Accessibility statement

Who to contact in RGO

Research Grants Operations (RGO) is responsible for the administration of all externally funded research grants, including funder compliance and financial reporting.  Colleagues in RGO provide a service to academic departments, with funder-specific expertise, they check grant applications including due diligence, formally accept new awards and set them up in the University systems, and provide post-award management, including audit.

RGO Service Definition (MS Word , 25kb)

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate Grant Co-ordinator. Details of the latest portfolios can be found in this document;

RGO Team portfolio summary (PDF , 64kb)

If you are unsure about who to contact, please email research-grants@york.ac.uk or call extension 4416.

ContactResponsibilities 

Emma Montgomery
emma.montgomery@york.ac.uk

  • Head of Research Grants Operations
  • University signatory for contracts and grants
  • Processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
Emma Montgomery

Pete Broadley
pete.broadley@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 8.30am to 2.15pm
  • PA to the Head of Research Grants Operations
  • Administrative support

Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 

David Hudson
david.hudson@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • Team Leader
David Hudson

Anya Millington
anya.millington@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Wednesday - Friday

Arts and Humanities Departments
  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society
 

Bob Brown
bob.brown@york.ac.uk

  • RCUK
 
David Lauder
david.lauder@york.ac.uk
  • EC and International
David Lauder

Lisa Lack
lisa.lack@york.ac.uk

  • Currently on maternity leave
 

Victoria Lister
victoria.lister@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Tuesday - Thursday


Social Sciences
  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society 
 

Life and Health Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 
Simon Johnson
simon.johnson@york.ac.uk
  • Team Leader
  • UK Health
    PRU - LSHTM
Simon Johnson photo
Anita Sharma
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk
  • UK Charities
    Biology, CNAP, Health Sciences, HYMS
 
Chris Walker
chris.walker@york.ac.uk
  • EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
    Health Sciences, HYMS, CRD, CHE, SPSW
  • RCUK, Royal Society and British Academy
    Health Sciences, HYMS, CRD, CHE, SPSW
Chris Walker

Dawn Machnik
dawn.machnik@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

  • RCUK, Royal Society and British Academy

    *Projects classified as ‘Simple’ only

Dawn Machnik

Ed Davies
edward.davies@york.ac.uk

  • EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
    Biology, CNAP, Psychology
  • RCUK, Royal Society and British Academy
    Biology
 
Jacob Stickland
jacob.stickland@york.ac.uk
  • UK Government
  • UK Industry
  • UK Charity
    Psychology, CHE, CRD, SPSW
Jacob Stickland

Joanne Milner
joanne.milner@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (PGfAR, Other), NETSCC (EME and PHR, TARS, Cochrane, Other), NIHR Academy, GHRF - GHE2 and ASTRA
 
Martin Barlow
martin.barlow@york.ac.uk
  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (RfPB), NETSCC (HS&DR), PRP, SSCR, GHRF - IMPACT Centre
     
 
Sasha Oakden
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
  • UK Health
    NETSCC (HTA and CTU), 
    GHRF - IMPACT and DIADEM, PRU - EEPRU and ESHCRU, ARC, Other Health Bodies and NHS
Sasha Oakden

Physical Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 

Gemma Moy
gemma.moy@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Tuesday, Thursday - Friday

  • Team Leader
 

Chris Barber
chris.barber@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday AM

  • Chemistry - EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
  • Physics - EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
 
Ed Brown
edward.brown@york.ac.uk
  • Computer Science - EC, Innovate, UK Govt, UK Industry, UK Health, UK Other
  • Electronics - EC, EU, Overseas Other, Innovate
  • Environment - All non-UK funders for SEIY
Ed Brown

Jo Saunders
jo.saunders@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 09:00 - 3:00

  • Electronics - UKRI, Wellcome, UK Charities, UK Other
  • Environment - UKRI, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme), UK Other
 

Rachel Adamson
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk

  • Chemistry - UKRI (Except YSBL’s BBSRC, STFC and EPSRC which sit with Catherine Jardine), Wellcome, UK Other
Rachel Adamson

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Tuesday - Thursday

  • Chemistry - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Electronics - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Environment - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Maths - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Other, UK Health
  • Physics - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Healt
Sarah Ventress Woolford

Tina Ingleby
tina.ingleby@york.ac.uk

  • All Physical Sciences departments - Leverhulme, Royal Society and British Academy

    *Projects classified as ‘Simple’ only
 

Vici Armitage
vici.armitage@york.ac.uk

  • Physics - UKRI, Innovate, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme), UK Other