Accessibility statement

Who to contact in RGO

The Research Grants Operations (RGO) team is part of the Research and Enterprise Directorate.

RGO Service Definition (MS Word , 25kb)

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate Grant Co-ordinator. Details of the latest portfolios can be found in this document;

RGO Team portfolio summary (PDF , 65kb)

If you are unsure about who to contact, please email research-grants@york.ac.uk

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Emma Montgomery
emma.montgomery@york.ac.uk

  • Head of Research Grants Operations
  • University signatory for contracts and grants
  • Processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
Emma Montgomery

Pete Broadley
pete.broadley@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 8.30am to 2.15pm
  • PA to the Head of Research Grants Operations
  • Administrative support
Pete Broadley

Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

David Hudson
david.hudson@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • Team Leader
David Hudson

Anya Millington
anya.millington@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Wednesday - Friday

Arts and Humanities Departments
  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society
 

Bob Brown
bob.brown@york.ac.uk

  • RCUK
 
David Lauder
david.lauder@york.ac.uk
  • EC and International
David Lauder

Kathryn Davies
kathryn.davies@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

Social Sciences Departments

  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society
 

Lisa Lack
lisa.lack@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday

  • UK Government, Health & Industry
  • British Academy
Lisa Lack 100 x140

Life & Health Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Alyson Cowen 
alyson.cowen@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

  • RCUK, Royal Society & British Academy
    CNAP, 
    Psychology
 
Anita Sharma
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk
  • UK Charities
    Biology, CNAP, Health Sciences, HYMS
Anita Sharma
Chris Walker
chris.walker@york.ac.uk
  • EC
  • Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • US Federal Grants (post award)
Chris Walker
Jacob Stickland
jacob.stickland@york.ac.uk
  • UK Government
  • UK Industry
  • UK Charity
    Psychology, CHE, CRD, SPSW
Jacob Stickland

Joanne Milner
joanne.milner@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (RIPB), NETSCC (EME and PHR, TARS, Cochrane, Other), PRP, NIHR Academy, GHRF - GHE2
 

Kate Ball
kate.ball@york.ac.uk

  • RCUK, Royal Society, British Academy
    Biology (except CNAP), Health Sciences, HYMS, CHE, CRD, SPSW
 
Sasha Oakden
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
  • UK Health
    NETSCC (HTA and CTU), 
    GHRF - IMPACT and DIADEM, PRU - EEPRU and ESHCRU, ARC
Sasha Oakden
Simon Johnson
simon.johnson@york.ac.uk
  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (PGIAR), NETSCC (HS and DR), NIHR SSCR, Other Health Bodies and NHS, GHRF - ASTRA, 
    PRU - LSHTM
Simon Johnson photo

Vacancy Grant Officer 

   

Physical Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
Gemma Moy
gemma.moy@york.ac.uk
  • Team Leader
  • EC and International/Other - Post Award
    Biology, CNAP, Health Sciences, HYMS, Psychology CHE, CRD, SPSW

    *for pre-award queries please contact Chris Walker

 

Catherine Jardine
catherine.jardine@york.ac.uk

  • UKRI - Biology
  • UK Other
 

Chris Barber
chris.barber@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday AM

  • EC - Chemistry, Environment, Maths, Physics
  • EU Other, Other Overseas
    Chemistry, Maths, Physics
 
Ed Brown
edward.brown@york.ac.uk
  • EC - Computer Science, Electronics
  • EU Other, Other Overseas - Computer Science, Electronics, Environment
  • UKRI (inc. Innovate) - Computer Science
  • UK Charity (for Leverhulme and Royal Society please contact Martin Barlow) - Computer Science
Ed Brown

Jo Saunders
jo.saunders@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 09:00 - 3:00

  • UKRI (inc. Innovate)
  • UK Charity (for Leverhulme and Royal Society please contact Martin Barlow)
    Electronics, Environment, Maths
 

Martin Barlow
martin.barlow@york.ac.uk

  • Leverhulme, Royal Society
    All PS Departments
Martin Barlow

Rachel Adamson
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk

  • UKRI (inc. Innovate)
  • UK Charity (for Leverhulme and Royal Society please contact Martin Barlow)
    Chemistry
Rachel Adamson

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Tuesday - Thursday

  • UK Government and Industry
    All Physical Science departments
Sarah Ventress Woolford

Vici Armitage
vici.armitage@york.ac.uk

  • UKRI (inc. Innovate)
  • UK Charity (for Leverhulme and Royal Society please contact Martin Barlow)
    Physics
 

RGO Admin Team

ContactResponsibilities Photo

Dawn Machnik
dawn.machnik@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

  • Administrative support
Dawn Machnik
Helen Widd
helen.widd@york.ac.uk
  • Administrative support
 

Katie Gilchrist
katie.gilchrist@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Wednesday - Friday

  • Administrative support
Katie Gilchrist photo

Paul Street
paul.street@york.ac.uk

  • Administrative support

Who to contact in the Internal Funding Team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Leigh Kristensen
Internal Funding Team Administrator
leigh.kristensen@york.ac.uk

  • Responsible for carrying out a range of administrative processes in order to facilitate the smooth running of activities relating to the work of the Internal Funding Team.
  • Responsible for ensuring all administrative tasks that are directly related to the funds are maintained effectively and efficiently and the tracking of activities and their outcomes is consistent, appropriate and meet the guidelines of the relevant funding body or scheme.
Leigh Kristensen 

Clare Usher
Internal Funding Team Administrators
clare.usher@york.ac.uk

  • Responsible for carrying out a range of administrative processes in order to facilitate the smooth running of activities relating to the work of the Internal Funding Team.
  • Responsible for ensuring all administrative tasks that are directly related to the funds are maintained effectively and efficiently and the tracking of activities and their outcomes is consistent, appropriate and meet the guidelines of the relevant funding body or scheme.
Clare Usher