Professor Brian Fulton awarded Institute of Physics Phillips Prize 2016

Posted on 3 November 2016

Congratulations to Professor Brian Fulton who has been awarded the Institute of Physics Phillips prize 2016 for his substantial contribution to the work of the Institute of Physics and the UK nuclear physics community over many years. The award will be presented on Tuesday 29 November.

Brian Fulton

As well as serving on the IOP Council, Brian played a leading role in the co-ordination of the UK nuclear physics community, serving on the Divisional Affairs Committee as Chair of the Nuclear and Particle Physics Division and on the Nuclear Physics Group.  He was instrumental in the UK Heads of (Nuclear) Groups forum, co-ordinating the activities of the leaders of the nuclear physics community, and frequently assumed a leading role in the community, which became crucial in the 1990s and early 2000s following the loss of the UK's own nuclear physics facility.  Brian was appointed to the STFC Particle Physics and Nuclear Physics (PPAN) Committee in 2007.  More recently, as Head of Department at the University of York, Brian stewarded the Department to Project Juno Champion status and subsequently chaired the Institute's Juno Assessment Panel.

Notes to editors:

The IOP press team can be contacted at