Research clusters

The department is organised into five research clusters, each of which is led by a convenor. Every research cluster supports seminars and conferences, and all hold regular workshops at which talks are given both by visiting speakers and by local academics including research students and post-doctoral fellows.

Every member of staff belongs to at least one of these clusters which serve as a focus for both individual and collaborative research. Additionally, all research students and post-doctoral fellows are associated with a relevant cluster. The clusters are in no way restrictive and research collaboration flourishes between as well as within groups.