Emeritus and Honorary staff

                         Name                                                  Email             TelephoneInterests 
Professor Nina Biehal

Nina Biehal

Emeritus Professor 

nina.biehal@york.ac.uk  

Family support

Adoption; foster care

Family reunification

Professor Jonathan Bradshaw

Jonathan Bradshaw

Emeritus Professor

jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk  

Poverty and social exclusion

Comparative research

Child well-being

Dr Sally Brooks

Sally Brooks 

Honorary Fellow

sally.brooks@york.ac.uk  

Development studies

Technology and agrarian change

Environment and development 

Dr Marilyn Crawshaw

Marilyn Crawshaw 

Honorary Fellow

marilyn.crawshaw@york.ac.uk +44 (0)1904 70 2060

Impact of donor assisted conception and surrogacy

Women and children in Uganda and Pakistan

Young adult cancer experience 

Professor John Ditch

John Ditch 

Honorary Professor

john.ditch@york.ac.uk  

History of social policy

Comparative social security

Governance of public institutions 

Professor Peter Dwyer

Peter Dwyer

Emeritus Professor

peter.dwyer@york.ac.uk  

Social citizenship

Welfare conditionality

Qualitative methods

Professor Caroline Glendinning

Caroline Glendinning

Emeritus Professor

caroline.glendinning@york.ac.uk +44 (0)1904 32 1950

Social services, paying for care

Older people

Disabled people 

Dr Michael Hirst

Michael Hirst 

Honorary Fellow

michael.hirst@york.ac.uk  

Unpaid caregiving

Social security, employment and disability

Bereavement 

Professor John Hobcraft

John Hobcraft 

Emeritus Professor

john.hobcraft@york.ac.uk  

Biomarkers and behaviour

Sexual and reproductive health and rights

Gender and generations 

Professor Kathleen Kiernan

Kathleen Kiernan 

Emeritus Professor

kathleen.kiernan@york.ac.uk  

Families and inequalities

Family environments and child well-being in the early years

Family change in developed countries

Juliet Koprowska

Juliet Koprowska 

Honorary Fellow

juliet.koprowska@york.ac.uk   

Communication in social work

Applied conversation analysis

Systems theory and group work practice 

Professor Stefan Kuhner

Stefan Kuehner 

Honorary Fellow

stefan.kuehner@york.ac.uk   

Comparative and global social policy analysis

Social investment and productive welfare policy

Child well-being and benefit stigma 

Dr Stuart Lowe

Stuart Lowe 

Honorary Fellow

stuart.lowe@york.ac.uk  

Housing policy

Comparative welfare states

Policy analysis 

Professor Gillian Parker 

Gillian Parker

Emeritus Professor

gillian.parker@york.ac.uk  

Boundaries in the health and social care system

Models of health care 'closer to home'

Research and policy-making 

Professor Ellen Roberts

Ellen Roberts

Emeritus Professor

ellen.roberts@york.ac.uk  

Public and project management

The management of change

Organisational learning

Professor Roy Sainsbury 

Roy Sainsbury 

Emeritus Professor

 
roy.sainsbury@york.ac.uk  

Welfare reform and Universal Credit

Employment and disability

Comparative social policy 

Professor Ian Shaw 

Ian Shaw 

Emeritus Professor

ian.shaw@york.ac.uk

 

Practice-research relationship

Qualitative methods

History of social work and sociology 

Professor Ian Sinclair

Ian Sinclair 

Emeritus Professor

ian.sinclair@york.ac.uk  

Foster Care

Treatment foster care

Residential care for children

Professor Mike Stein

Mike Stein 

Emeritus Professor

mike.stein@york.ac.uk  

Young people leaving care, including empirical, comparative and historical research

Neglected and maltreated teenagers

The history and rights of young people living in and leaving care

Professor Becky Tunstall

Becky Tunstall

Honorary Fellow

becky.tunstall@york.ac.uk  

Social housing

Neighbourhoods

Inequality

Contact us

Department of Social Policy and Social Work
spsw@york.ac.uk
+44 (0)1904 321231
University of York, Church Lane Building, York Science Park Heslington, York, YO10 5ZF
spsw