Accessibility statement

Support

The central support available to ODL providers is akin to that on face-to-face programmes. The table provides a breakdown of central support. 

Contact Expertise 

Academic Support Office

Programme Design and Learning Technology Team

vle-support@york.ac.uk

The PDLT Team can offer support for online and distance learning providers, ranging from pedagogic guidance (use cases; design models) and delivery strategies for online learning, as well as general programme design support (e.g. refining learning outcomes, suggesting innovative assessment formats, ways to enhance deeper/critical learning).

Academic Support Office

Quality Assurance Team

ASO Staff

The Quality Assurance Team are able to guide prospective providers through the process, and minimise the bureaucracy in the approval process. You will also be able to get helpful advice on the quality assurance requirements which are specific to distance learning, and reassurance on areas of uncertainty in the approvals process. 

Language and Writing Skills Centre

Victoria Jack victoria.jack@york.ac.uk

The Language and Writing Skills Centre offers support on advancing language skills, planning academic assignments, transitioning into a different culture, and more.

Continued Professional Development

Amanda Selvaratnam
amanda.selvaratnam@york.ac.uk

The CPD Unit can offer general support for CPD, which includes marketing advice and support.

Library and Archives

David Brown  david.brown@york.ac.uk

If you have any queries concerning Library support for distance learners, please email or telephone +44(0)1904 433873. Full details of the Library's services for distance learners.

Planning Office

Planning Officers

The department’s Planning Officer will be able to offer advice to prospective DL providers about the Planning Committee approvals process, the financial contribution the department will need to make to raise funds for any such developments, and the preparation of business plans.

Student representation coordinators

The students' unions are exploring the ways in which departments can engage with students who are studying at a distance and are unable to benefit from the union activities offered to students on face-to-face programmes. The representative coordinators are well versed in the attributes of a 'distance learner' compared with that of a face-to-face 'standard' student.

Distance learning providers

The table below provides the contact details of staff who are involved in running long-standing DL programmes. The is another useful source of support for prospective DL providers.

 Department contactProgrammeInterests

Centre for Lifelong Learning

Iain Barr
iain.barr@york.ac.uk

Accredited:

plus a wide range of other subjects (non-accredited).

  • Staff training
  • Discussion boards
  • Social support

 

Economics

Martin Forster 
martin.forster@york.ac.uk

Helen Weatherly

helen.weatherly@york.ac.uk

 

  • Use of bulletin boards
  • Virtual seminar rooms
  • Pigeon-holes for uploading work
  • Automatically marked MCQs
  • Access to web sites

Health Sciences

John Blase
john.blase@york.ac.uk

  • Decision maze methodology
  • Real time simulation assessment

Hull York Medical School

Gabrielle Finn
gabrielle.finn@hyms.ac.uk

 

Mathematics 

Tomasz Zastawniak
tomasz.zastawniak@york.ac.uk

  • 1:1 Synchronous teaching

Social Policy and Social Work

Jane Lund
jane.lund@york.ac.uk

Ellen Roberts
ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk

  • MA Public Policy and Management
  • Masters of Public Administration (MPA)
  • Masters of Public Administration - International Development (MPA)
  • MA Social and Public Policy
  • University integration of students
  • Learning support
  • Training for tutors
  • Use of asynchronous forums
  • Community-building online