Accessibility statement

Women in Science Play Commission Announced

Posted on 12 December 2017

We are delighted to announce that the University of York's Women in Science playwriting commission has been awarded to Amy Ng.

Amy Ng is a playwright and historian. She has previously been commissioned by the RSC, BBC, Tamasha Theatre and Yellow Earth Theatre, and her works have been performed at Hampstead Theatre (upcoming in March 2018), the Finborough Theatre, Soho Theatre, Arcola Theatre, St. James Theatre, and the Southbank Centre.

Huge congratulations to Amy, and to the other shortlisted writers: Eve Leigh, Hannah Davies, Judy Upton, Laura Turner, Leila Mountford/Hilda Cronje, Lindsay Rodden and Suzanne Andrade. These proposals were shortlisted from a field of almost 200 applications. 

The shortlisting panel was chaired by Karen Quigley and included colleagues from the University of York’s Equality and Diversity Office, Student Union and Theatre, Film and Television Department (Anna Reader, Julian Porch, Lisa Peschel, Mark Smith and Tom Cantrell). 

Amy Ng’s proposal will now undergo writing and development before its production at the University of York’s Scenic Stage Theatre in June 2018.