Collaborating outstanding impact and initiatives (NTFS) and (CATE) 

National Teaching Fellowship (NTFS) scheme

The NTFS scheme, run by the AdvanceHE, the successor to the Higher Education Academy, celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education.

The award has been running since 2000 and there are now more than 815 National Teaching Fellows, with up to 55 individuals receiving the award each year. On gaining the award, fellows play an ongoing role in enhancing teaching and learning within their institution, the HE sector and further afield.

Collaborative Awards for Teaching Excellence (CATE)

The CATE awards aim to celebrate collaborative learning and teaching initiatives that positively impact on the student experience in creative and innovative ways. Each award will recognise a team which has enabled a change in practice for colleagues or students at an institutional or discipline level.

Andrew Parsons awarded a National Teaching Fellowship by the Higher Education Academy

Congratulations to Professor Andrew Parsons, Department of Chemistry, who has been awarded National Teaching Fellow status by the Higher Education Academy. This prestigious award recognises excellence and outstanding achievement in learning and teaching in higher education. 

ProPEL Team awarded a Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence by the Higher Education Academy

Congratulations to the ProPEL (Programmes to Propel Effective Learning) team, which has received national recognition for its work to support the introduction of the York Pedagogy.  The team has won a Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) from Advance HE (formerly the Higher Education Academy).  This is the team equivalent of a National Teaching Fellowship and is one of only 15 awards made this year.  It is the first time that such an award has been won at York. The ProPEL team brought together colleagues from the ASO, Careers and Placements, and Information Services.  







  • PRoPEL Team




  • Annie Trapp
    Department of Psychology




  • John Issitt
    Department of Educational Studies

  • Robert Partridge
    Careers Service/Student Skills Development Unit