Academic Staff

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Theatre

Email: david.barnett@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325455 
Room: TFTV/222

Political theatre, particularly Bertolt Brecht, the Berliner Ensemble, Heiner Müller, dialectics on stage, and post-Brechtian performance; Rainer Werner Fassbinder and his work in the theatre; postdramatic theatre; modern German theatre; documentary theatre; theatre documentation.

Mr Simon van der Borgh
Lecturer in Screenwriting

Email: simon.vanderborgh@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325269
Room: TFTV/221

Screenwriting, including adaptation, genre films & hi-concept movies; short films; the function of character in the creation of compelling screen stories and story structure; the form & function of scenes in scene-writing; Theatre, especially playwriting; the Australian film & TV industry.

Mr Ed Braman
Senior Lecturer in Film & TV Production

Email: ed.braman@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325281
Room: TFTV/204

Multi-camera techniques, documentary production, studio drama, TV as a cultural industry and screen storytelling.

Ms Anna Bramwell-Dicks
Lecturer in Web Development & Interactive Media

Email: anna.bramwell-dicks@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325244
Room: TFTV/108b

Human-computer interaction, interaction design, user-centred design and evaluation methodologies. Web and app design and development. Multi-modal interaction, particularly auditory interaction including non-speech audio and music. Affective interaction. Quantitative and qualitative research methodologies. Accessibility, including sensory substitution devices. Teaching-led research.

Dr Tom Cantrell 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: tom.cantrell@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325236
Room: TFTV/223

Modern British drama, political theatre, documentary and verbatim theatre, acting technique and training, voice and the actor, screen performance.

Dr Richard Carter
Associate Lecturer in Digital Culture

Email: richard.carter@york.ac.uk
Room: TFTV/206

Interactive and transmedia storytelling; digital art; electronic literature; gaming and simulation; science and technology studies; media archaeology.

Professor Michael Cordner
Ken Dixon Professor of Drama

Email: michael.cordner@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325228
Room: TFTV/229

English drama 1580-1740; theatre, film and television comedy; post-1945 British theatre; analysis and history of acting and performance traditions; from script to performance. 

Dr Kristyn Gorton 
Reader in Film & Television

Email: kristyn.gorton@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325222
Room: TFTV/208

Television Criticism; Feminist Film/TV Theory; Theorising the Concept of Desire; Emotion/Affect Theory; Melancholia/Hysteria in Contemporary Film; Films/Writings by Marguerite Duras.

Dr David Hickman 
Senior Lecturer in Film and Television Production

Email: david.hickman@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325232
Room: TFTV/213

Film and television production; TV and independent documentary; the art and technique of cinematography; writing and directing for television.

Professor Andrew Higson 
Greg Dyke Chair of Film and Television (On leave spring & summer term 2018)

Email: andrew.higson@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325234
Room: TFTV/211

British cinema history, especially the silent period, and the 1990s/2000s; Film Europe in the 1920s; cinema and the past; national/transnational cinema; Anglia Television and the history of ITV.

Dr Jonathan Hook 
Lecturer in Interactive Media

Email: jonathan.hook@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325238
Room: TFTV/226

Human-computer interaction and interaction design, with a focus on the human-centred design of new interactive technologies for creative settings and practices; the design and development of new interaction techniques, including those for tabletop, multi-touch, tangible, tactile and reconfigurable user interfaces.

Dr Ollie Jones 
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: oliver.jones@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325242
Room: TFTV/227

Medieval and early modern British drama, in particular the repertory of and performance by Elizabethan companies on tour; original practices and performance-as-research; the archaeology of medieval and post-medieval buildings; early theatre architectures.

Dr Nick Jones
Lecturer in Film, TV & Digital Culture

Email: n.jones@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325289
Room: TFTV/122
Digital media; action cinema; 3D; the representation of space and architecture on film; media archaeology

Dr Ben Kirman
Lecturer in Interactive Media (Web Interaction)

Email:
 ben.kirman@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325221
Room: TFTV/225

Interaction design for games and playful experiences; critical and speculative design; mobile and social play; animal-computer interaction.

Dr Louise LePage
Lecturer in Theatre (On leave summer term 2018)

Email: louise.lepage@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325454 
Room: TFTV/108c

Theatre and the posthuman; performing robots; twenty-first century drama; dramatic character; science-fiction theatre; technologies and film in theatre.

Dr Mariana Lopez
Lecturer in Sound Production and Post Production

Chair of the Audio Engineering Society UK

Email: mariana.lopez@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 325248
Room: TFTV/103

Sound Design for Theatre, Film and TV; Accessibility in audiovisual arts; Virtual Acoustics; York Mystery Plays; Digital  Heritage.

Mr John Mateer 
Senior Lecturer in Film and Television Production (On leave summer term 2018)

Email: john.mateer@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325230
Room: TFTV/212

Film and TV production and postproduction; visual effects and compositing; story and script development; single camera directing; cinematic virtual reality; advanced production technologies.

Dr Debbie Maxwell
Lecturer in Interactive Media (Ux Design)

Email: debbie.maxwell@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325256
Room: TFTV/224

Interactive media; user experience; traditional storytelling; knowledge exchange; codesign; ethnography; design methods; community engagement.

Dr Jenna Ng
Anniversary Research Lecturer

Email: jenna.ng@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325277
Room: TFTV/231

Digital cinema; digital visual culture; interactive media; digital humanities; augmented realities; machinima; philosophy of film; cinephilia; East Asian cinema (Chinese, Singaporean); cross-culturality; comparative film studies.

Dr Sandra Pauletto 
Senior Lecturer in Sound Design

Email: sandra.pauletto@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325223
Room: TFTV/214

Sound design; Sonic Interaction Design; Auditory Displays; sound synthesis and processing; interactive audio; sound design for Cinema and Television; cinematic and synthetic voice.

Dr Lisa Peschel 
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: lisa.peschel@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325247
Room: TFTV/207

Theatrical performance in the World War II Jewish ghetto at Terezín/Theresienstadt, modern Czech theatre, theories of affect, identity and subjectivity, playwriting, translation and adaptation for the stage.

Professor Duncan Petrie
Head of Department and Professor in Film & Television

Email: duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325226
Room: TFTV/215

British, Scottish and New Zealand Cinema History; Cinematography; Scottish Culture; Moving Image Policy and Institutions.

Dr Benjamin Poore 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: benjamin.poore@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325231
Room: TFTV/205

Contemporary playwriting; literary adaptation; the Victorians on stage and screen.

Dr Karen Quigley 
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: karen.quigley@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: TFTV/210

Critical approaches to staging and unstageability; European theatre histories; contemporary performance practice in the UK and Ireland; autoethnographic approaches to writing about performance; pedagogies of theatre and performance in higher education.

Mr Paul Ryan
Lecturer in Screen Production and Postproduction

Email: paul.ryan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325288
Room: TFTV/104

 

Dr Guy Schofield 
Lecturer in Image Processing

Email: guy.schofield@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325275<
Room: TFTV/228

Postproduction, 3D computer graphics and animation, media art, game design and production, participatory film-making, human-computer interaction, creative practice in technology.

Dr Mark Smith
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: mark.smith@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325456
Room: TFTV/209

Contemporary British theatre and performance, devised and physical theatre, large-scale community productions, performance and social media.

Mr Patrick Titley 
Senior Lecturer in Multi - Camera Television Production

Email: patrick.titley@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325235
Room: TFTV/108

Multicamera techniques for studio and Outside Broadcast; producing and directing children's,  entertainment and science programmes.

Professor Marian Ursu 
Professor of Interactive Media

Email: marian.ursu@york.ac.uk 
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 325276
Room: TFTV/206

Interactive Media: interactive narratives and digital storytelling (especially video driven); context-adaptable video communication systems; context-aware media; interactive digital art.

Mr Andrew Vickers
Lecturer in Writing for Stage & Screen

Email: andrew.vickers@york.ac.uk
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 325251
Room: TFTV/203