Tatiana T.

Resource Development and Communications Assistant
Happy to mentor
Happy to be contacted

About me

Tatiana T.
Human Rights (Applied)
Applied Human Rights
Taught Postgraduate

My employment

Resource Development and Communications Assistant
Habitat for Humanity International
Charity and voluntary sector
Large business (250+ employees)

More about Tatiana


Like this profile?

Add this profile to your favourites so you can return to it later from your account.

A day in the life of a Resource Development and Communications Assistant in Slovakia

I would say the 3rd or non-profit sector on its own is a great challenge, because it requires so much dedication, and currently the job opportunities to work in this specific field are very limited, especially in Slovakia.

Briefly describe the organisation you work for

Habitat for Humanity is a global nonprofit housing organization working in local communities across all 50 states in the U.S. and in approximately 70 countries. Habitat’s vision is of a world where everyone has a decent place to live.

Habitat works toward our vision by building strength, stability and self-reliance in partnership with families in need of decent and affordable housing. Habitat homeowners help build their own homes alongside volunteers and pay an affordable mortgage.

What do you do?

As of March 2021, I work in the Resource Development team at the Area Office of Habitat for Humanity International, based in Bratislava. At the moment we are a team of eight, (formerly a team of eleven), and my roles include organizing meetings, workshops (both virtual and in-person), various coordination and logistics tasks, providing supporting documents, reports and presentations as well as donor desk research.
I also occasionally work on as a content writing content for the Sustainability Platform - a Slovak initiative based in Bratislava, existing to raise awareness of responsible consumption and communicate ideas of sustainable fashion. This is where I write articles on the issues of sustainability, and organise workshops, quizzes and lectures. I closely look at the rights of women in the garment industry.

Reflecting upon your past employment and education, what led you to your current career choice?

To describe my choice of career very briefly, during my 3rd year of university while studying International Law, I was very inclined into studying Human Rights more closely, and the rights of women especially. Therefore since then I have pictured myself in the NGO sector, working on different projects with people of different backgrounds, for the greater good, working towards a given goal, surrounded by colleagues that deeply share the same values as me. This was shortly how my current career choice came into being.

Is your current job sector different from what you thought you would enter when you graduated?

I can happily say that this is the job sector in which I have pictured myself in while studying at York. I feel that since Habitat for Humanity operates in so many countries, and is spread into so many various departments, the opportunities are endless, even for when I would consider changing a career direction - Habitat would still be able to provide me with this option. The more I am with Habitat, the more I learn about the background of the organization, its projects, its people and its deeply empowering accomplishments.

Describe your most memorable day at work

So far the most memorable day for me was recently, when I was given an online test, and had to complete it in just 45 minutes. I think that is where I fully realised what working under pressure really means and how stressful it can be, if I allow it to.

Are there any challenges associated with your job?

I would say the 3rd or non-profit sector on its own is a great challenge, because it requires so much dedication, and currently the job opportunities to work in this specific field are very limited, especially in Slovakia.

What’s your work environment and culture like?

Transparent, international, friendly, open-minded and I currently work from home. Hopefully starting from June that will change.
I suppose it is rather difficult to describe the working culture when we are still home-officed due to the COVID-19 situation.

What extracurricular activities did you undertake at university and what transferable skills did you develop through these?

I chose to use the opportunity of being able to join a society as something to get my mind off studying and assignments to be honest. I joined the vegetarian society for some amazing food and company, as a fellow meat-free person myself, and I also joined York Glee Singers because I love singing, and if it was not for Human Rights, I would have definitely majored in music.
In my previous 3 years at the University of Hull however, other than working as a interpretor for 2 years and as a student ambassador for about a year, I also have previous experience with volunteering in more than one country, so feel free to ask me about that.
Overall, I strongly feel that joining any kind of society is a great benefit for enhancing your social skills, communication skills, and sometimes even team player skills, in my case especially when it comes to singing in an accapella group.

What would you like to do next with your career?

I have just passed round 3 of interviews with Habitat for Humanity, and I am hoping to be chosen for the role of a DEAR Project Assistant.

What top tips do you have for York students preparing for today’s job market and life after graduation?

- Start looking for a job as soon as you can, and get involved with either companies, or organisations.
- Do lots of volunteering and activities outside of your university
- Create a LinkedIn profile!

What topics from students are you happy to answer questions on?

Women Rights, Migration Policies, LGBTQ, Minority rights, Refugee Law, International Law, Sustainability, Vegetarianism, What it is like trying to work in the NGO sector, How to prepare for an interview and even more on the personal side, How to sustain a long-distance relationship across two countries.

Is there anything else you’d like to tell us?

Just to briefly sum up my profile:

I am a recent Masters graduate of Applied Human rights at the University of York, looking for new opportunities and projects within the 3rd sector. I am passionate about human rights education, the rights of women (especially women in the garment industry), the rights of minorities, human trafficking prevention, refugee law, migration policies and sustainable development.

Currently I am also undertaking an online course from Stanford University in International Women's Health and Human Rights.

Next steps...

If you like the look of Tatiana’s profile, the next steps are down to you! You can send Tatiana a message to find out more about their career journey. If you feel you would benefit from more in-depth conversations, ask Tatiana to be your mentor.

Related profiles

Georgia B.
Philanthropy Lead
Amnesty International UK
Kashif Z.
District Police Officer
Pakistan police
Human Rights (Applied)
Christopher P.
Senior Associate, Structured Export Finance
SMBC Group
Linley M.
Channel Manager UK & Ireland
Hanwha Techwin Europe