Accessibility statement

Academic Staff

Dr Alessandro Altavilla
Associate Lecturer in Interactive Media

Email: alessandro.altavilla@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: TFTV/226

Interactive media art, interaction design, theory and aesthetics of digital media; affordance, embodiment, memory; sound art, interactive sonification, sound design, listening practices, sonic memories; design of digital music instruments, live electronics and live coding, acousmatic composition, film music. 

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Theatre

Email: david.barnett@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325455 
Room: TFTV/222

Political theatre, particularly Bertolt Brecht, the Berliner Ensemble, Heiner Müller, dialectics on stage, and post-Brechtian performance; Rainer Werner Fassbinder and his work in the theatre; postdramatic theatre; modern German theatre; documentary theatre; theatre documentation.

Dr Florian Block
Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs, Weavr
Reader

Email: florian.block@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325458 
Room: RCH/222

Enabling the general public to interact with real-world data through the use of novel interactive technology and visualization techniques. Utilizing interactive technology, data visualizations and games for scientific outreach, digital civics and citizen science.  

Mr Simon van der Borgh
Senior Lecturer in Screenwriting

Email: simon.vanderborgh@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325269
Room: TFTV/221

Screenwriting, including adaptation, genre films and hi-concept movies; short films; the function of character in the creation of compelling screen stories and story structure; the form and function of scenes in scene-writing; Theatre, especially playwriting; the Australian film and TV industry.

Member of the Immersive and Interactive Storytelling cluster

Dr Ed Braman
Senior Lecturer in TV Production

Email: ed.braman@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325281
Room: TFTV/204

Multi-camera techniques, documentary production, studio drama, TV as a cultural industry and screen storytelling.

Dr Anna Bramwell-Dicks
Lecturer in Web Development and Interactive Media

Email: anna.bramwell-dicks@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325244
Room: TFTV/108b

Human-computer interaction, interaction design, user-centred design and evaluation methodologies. Web and app design and development. Multi-modal interaction, particularly auditory interaction including non-speech audio and music. Affective interaction. Quantitative and qualitative research methodologies. Accessibility, including sensory substitution devices. Teaching-led research.

Member of the Health, Wellbeing and Accessibility cluster

Mr Matt Brannan
Lecturer in Film and TV Production

Email: matt.brannan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325243
Room: TFTV/207

Film and television production teaching and support for single camera location and multi-camera studio work. Offering advice on production methods, skills, techniques and technologies; specialising in cameras, lighting and grip equipment related to feature film, drama, documentary, music promos/commercials, multi-camera studio production and outside broadcast.

Member of the Performance and Production Practices and Context cluster

Dr Tom Cantrell 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: tom.cantrell@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325236
Room: TFTV/223

Modern British drama, political theatre, documentary and verbatim theatre, acting technique and training, voice and the actor, screen performance.

 

Professor Michael Cordner
Ken Dixon Professor of Drama

Email: michael.cordner@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325228
Room: TFTV/229

English drama 1580-1740; theatre, film and television comedy; post-1945 British theatre; analysis and history of acting and performance traditions; from script to performance. 

Professor Sebastian Deterding
Senior Research Fellow, Digital Creativity Labs
Professor in Digital Creativity

Email: sebastian.deterding@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325259
Room: RCH/222

Motivational and engagement design; persuasive design and games; gameful and playful design; creative AI; games and play in culture

Professor Kristyn Gorton 
Professor in Film and Television

Email: kristyn.gorton@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325222
Room: TFTV/208

Television Criticism; Feminist Film/TV Theory; Theorising the Concept of Desire; Emotion/Affect Theory; Melancholia/Hysteria in Contemporary Film; Films/Writings by Marguerite Duras.

 

Dr Katherine Graham
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: katherine.graham@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325284
Room: TFTV/214

Scenography; lighting design, in particular the agency of light in performance; phenomenology;
aesthetics; contemporary performance practices; dramaturgy; object oriented ontology and its
applications to performance; forms of storytelling across theatre and performance.

 

Miss Lorianne Hall 
Senior Lecturer in Film and TV Production

Email: lorianne.hall@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325232
Room: TFTV/213

 

Professor Andrew Higson 
Greg Dyke Chair of Film and Television

Email: andrew.higson@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325234
Room: TFTV/211

British cinema history, especially the silent period, and the 1990s/2000s; Film Europe in the 1920s; cinema and the past; national/transnational cinema; Anglia Television and the history of ITV.

 

Dr Jonathan Hook 
Senior Lecturer in Interactive Media

Email: jonathan.hook@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325238
Room: TFTV/226

Human-computer interaction and interaction design, with a focus on the human-centred design of new interactive technologies for creative settings and practices; the design and development of new interaction techniques, including those for tabletop, multi-touch, tangible, tactile and reconfigurable user interfaces.

Member of the 

Dr Ollie Jones
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: oliver.jones@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325242
Room: TFTV/227

Medieval and early modern British drama, in particular the repertory of and performance by Elizabethan companies on tour; original practices and performance-as-research; the archaeology of medieval and post-medieval buildings; early theatre architectures.

Dr Nick Jones
Lecturer in Film, TV and Digital Culture

Email: n.jones@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325289
Room: TFTV/122

Digital media; action cinema; 3D; the representation of space and architecture on film; media archaeology.

Member of the Digital Cultures cluster

Dr Fiona Keenan
Lecturer in Sound Production

Email:
 fiona.keenan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325223
Room: TFTV/214

Sound performance and sonic interactivity; sonic experience; phenomenology; sound design and storytelling; prototyping and remaking as design methods; history and philosophy of technology; noisemakers and sound effects

Dr Ben Kirman
Senior Lecturer in Interactive Media - Web Interaction

Email:
 ben.kirman@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325221
Room: TFTV/225

Interaction design for games and playful experiences; critical and speculative design; mobile and social play; animal-computer interaction.

 

Dr Louise LePage
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: louise.lepage@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325454 
Room: TFTV/206

Theatre and the posthuman; performing robots; twenty-first century drama; dramatic character; science-fiction theatre; technologies and film in theatre.

 

Dr Mariana Lopez
Senior Lecturer in Sound Production and Post-production

Email: mariana.lopez@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0) 1904 325248
Room: TFTV/103

Sound Design for Theatre, Film and TV; Accessibility in audiovisual arts; Virtual Acoustics; York Mystery Plays; Digital  Heritage.

 

Professor John Mateer 
Professor in Film and Television Production

Email: john.mateer@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325230
Room: TFTV/212

Film and TV production and postproduction; visual effects and compositing; story and script development; single camera directing; cinematic virtual reality; advanced production technologies.

Member of the

Dr Debbie Maxwell
Lecturer in Interactive Media - UX Design

Email: debbie.maxwell@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325256
Room: TFTV/224

Interactive media; user experience; traditional storytelling; knowledge exchange; codesign; ethnography; design methods; community engagement.

 

Dr Jenna Ng
Senior Lecturer in Film and Interactive Media

Email: jenna.ng@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325277
Room: TFTV/231

Digital cinema; digital visual culture; interactive media; digital humanities; augmented realities; machinima; philosophy of film; cinephilia; East Asian cinema (Chinese, Singaporean); cross-culturality; comparative film studies.

Member of the 

Dr Lisa Peschel 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: lisa.peschel@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325247
Room: TFTV/206

Theatrical performance in the World War II Jewish ghetto at Terezín/Theresienstadt, modern Czech theatre, theories of affect, identity and subjectivity, playwriting, translation and adaptation for the stage.

 

Professor Duncan Petrie
Head of Department and Professor in Film and Television

Email: duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325226
Room: TFTV/215

British, Scottish and New Zealand Cinema History; Cinematography; Scottish Culture; Moving Image Policy and Institutions.

Member of the 

Dr Emma Pett
Lecturer in Creative Industries

Email: emma.pett@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325235
Room: TFTV/108c

Media audiences, institutions and cultural policy; immersive media and participatory cultures; memory studies and histories of cinema-going; East Asian cinema and transnational contexts of reception; cult media.

 

Dr Benjamin Poore 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: benjamin.poore@york.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325231
Room: TFTV/205

Contemporary playwriting; literary adaptation; the Victorians on stage and screen.

 

Dr Karen Quigley 
Senior Lecturer in Theatre

Email: karen.quigley@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325229
Room: TFTV/210

Critical approaches to staging and unstageability; contemporary performance practice in the UK and Ireland; voice and music in contemporary theatre; autoethnographic approaches to writing about performance; pedagogies of theatre and performance in higher education.

 

Mr Paul Ryan
Lecturer in Screen Production and Postproduction

Email: paul.ryan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325288
Room: TFTV/104

Workflows and techniques for production and post production. Multi-camera studio techniques and processes. Editing and post production finishing in the storytelling process. Visual effects in theatre and interactive media.

Mr Sanjit Samaddar 
Associate Lecturer in Interactive Media

Email: sanjit.samaddar@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: 

 

Dr Guy Schofield 
Lecturer in Image Processing

Email: guy.schofield@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325275
Room: TFTV/228

Postproduction, 3D computer graphics and animation, media art, game design and production, participatory film-making, human-computer interaction, creative practice in technology.

 

Dr Mark Smith
Lecturer in Theatre

Email: mark.smith@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 325456
Room: TFTV/209

Contemporary British theatre and performance, devised and physical theatre, large-scale community productions, performance and social media.

Dr Jon Swords
Senior Research Fellow / Senior Lecturer in Creative Industries

Email: jon.swords@york.ac.uk 
Tel:
 
+44 (0)1904 325292
Room: 
RCH/107

Economic geography, specifically geographies of the creative industries; immersive technology and media; critical heritage studies; visual methodologies; post-representational cartography.

 

Dr Nathan Townsend
Lecturer in Creative Industries

Email: 
nathan.townsend@york.ac.uk 
Tel: 
+44 (0)1904 325232
Room: 

Film industry scholarship, particularly the relationship between the film industries and cultures of Britain and Hollywood, national and transnational cinemas and the political economy of film and television institutions.

Professor Marian Ursu
Professor of Interactive Media

Email: marian.ursu@york.ac.uk 
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 325276
Room: TFTV/211

Interactive Media: interactive narratives and digital storytelling (especially video driven); context-adaptable video communication systems; context-aware media; interactive digital art. 

Mr Andrew Vickers
Lecturer in Writing for Stage and Screen

Email: andrew.vickers@york.ac.uk
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 325251
Room: TFTV/203

 Screenwriting; story and script development.

Mr Colin Ward
Lecturer in TV Studio Production

Email: colin.ward@york.ac.uk
Tel:
 +44 (0)1904 325220
Room: TFTV/227