Accessibility statement

Who to contact in Grants

The Research Grants Office is part of the Research Innovation and Knowledge Exchange Directorate (RIKE).

RGO Service Definition (MS Word , 25kb)

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate Grant Co-ordinator. Details of the latest portfolios can be found in this document;

RGO Team portfolio summary (PDF , 64kb)

If you are unsure about who to contact, please email research-grants@york.ac.uk or call extension 4416.

ContactResponsibilities 

Emma Montgomery
emma.montgomery@york.ac.uk

  • Head of Research Grants Operations
  • University signatory for contracts and grants
  • Processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
Emma Montgomery

Pete Broadley
pete.broadley@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 8.30am to 2.15pm
  • PA to the Head of Research Grants Operations
  • Administrative support

Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 

David Hudson
david.hudson@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • Team Leader
David Hudson

Anya Millington
anya.millington@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Wednesday - Friday

Arts and Humanities Departments
  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society
 

Bob Brown
bob.brown@york.ac.uk

  • RCUK
 
David Lauder
david.lauder@york.ac.uk
  • EC and International
David Lauder

Kate Ball
kate.ball@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday

  • UK Government, Health and Industry
  • British Academy
 

Lisa Lack
lisa.lack@york.ac.uk

  • Currently on maternity leave
 

Victoria Lister
victoria.lister@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Tuesday - Thursday


Social Sciences
  • UK Charities
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Royal Society 
 

Life and Health Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 
Simon Johnson
simon.johnson@york.ac.uk
  • Team Leader
  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (PGIAR), NETSCC (HS and DR), NIHR SSCR, Other Health Bodies and NHS, GHRF - ASTRA, 
    PRU - LSHTM
Simon Johnson photo

Alyson Cowen 
alyson.cowen@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

  • RCUK, Royal Society and British Academy
    CNAP, 
    Psychology
 
Anita Sharma
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk
  • UK Charities
    Biology, CNAP, Health Sciences, HYMS
 
Chris Walker
chris.walker@york.ac.uk
  • EC
  • Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • US Federal Grants (post award)
Chris Walker

Dawn Machnik
dawn.machnik@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Wednesday

  • Grant officer
Dawn Machnik

Ed Davies
edward.davies@york.ac.uk

  • Grant coordinator
 
Jacob Stickland
jacob.stickland@york.ac.uk
  • UK Government
  • UK Industry
  • UK Charity
    Psychology, CHE, CRD, SPSW
Jacob Stickland

Joanne Milner
joanne.milner@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Thursday

  • UK Health
    NIHR-CCF (RIPB), NETSCC (EME and PHR, TARS, Cochrane, Other), PRP, NIHR Academy, GHRF - GHE2
 
Martin Barlow
martin.barlow@york.ac.uk
   
Sasha Oakden
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
  • UK Health
    NETSCC (HTA and CTU), 
    GHRF - IMPACT and DIADEM, PRU - EEPRU and ESHCRU, ARC
Sasha Oakden

Physical Sciences Team

ContactResponsibilities 

Kathryn Davies
kathryn.davies@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Tuesday, Thursday - Friday

  • Team Leader
  • Covering Leverhulme, Royal Society and British Academy for all Physical Sciences departments while there is a vacancy in the team.
 

Gemma Moy
gemma.moy@york.ac.uk

Currently on maternity leave

 

Catherine Jardine
catherine.jardine@york.ac.uk

  • UKAEA for all PS departments
  • Chemistry - Innovate 
  • YSBL - BBSRC, STFC & EPSRC
  • Computer Science - EU Other, Other Overseas, UKRI, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme)
  • Environment - EC, EU Other, Other Overseas, Innovate (No SEIY projects)
  • Maths - EC, EU, Overseas, UKRI, Innovate, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme)
 

Chris Barber
chris.barber@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday AM

  • Chemistry - EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
  • Physics - EC, EU Other, Other Overseas
 
Ed Brown
edward.brown@york.ac.uk
  • Computer Science - EC, Innovate, UK Govt, UK Industry, UK Health, UK Other
  • Electronics - EC, EU, Overseas Other, Innovate
  • Environment - All non-UK funders for SEIY
Ed Brown

Jo Saunders
jo.saunders@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Monday - Friday 09:00 - 3:00

  • Electronics - UKRI, Wellcome, UK Charities, UK Other
  • Environment - UKRI, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme), UK Other
 

Rachel Adamson
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk

  • Chemistry - UKRI (Except YSBL’s BBSRC, STFC and EPSRC which sit with Catherine Jardine), Wellcome, UK Other
Rachel Adamson

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk

Work Pattern:
Tuesday - Thursday

  • Chemistry - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Electronics - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Environment - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Health
  • Maths - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Other, UK Health
  • Physics - UK Govt (includes British Council), UK Industry, UK Healt
Sarah Ventress Woolford

Vici Armitage
vici.armitage@york.ac.uk

  • Physics - UKRI, Innovate, Wellcome, UK Charities (excluding Royal Society, British Academy and Leverhulme), UK Other
 

Vacancy (Grants Officer)

  • All Physical Sciences departments - Leverhulme, Royal Society and British Academy
 

 Admin Team

ContactResponsibilities 
Paul Street
paul.street@york.ac.uk
  • Administrative support

Who to contact in the Internal Funding Team

ContactResponsibilities 

Leigh Kristensen
Internal Funding Team Administrator
leigh.kristensen@york.ac.uk

  • Responsible for carrying out a range of administrative processes in order to facilitate the smooth running of activities relating to the work of the Internal Funding Team.
  • Responsible for ensuring all administrative tasks that are directly related to the funds are maintained effectively and efficiently and the tracking of activities and their outcomes is consistent, appropriate and meet the guidelines of the relevant funding body or scheme.
Leigh Kristensen 

Clare Usher
Internal Funding Team Administrator
clare.usher@york.ac.uk

  • Responsible for carrying out a range of administrative processes in order to facilitate the smooth running of activities relating to the work of the Internal Funding Team.
  • Responsible for ensuring all administrative tasks that are directly related to the funds are maintained effectively and efficiently and the tracking of activities and their outcomes is consistent, appropriate and meet the guidelines of the relevant funding body or scheme.
Clare Usher