Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards 2012

Warmest congratulations to colleagues who have been awarded Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Awards this year.  The scheme recognises and rewards colleagues (academics, learning support staff, teaching 'teams' and postgraduates/postdocs who teach) who demonstrate excellence in teaching and/or learning support at York.

The panel, chaired by John Robinson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Learning and Teaching, was looking for three key qualities:

  • Evidence of sustained excellence across a range of teaching/support activities and over a reasonable period of time
  • A creative approach to teaching and/or learning support, focused on student learning needs
  • Evidence that nominees go above and beyond the standard remit of their teaching or learning support role, making an impact on colleagues as well as students.

13 awards were made from a field of 28 applications, and will be presented at this summer's graduation ceremonies.


Oliver Craig, Senior Lecturer, Archaeology: 'for his creative approach to module design; his successful promotion of archaeological science within the Department and beyond; and his extensive engagement with colleagues across the University.'

Calvin Dytham, Reader, Biology: 'in recognition of his long-standing and whole-hearted commitment to students and the teaching community within the Department and across the University as a whole; for his ability to balance leadership in teaching management and administration with sustained excellence in the classroom; and for his passionate commitment to fieldwork and the success of his book on the practical use of statistics.'

Richard Waites, Lecturer, Biology: 'for his innovative approaches to learning materials for both undergraduate and postgraduate students, and the positive influence of these approaches on the departmental culture of learning and teaching; and for his success in establishing a highly effective Student Staff Liaison Group.'

Ann Kaloski-Naylor, Lecturer, Women's Studies: 'for her creative and reflective approach to learning and teaching; her long-standing commitment to e-learning, adopted in a critical and considered way; and for the ways in which she has embedded international perspectives within the classroom.'

Nigel Lowe, Teaching Fellow, Chemistry: 'for his innovative approaches to transferable skills teaching across the Department; his use of e-learning in support of practicals; and his engagement with the UK chemical education community through publications and collaborative projects.'

Nick Guyatt, Lecturer, History: 'for his imagination and commitment in redesigning the Department's approach to delivering learning and teaching; his use of the VLE, inspiring excellent feedback from students; and for his considerable achievements as the Department's International Officer, expanding exchange schemes and language provision.'

Catriona Kemp, HYMS Librarian: 'for the important work she has undertaken in embedding information skills development within the medical curriculum and her innovative and thoughtful approach to Library services; and in recognition of her contribution to the School's outstanding NSS scores in relation to the Library, and the impact she has had both on colleagues within the School and through sector networks.'

Paul Foulkes, Professor, Language and Linguistic Science: 'in recognition of his sustained excellence in learning and teaching; the quality of his students' work, leading to publications and presentations, the way in which he has embedded authentic casework in his modules, and his innovative approach to assessment.'

Linda Perriton, Senior Lecturer, Management: 'for the energy and creativity she brings to a significant teaching load; her sensitivity to the diversity of students needs; the the work she has done in supporting PGR students and junior colleagues in their teaching.'

Martin Smalley, Teaching Fellow, Physics: 'for his imaginative, student-focused and reflective approach to teaching; and in recognition of the scale of his achievements in a relatively short space of time, including the impact he has had upon the culture of learning and teaching within his Department.'

Kyriaki Mikellidou, PGWT, Psychology: 'for her creative and multi-faceted approach to learning and teaching, and the quality she has sustained in this role across a variety of modules; and in particular for her contribution to the development and delivery of 'mini-projects'.'

Hannah Davies, PGWT, TFTV: 'for her communal approach to learning and teaching, the support she has given to other PGWTs; her sensitivity to student learning needs; and for her willingness to try out and reflect upon different approaches to teaching.'

Vanita Sundaram, Gillian Hampden-Thompson and Kate Harper, Volunteering and Enrichment programme, Education and Careers: 'for their creative approach to linking classroom learning with 'real world' experience, promoting a culture of volunteering and personal enrichment within the Department; for their promotion of student involvement in staff research projects; and for the way in which the project has been sustained and expanded to include other cohorts and a further department.'