Whom to contact in Research Grants & Contracts

Research Grants and Contracts (RGC) is part of Research and Enterprise. It has 4 teams, 3 of which are based in Heslington Hall. The EU team is based in the Innovation Centre (York Science Park). 

Members of staff specialise in specific funders so for most queries you should contact the appropriate grant co-ordinator. If you are unsure about whom to contact, please telephone General Enquiries on 01904 324416 (extension 4416) or e-mail research-grants@york.ac.uk

 ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
Kirsty Dillingham
RGC Operations Manager
kirsty.dillingham@york.ac.uk 
x 4208
  • RGC operations and university research administration
  • processes, training and information on the University’s Research Grant portfolio
  • University signatory for contracts and grants
 
Pete Broadley
RGC PA/Administrator
pete.broadley@york.ac.uk
x 4416
  • PA to Operations Manager
  • administrative support
 ‌Pete Broadley

UK Research Councils team

 ContactResponsibilities                                       Photo

Melanie Macrae
Team leader
melanie.macrae@york.ac.uk 
x 4413

  • team leader
  • Je-S administration
  • AHRC
 

Dr Rachel Adamson
Grant Coordinator
rachel.adamson@york.ac.uk
x 2128

  • NERC
 ‌Rachel Adamson

Alyson Cowen
Grant Coordinator
alyson.cowen@york.ac.uk
x 4408

  • BBSRC
 

Chris Walker
Grant Coordinator
chris.walker@york.ac.uk 
x 4415

  • EPSRC 
  • STFC
 Chris Walker

Hayley Stocks
Grant Coordinator

x 4419

  • British Academy
  • ESRC
  • MRC (incl. NC3Rs)
 

Dawn Machnik
dawn.machnik@york.ac.uk

Administrator
2037

  • administrative support
Dawn Machnik 

Polly Brown
polly.brown@york.ac.uk
Administrator
x 2037

  • administrative support
 Polly Brown

UK Health, Government and Industry team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto

Anna Payne
Grant Team Leader
anna.payne@york.ac.uk 
x 4263

  • NETSCC Non-Standard Schemes (e.g. TARS, Cochrane Review Groups CTU Support Funding, etc)
  • NIHR-CCF (i4i, PSTRC, Senior Investigators)
  • Global Health Research Fund - GHE2 project
 Anna Payne

Anya Millington
(Wednesday-Friday)
Grant Officer
anya.millington@york.ac.uk
x 2121

  • UK Government & Industry for the Department of Computer Science 
 

Sasha Oakden
Grant Coordinator
sasha.oakden@york.ac.uk
x 2118

  • NETSCC (HTA only)
  • NIHR-CCF (RfPB, CLAHRC)
  • PRP-CCF (Policy Research Units only)
  • Global Health Research Fund - IMPACT project

Sarah Ventress-Woolford
(Monday-Wednesday)
Grant Coordinator
sarah.woolford@york.ac.uk
x 4318

  • UK Government & Industry for the Faculty of Sciences, except for Computer Science and Health Sciences
 Sarah Ventress Woolford

Simon Johnson
Grant Coordinator
simon.johnson@york.ac.uk
x 4319

  • NETSCC (HS&DR, PHR, EME, SR)
  • NIHR-CCF (PGfAR)
  • SSCR
  • PRP-CCF (all other PRP grants)
  • Global Health Research Fund - ASTRA project
Simon Johnson photo 

Rachel Wilkinson
Grant Coordinator
 
x 4263

 

  • NIHR Trainees Coordinating Centre (all schemes) 
  • Research Capability Funding
  • All other UK Health Funding (e.g. NHS Trusts, NHS England, Public Health England, NICE, NHSA, etc) 
  • UK Government & Industry for: 
  • Dept of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Social Sciences 
  • Faculty of Arts & Humanities 
 

Jen Mayne
Grant Coordinator

x 2122

  •  UK Government & Industry for the Department of Computer Science 
Jen Mayne

Helen Widd
Administrator
helen.widd@york.ac.uk
x 5203

  • Administrative support
 

Charities and International (non EC) funders team

ContactResponsibilitiesPhoto
David Hudson 
Grant Team Leader
david.hudson@york.ac.uk 
x 4404
  David Hudson
Shirley Foster 
(Tuesday-Friday)
Grant Coordinator
shirley.foster@york.ac.uk 
x 2111
  • Royal Society
  • Leverhulme Trust
  • The Wellcome Trust
  • British Heart Foundation
Anita Sharma
Grant Coordinator
anita.sharma@york.ac.uk 
x 2110
  • All other UK Charities not handled by Shirley
Anita Sharma

Lisa Lack
(on maternity leave)
Grant Coordinator
lisa.lack@york.ac.uk
x 2108

 

Lisa Lack
Estelle Brown
Grant Coordinator
estelle.brown@york.ac.uk
x 3126
  • all International funders (excluding EC/US Federal government)
Estelle Brown
Michelle Rowland
Administrator
michelle.rowland@york.ac.uk
x 2479
  • Administrative support
Michelle Rowland

 

EU Research and Development Team

Contact Departments / Activity areasPhoto
Phil Wiles
EU Grant Team Leader
phil.wiles@york.ac.uk
01904 435336
   Phil Wiles

Belen Rebollo

EU Research Projects Manager
belen.rebollo@york.ac.uk 
01904 567927

  • Archaeology
 ‌‌

Chris Barber

EU Research Projects Manager
chris.barber@york.ac.uk 
01904 567664

 

  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Psychology
 
David Lauder
EU Research Projects Manager
david.lauder@york.ac.uk
01904 567925
  • Centre for Health Economics
  • Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Health Sciences
  • Politics
  • Sociology
  • Social Policy and Social Work
  • York Law School
  • York Management School
David Lauder

Caroline Moore
(Monday-Thursday)
EU Research Projects Manager
caroline.m.moore@york.ac.uk 
01904 567922 

  • Environment
  • Electronics
  • Physics
 

Gemma Moy
EU Research Projects Manager
gemma.moy@york.ac.uk
01904 567926

  • Biology
  • Computer Science
  • English and Related Literature
  • History
  • History of Art
  • Language and Linguistics
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Theatre, Film and Television
 ‌