Accessibility statement

Research and Related Staff

Dr Rebecca Benzie
Research Associate

Emailrebecca.benzie@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: 
 

Dr Cobi van Tonder
Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow

Emailcobi.vantonder@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: 
Working on project 'Acoustic Atlas: Cultivating the Capacity to Listen' with Dr Mariana Lopez.  Funded by the European Commission. 

Digital Creativity Labs
Digital Creativity Labs brings together over 100 partners and 30 researchers from multiple disciplines to deliver impact from research in the games and media industries.

 For all staff in Digital Creativity Labs

Joe Cutting
Research Associate in Game Experience Design

Emailjoe.cutting@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: 
 

Dr Sebastian Deterding 
Senior Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs
Reader 

Email: sebastian.deterding@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325259 
Room: RCH/222

Motivational and engagement design; persuasive design and games; gameful and playful design; creative AI; games and play in culture. 

Dr Victoria Hodge
KTP Associate in Data Analytics (PA Media)

Emailvictoria.hodge@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: 
 

Dr Sondess Missaoui
Research Associate in Artificial Intelligence

Emailsondess.missaoui@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: 
 

Andrew Walter
Research Associate in Tools for Digital Storytelling

Emailandrew.walter@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: 
 

XR Stories / SIGN / ERDF

For all staff in XR Stories

Emma Brown
Programme Manager, XR Stories

Emailemma.brown@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 
 

Sophie Caswell-Jones
Administrator, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailsophie.caswell-jones@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Harriet Camp
Administrator/Receptionist, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailharriet.camp@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

David Cooke
Administrator, XR Stories/SIGN

Emaildavid.cooke@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Robin Cramp
Business Development Manager (Executive Producer), SIGN

Emailrobin.cramp@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Catherine Hardman
Partnerships and Strategy Manager, SIGN

Emailcatherine.hardman@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Miriam Hemingway
Networks and Events Coordinator, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailmiriam.hemingway@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Farah Khan
ERDF Monitoring Officer, SIGN

Email: farah.khan@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Sarah Mitchell
Marketing Specialist, SIGN

Emailsarah.a.mitchell@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: 
 

Dr Anna Ozimek
Research Associate Creative Industries

Emailanna.ozimek@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Sophie Palmer
Administration Manager, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailsophie.palmer@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Pip Rackstraw
Skills and Training Manager, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailpip.rackstraw@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: RCH/
 

Robyn Ranford
Administrator, XR Stories

Emailrobyn.ranford@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: RCH/
 

John Rose-Adams
Creative Producer, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailjohn.rose-adams@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Wendy Sissons
Internships and Bursaries Manager, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailwendy.sissons@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: RCH/
 

Dr Samuel Stockley-Patel
Research Associate, XR Stories

Emailsamuel.stockley-patel@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Dr Jon Swords
Research Fellow XR Stories
Lecturer in Creative Industries

Email: jon.swords@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107

Economic geography, specifically geographies of the creative industries; immersive technology and media; critical heritage studies; visual methodologies; post-representational cartography.‌

Nicola Thomis
Communications Manager, XR Stories/SIGN

Emailnicola.thomis@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Caroline White
Senior Creative Producer, XR Stories

Emailcaroline.white@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325292
Room: RCH/107
 

Weavr
Weavr is a technology platform that uses live and historic data to create meaningful and personalised mixed-reality experiences for esports fans.

 For staff in Weavr

Dr Florian Block
Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs, Weavr
Lecturer

Email: florian.block@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325458 
Room: RCH/222

Enabling the general public to interact with real-world data through the use of novel interactive technology and visualization techniques. Utilizing interactive technology, data visualizations and games for scientific outreach, digital civics and citizen science. 

Álvaro Cáceres Muñoz
UX Software Engineer

Emailalvaro.caceres@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: 
 

Alistair Coates
Junior Software Engineer

Emailalistair.coates@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011
 

Dr Athanasios Kokkinakis
Research Associate in User Analytics

Emailathanasios.kokkinakis@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011
 

Isabelle Nölle
Project Manager

Emailisabelle.nolle@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011
 

Dr Oluseyi Olarewaju
Research Associate in Intelligent Content Creation Tools for Esports

Emailolu.olarewaju@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011
 

Moni Patra
Junior Data Analyst

Emailmoni.patra@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011
 

Daniel Slawson
Software Development Engineer Lead

Emaildanial.slawson@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325272
Room: RCH/011