Condensed Matter Physics group members

Use the tabs below to find an academic member of the group, post-doc or postgraduate student's profile.

Academic staff

Academic staff

B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Click on the name of a member of staff to visit their personal page.‌‌

BBack to top )
Mohamed Babiker

Prof Mohamed Babikar
Professor

m.babiker@york.ac.uk 

Optical and electron vortices applied to molecular motors
Low dimensional semiconductors, quantum and atom optics theory

Ed Boyes

Prof Ed Boyes
Professor of Physics and Electronics,
Co-Director of the York JEOL Nanocentre
Departments of Physics and Electronics
ed.boyes@york.ac.uk 

In-situ electron microscopy of catalysts,
development of new EM methods and instrumentation

CBack to top )
Photo of Stuart Cavill Dr Stuart Cavill
Lecturer
stuart.cavill@york.ac.uk
Professor R Chantrell

Prof Roy Chantrell
Professor

roy.chantrell@york.ac.uk

Magnetic materials

DBack to top )
Irene D'Amico

Dr Irene D'Amico
Reader

irene.damico@york.ac.uk 

Spin-transport and spintronics,
quantum information / computation, Quantum Biology

F Back to top )
Aires Ferreira

Dr Aires Ferreira
Royal Society University Research Fellow 
aires.ferreira@york.ac.uk 

Theory of charge/spin transport in 2D materials

GBack to top )
Pratibha Gai

Prof Pratibha Gai
Professor of Chemistry and Physics,
Founding JEOL Professor of Electron Microscopy and Co-Director of the York JEOL Nanocentre
Departments of Chemistry and Physics
pratibha.gai@york.ac.uk 

Nanomaterials, surface science, catalysis, electron microscopy
In-situ electron microscopy of catalysts,
development of new EM methods and instrumentation

Rex Godby

Prof Rex Godby
Professor
rex.godby@york.ac.uk 

Quantum dynamics of interacting electrons in matter

Robert Greenall

Dr Robert Greenall
Senior Lecturer

robert.greenall@york.ac.uk 

Computer simulation of biomolecules.
molecular dynamics simulation of DNA and its interactions with polycations,
quantum mechanical simulation of DNA

HBack to top )
Yvette Hancock

Dr Yvette Hancock
Lecturer

y.hancock1@york.ac.uk 

Raman spectroscopy of bioloical material
Model hamiltonians, density functional theory, nanotechnology, magnetism

KBack to top )
Thomas Krauss

Prof Thomas Krauss
Professor of Photonics

thomas.krauss@york.ac.uk 

Silicon nanophotonics for light control and emission, biosensing, solar cells
Photonic Crystals, Semiconductor Nanofabrication, Biophotonics, Photovoltaics

Roland Kroeger

Dr Roland Kröger
Reader

roland.kroger@york.ac.uk 

Electron Microscopy based characterisation, biomineralisation

LBack to top )
Vlado Lazarov

Dr Vlado Lazarov
Lecturer

vlado.lazarov@york.ac.uk 

Functional nano-materials and 3D structure of protein complexes

Mark Leake

Prof Mark Leake
Anniversary Chair of Biological Physics, Director of the BPSI
Departments of Physics and Biology
mark.leake@york.ac.uk 

Single-molecule biophysics tools development,
super-resolution imaging,
live cell process at the single-molecule level

MBack to top )
Peter Main

Prof Peter Main
Professor
pm1@york.ac.uk 

X-ray crystallography, biophysics

Jim Matthew

Prof Jim Matthew
Professor
jadm1@york.ac.uk

Electron loss spectroscopy, magnetic materials

Keith McKenna

Dr Keith McKenna
Lecturer
keith.mckenna@york.ac.uk

Electron and ion dynamics, nanoparticles, electronic transport

OBack to top )
Kevin O'Grady

Prof Kevin O'Grady
Professor
kevin.ogrady@york.ac.uk 

Magnetisation reversal in thin films and particles

PBack to top )
Photo of Andrew Pratt

Dr Andrew Pratt
Lecturer
andrew.pratt@york.ac.uk 

Surface properties of nanomaterials
Electron spectroscopy
Organic spintronics
High-performance nanoparticles

Matt Probert

Dr Matthew Probert
Reader

matt.probert@york.ac.uk 

Computational modelling of materials
Density-functional theory, structure and dynamics of solids and liquids

SBack to top )
Photo of Tim Spiller

Professor Tim Spiller
Professor
timothy.spiller@york.ac.uk

Quantum information, applications and technologies

TBack to top )
Steve Tear

Dr Steve Tear
Reader

steve.tear@york.ac.uk 

Low-energy electron diffraction, scanning tunnelling microscopy

Professor Sarah Thompson

Prof Sarah Thompson
Professor
sarah.thompson@york.ac.uk

Spintronics: transport, materials and infra red magnetic microscopy

VBack to top )
Gonzalo Vallejo Fernandez Dr Gonzalo Vallejo Fernandez
Lecturer

gonzalo.vallejofernandez@york.ac.uk
WBack to top )
Laurence Wilson

Dr Laurence Wilson
Lecturer
laurence.wilson@york.ac.uk

Biophysics, high-speed microscopy, holographic microscopy and light scattering 

Dr I Wilson-Rae

Dr Ignacio Wilson-Rae
Lecturer
ignacio.wilson-rae@york.ac.uk

Optomechanical biosensing

Michael Woolfson

Michael Woolfson
Professor
mmw1@york.ac.uk

Planets and stars, X-ray crystallography, biophysics

Jing Wu

Jing Wu
Lecturer
jing.wu@york.ac.uk

Ultrafast spin dynamics in magnetic materials and devices

YBack to top )
Jun Yuan

Prof Jun Yuan
Professor
jun.yuan@york.ac.uk

Element resolved electron microscopy and spectroscopy;
Vortex beam physics and applications in nanoparticle imaging;
spectroscopy and manipulation Nanomaterials and applications

Postdoctoral researchers

Page under construction.

Postgraduate students

Page under construction.