Departmental academic committees

‌‌Board of Studies

It is a requirement of University Statutes that every department has a Board of Studies (BoS) to:

  • control the teaching, the curricula and the examination of subjects or groups of subjects
  • consider the attendance, progress and conduct of students
  • make recommendations for the award of degrees.

The BoS is the primary learning and teaching committee at departmental level. For some areas of business, such as the approval of minor modifications to programmes, it is able to operate and make decisions under delegated powers.  For other areas of business, such as the introduction of a new taught degree programme, the power of the Board is to agree a recommendation at departmental level for approval by a University-level body (in the case of a new taught programme the University Teaching Committee).

The University's Ordinances sets out the membership requirements within the constitution of Boards of Studies (Ordinance 1) and the frequency and quoracy of meetings (Ordinance 2). 

The term of office for Chairs of Boards of Studies is normally three years (beginning 1 August in the year in which they are elected).

A Board of Studies may have a range of sub-committees such as a Departmental Teaching Committee (DTC).  It is a requirement for all academic departments to have a DTC.

Departmental Teaching Committees

It is a requirement that all academic departments have a Departmental Teaching Committee (DTC).  The Policy Statement below includes a definition of 'academic department' and sets out the requirements as to how the DTC should be constituted (including membership, terms of reference and frequency of meetings).  

The Chair of the DTC is appointed by the Head of Department and the duration of office of the Chair is normally three years (with research/sabbatical leave being the only expected reason for exceptions).  

Guidance documentation/Related policies