Accessibility statement

Emeritus and Honorary staff

Professor John Ditch

StaffInterests
 

Professor Nina Biehal

Emeritus Professor

nina.biehal@york.ac.uk

  • Family support
  • Adoption; foster care
  • Family reunification
Professor Jonathan Bradshaw 

Professor Jonathan Bradshaw

Emeritus Professor

jonathan.bradshaw@york.ac.uk

  • Poverty and social exclusion
  • Comparative research
  • Child well-being
Dr Sally Brooks

Dr Sally Brooks

Honorary Fellow

sally.brooks@york.ac.uk

  • Development studies
  • Technology and agrarian change
  • Environment and development
‌‌Marilyn Crawshaw

Dr Marilyn Crawshaw

Honorary Fellow

marilyn.crawshaw@york.ac.uk 

  • Impact of donor assisted conception and surrogacy
  • Women and children in Uganda and Pakistan 
  • Young adult cancer experience
Professor John Ditch

Professor John S. Ditch

Honorary Professor

john.ditch@york.ac.uk

  • History of Social Policy
  • Comparative social security
  • Governance of public institutions
Professor Caroline Glendinning

Professor Caroline Glendinning

Emeritus Professor

caroline.glendinning@york.ac.uk

  • Social services, paying for care
  • Older people
  • Disabled people
Dr Michael Hirst

Dr Michael Hirst

Honorary Fellow

michael.hirst@york.ac.uk

  • Unpaid caregiving
  • Social security, employment and disability
  • Bereavement
Professor John Hobcraft

Professor John Hobcraft

Emeritus Professor

john.hobcraft@york.ac.uk

  • Biomarkers and behaviour
  • Sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Gender and generations
Professor Kathleen Keirnan Professor Kathleen Kiernan

Emeritus Professor 

kathleen.kiernan@york.ac.uk  
  • Families and inequalities
  • Family environments and child well-being in the early years
  • Family change in developed countries
Juliet Koprowska

Juliet Koprowska

Honorary Fellow

juliet.koprowska@york.ac.uk

  • Communication in social work
  • Applied conversation analysis
  • Systems theory and group work practice
Professor Stefan Kuhner 

Professor Stefan Kühner

Honorary Fellow

stefan.kuehner@york.ac.uk

  • Comparative and global social policy analysis
  • Social investment and productive welfare policy
  • Child well-being and benefit stigma
Dr Stuart Lowe 

Dr Stuart Lowe

Honorary Fellow

stuart.lowe@york.ac.uk

  • Housing policy
  • Comparative welfare states
  • Policy analysis
Professor Gillian Parker 

Professor Gillian Parker

Emeritus Professor

gillian.parker@york.ac.uk

  • Boundaries in the health and social care system
  • Models of health care 'closer to home'
  • Research and policy-making
Professor Roy Sainsbury

Professor Roy Sainsbury

Emeritus Professor

roy.sainsbury@york.ac.uk

  • Welfare reform and Universal Credit
  • Employment and disability
  • Comparative social policy
Professor Ian Shaw

Professor Ian Shaw

Emeritus Professor

ian.shaw@york.ac.uk

  • Practice-research relationship
  • Qualitative methods
  • History of social work and sociology
Professor Ian Sinclair 

Professor Ian Sinclair

Emeritus Professor

ian.sinclair@york.ac.uk

  • Foster care
  • Treatment foster care
  • Residential care for children
Mike Stein

Professor Mike Stein

Emeritus Professor

mike.stein@york.ac.uk

  • Young people leaving care including empirical, comparative and historical research
  • Neglected and maltreated teenagers
  • The history and rights of young people living in and leaving care
Professor Becky Tunstall

Professor Rebecca Tunstall

Honorary Fellow

becky.tunstall@york.ac.uk

  • Social housing
  • Neighbourhoods
  • Inequality