Accessibility statement

Meet the team

The following members of staff constitute the programme team and will support you during the Scholarship:

Susan Kane

As Head of Learning and Development Susan has overall responsibility for the Laidlaw Scholars programme and will also be a part of the programme delivery team.

Penny Foster

Penny is the Programme Lead and will deliver the Leadership Programme as well as being a point of contact and support for Scholars during the Scholarship Programme.

Sarah Farrell

Sarah will be administering the accreditation element of the Programme and will be able to give Scholars specific advice on completing the qualification. Sarah is also part of the programme delivery team.


Leigh Nixon

Leigh’s responsible for the delivery of leadership and staff development workshops at the University of York and will support this programme as part of the delivery team.

A profile shot of Mattias Ruth

Matthias Ruth

Professor Matthias Ruth is the academic lead/senior sponsor for the Laidlaw Scholars Programme. As Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research at the University of York, Matthias is responsible for all aspects of the University's strategy and policy on research. Matthias champions the programme in its capacity to develop the next generation of researchers and leaders. In doing so, scholars are given the opportunity to engage in independent research at the highest quality and aligned to York's vision as a University for Public Good, where sustainability, equity, diversity and inclusion, internationalism and collaboration are principles that permeate our research, education, and engagement activities.