laura.mayne@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292 
Room: TFTV/108a  

Postdoctoral research associate on the AHRC-funded project Transformation and tradition in sixties British cinema: production cultures, cross media relations and national branding. Responsible for assisting the Principal Investigator Duncan Petrie in conducting research for the project.  

Dr Davy Smith
Research Associate in Digital Creativity Labs
November 2016 - December 2018

Email: davy.smith@york.ac.uk
Room: RCH/222

Non-linear and interactive narrative in broadcast media. Digital storytelling. Transmedia storytelling. Alternative, mixed and virtual realities. Interactive media and art. Interdisciplinary research into curiosity as a creative and exploratory process from both design centred and formal, algorithmic, viewpoints. Computational curiosity. 

Dr Roderik Smits
Research Associate
March 2018 - July 2018

Email: roderik.smits@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: TFTV/106

Media distribution; Cultural Gatekeepers, Independent Cinema, VOD platforms, Film Industry, Film Distribution, Film Exhibition, Public Film Policies, Film Festivals and Sales Markets, Creative and Cultural industries

Dr Nathan Townsend
Research Associate
February 2018 - September 2018

Email: nathan.townsend@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325284
Room: TFTV/108a

History, theory and analysis in film and television studies, Cinema: History & Analysis, Television: History & Analysis, The Discipline of Genre and Current Issues in Film & Television.