The Academic Accounting Team provides high-quality financial information and insight for decision support at various levels.

This includes:

  • financial planning and budgeting support for the annual budget, medium term financial plans (MTP) and quarterly financial forecasts
  • reporting of performance including the provision of financial reports, interpretation and advice
  • investment appraisal
  • business partner role for Academic Departments, Professional Services Directorates and Faculties.

Key contacts

Head of Academic Accounting
Mike Clark

+44 (0)1904 32 4050

Strategic Projects Accountant
Craig Hannath

+44 (0)1904 32 2023

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Faculty Finance Manager
Karen Jones

karen.jones@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 326 635

Accountant
Gareth Griffiths

gareth.griffiths@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324 401

Accountant
Russell Wood

russell.wood@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 326 636

Finance Assistant
Jelena Kusakina

jelena.kusakina@york.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1904 324 051

Faculty Finance Assistant
Conor Harrigan

conor.harrigan@york.ac.uk 

Faculty Finance Assistant
Bex Perkins

bex.perkins@york.ac.uk 

Faculty of Sciences

Faculty Finance Manager
Michelle Squires

michelle.squires@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328 765

Finance Manager - Facilities and Costing
Neil Everett

neil.everett@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322 367

Management Accountant
Louise Cunningham

Support to the Departments of
Computer Science and Physics

louise.cunningham@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322 277
+44 (0)1904 325 669

Management Accountant
Teresa Birch

Support to the Departments of
Chemistry and Psychology

teresa.birch@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322 678

Management Accountant
Jamie Warner

Support to the Departments of
Biology and Health Sciences 

jamie.warner@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328 536

Management Accountant
Mark Dye

Support to Hull York Medical School

mark.dye@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 321 799

Accountant
Marieke Nauta

Support to the Department of
Environment and Geography

marieke.nauta@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 328 512

Accountant
Helen Jones

Support to the Department of Maths
and Hull York Medical School

helen.e.jones@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 321 786

Accountant
Matthew Dearlove

Support to the Department
of Electronic Engineering

matthew.dearlove@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324 421

Finance Assistant
Marcy Melis

Support to the Department of
Environment and Geography

 marcy.melis@york.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1904 323 028

Finance Assistant
Akiko Tabata

Support to the Department
of Electronic Engineering

 akiko.tabata@york.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1904 324 421

Finance Assistant
Zoe Nicholson

Support to the Department of Physics

zoe.nicholson@york.ac.uk

Finance Assistant
Joanna Richards (from April 2020)

Support to Hull York Medical School

 

Finance Assistant
Kathryn Wood (from May 2020)

Support to the Department of Biology

 

Faculty of Social Sciences

Faculty Finance Manager
Fiona Dale

fiona.dale@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 324 340

Finance Business Partner
Lisa Burton

Support to the Centre for Economics and
Related Studies, the York Management
School and Social Policy & Social Work

lisa.burton@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 326 467

Management Accountant
Nicky Braithwaite (maternity leave until June 2021)

nicky.braithwaite@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 322 107 

Accountant
Helen Whalley

Support to the Departments of Law,
Politics and Sociology

helen.whalley@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 323 386

Accountant
Emma Hague

Support to the Centre for Health 
Economics, Centre for Reviews &
Disseminations,Education & Faculty (inc.ReCSS)

emma.hague@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 325 294

Finance Officer
Matthew Dore

Support to the Department of
Social Policy and Social Work

matthew.dore@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 321 970

Finance Assistant
Rob Ormerod

Support to the Department of Politics

rob.ormerod@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 323 551

Finance Assistant
Ben Myatt

Support to the Department of Sociology

ben.myatt@york.ac.uk

+44 (0)1904 323 041