Honorary staff

Professor John Ditch

StaffInterests
John Brown

John Brown

Honorary Fellow

john.brown@york.ac.uk 

  • Social enterprise
  • Disability services
  • Health and social care policy 
Bob Coles

Bob Coles

Honorary Fellow

bob.coles@york.ac.uk 

  • Youth and social policy
  • Structural change, social policy and biography
  • Post-16 education and training
Dr Marilyn Crawshaw

Dr Marilyn Crawshaw

Honorary Fellow

marilyn.crawshaw@york.ac.uk 

  • Impact of donor assisted conception and surrogacy
  • Women and children in Uganda and Pakistan 
  • Young adult cancer experience
Professor Bob Deacon

Professor Bob Deacon

Founding Centre Associate Director

Professor John Ditch

Professor John Ditch

Honorary Professor

jsd1@york.ac.uk

  • Comparative social security
  • Family policy
  • History of social policy
Professor John Hobcraft

Professor John Hobcraft

Emeritus Professor

john.hobcraft@york.ac.uk

  • Biomarkers and behaviour
  • Sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Gender and generations
Dr Carol-Ann Hooper

Dr Carol-Ann Hooper

Honorary Fellow

carol-ann.hooper@york.ac.uk

  • Child abuse and child protection
  • Gender and crime
  • Violence against women
Dr Meg Huby

Dr Meg Huby

Honorary Fellow

meg.huby@york.ac.uk  

  • Interactions between social policy and environmental policy
Professor Kathleen Keirnan Professor Kathleen Kiernan

Emeritus Professor 

kathleen.kiernan@york.ac.uk  
  • Family environments and child well-being in the early years
  • Family change in developed societies
  • Life course analysis 
Dr Stuart Lowe

Dr Stuart Lowe

Honorary Fellow

stuart.lowe@york.ac.uk

  • Housing policy
  • Comparative welfare states
  • Policy analysis
Professor Mary Maynard

Professor Mary Maynard

Honorary Fellow

mary.maynard@york.ac.uk

  • Feminist theory and methodology
  • Gender, race, age and ethnicity
  • Women's studies
Professor Ian Shaw

Professor Ian Shaw

Emeritus Professor

ian.shaw@york.ac.uk

  • Practice-research relationship
  • Qualitative methods
  • History of social work and sociology
Mike Stein

Professor Mike Stein

Emeritus Professor

mike.stein@york.ac.uk

  • Young people leaving care including empirical, comparative and historical research
  • Neglected and maltreated teenagers
  • The Rights of young people living in and leaving care