Support

The central support available to DL providers is akin to that on face-to-face programmes. The table provides a breakdown of central support. 

Please note: whilst the University does not have a dedicated distance learning technologist, individuals interested in delivering a distance course facilitated by the VLE should consult with the e-learning development team.

Contact Expertise 

Academic Support Office

E-Learning Development Team

Wayne Britcliffe
wayne.britcliffe@york.ac.uk

The E-learning Development Team can offer generic support for distance learning providers, ranging from pedagogic guidance (use cases; design models) through to delivery strategies, but they are not specialists in this domain. Specialist queries (support load in tutoring learners; tutoring skills) are best addressed to the community of distance learning providers.

Academic Support Office

Learning Enhancement Team

Cecilia Lowe
cecilia.lowe@york.ac.uk

The Learning Enhancement Team can offer support regarding programme design (e.g. refining learning outcomes, suggesting innovative assessment formats, ways to enhance deeper/critical learning) to all prospective programme providers.

Academic Support Office

Quality Assurance Team

Juliet James
juliet.james@york.ac.uk

The Quality Assurance Team are able to guide prospective providers through the process, and minimise the bureaucracy in the approval process. You will also be able to get helpful advice on the quality assurance requirements which are specific to distance learning, and reassurance on areas of uncertainty in the approvals process. 

Language and Writing Skills Centre

Victoria Jack victoria.jack@york.ac.uk

The Language and Writing Skills Centre offers support on advancing language skills, planning academic assignments, transitioning into a different culture, and more.

Continued Professional Development

Amanda Selvaratnam
amanda.selvaratnam@york.ac.uk

The CPD Unit can offer general support for CPD, which includes marketing advice and support.

Digital Services Team

Julie Allinson
julie.allinson@york.ac.uk

The Digital Services Team are able to provide advice on how to use electronic learning resources and the availability of such resources via the Library.

IT Services

it-training@york.ac.uk  

IT Services offer a variety of online lT training resources to support students' use of IT and information skills in academic studies, and help students to develop the IT skills employers are looking for.

Library and Archives

David Brown  david.brown@york.ac.uk

If you have any queries concerning Library support for distance learners, please email or telephone +44(0)1904 433873. Full details of the Library's services for distance learners.

Planning Office

Planning Officer

The department’s Planning Officer will be able to offer advice to prospective DL providers about the Planning Committee approvals process, the financial contribution the department will need to make to raise funds for any such developments, and the preparation of business plans.

Student representation coordinators

The students' unions are exploring the ways in which departments can engage with students who are studying at a distance and are unable to benefit from the union activities offered to students on face-to-face programmes. The representative coordinators are well versed in the attributes of a 'distance learner' compared with that of a face-to-face 'standard' student.

Distance learning providers

The table below provides the contact details of staff who are involved in running long-standing DL programmes, please refer to the interests noted. The Distance Learning Forum is another useful source of support for prospective DL providers.

 Department contactProgrammeInterests

Centre for Lifelong Learning

Iain Barr
iain.barr@york.ac.uk

Creative Writing and Railway Studies (accredited) and a wide range of other subjects (non-accredited) Staff training, discussion boards, social support

Economics

Martin Forster 
martin.forster@york.ac.uk

Helen Weatherly

helen.weatherly@york.ac.uk

 

PG Dip/PG Cert in Health Economics for Health Care Professionals

MSc in Economic Evaluation for Health Technology Assessment

Use of bulletin boards, virtual seminar rooms, pigeon-holes for uploading work, automatically marked MCQs, access to web sites

Health Sciences

John Blase
john.blase@york.ac.uk

  Decision maze methodology, real time simulation assessment

Hull York Medical School

Gabrielle Finn
gabrielle.finn@hyms.ac.uk

PG Cert in Health Professions Education  

Mathematics 

Tomasz Zastawniak
tomasz.zastawniak@york.ac.uk

MSc in Mathematical Finance 1:1 Synchronous teaching

Social Policy and Social Work

Jane Lund
jane.lund@york.ac.uk

Ellen Roberts
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

Online study in:

Masters in Public Policy and Management (MPPM)

Masters of Public Administration (MPA)

Masters of Public Administration in International Development

Masters in Social and Public Policy

University integration of students, learning support, training for tutors, use of a-synchronous forums and community-building online