Accessibility statement

Physics Awards Day 2019

Posted on 2 May 2019

The achievements of the department throughout the year were celebrated at the department's awards ceremony.

The Awards ceremony was held on Wednesday 1st May at the Spring Lane Lecture Theatre. 

The Physics Awards Day is our opportunity to celebrate the people who make up our physics community at the University of York. With awards celebrating teaching, support staff, student excellence and even good humour, this was a day that reflected the diverse nature of our Department. 

A great addition to the day this year was hearing four '3 minute thesis' talks from Koki Imada, Ruth Newton, Marcus Cameron and Alex Drayton. As well as an inspiring keynote speech from Prof Tom McLeish.

The awards were split into five categories: 'Makes a Difference', 'Student Awards', 'Physics at Play', 'Departmental Awards' and 'Outreach' as well as our Academic Awards and physics got talent competition. The winners of the awards were:

Makes a Difference awards

Undergraduate Makes a Difference - Elliot Chan

Postgraduate Makes a Difference - Nettie Alevropoulos-Borrill

Professional Support Staff Makes a Difference - Liz Davies

Academic Staff Makes a Difference - Phil Lightfoot

Research Staff Makes a Difference - Koki Imada

Student Awards

Most Enthusiastic Stage 1 Student - Simon Blackshaw

Most Cheerful Stage 2 Student - Owen Bailey

Most Proactive Stage 3 Student - Elliot Chan 

Most Proactive Stage 4 Student - Jelle Vinkenoog

Postgrad Student Most Likely to win the nobel prize - George Watson

Best Contribution to the Social Life of the Department - Elliot Chan

Take One for the Team Award - Emma Brock

Physics at Play Awards

Most Cheerful Person You’ll Meet in the Corridor - Warren Langthorne

Lecturer 'Most Down with the Kids' - Andy Higginbotham

York's Answer to Brian Cox - Martin Smalley

Best Dancer - Stage 1 Mapping the Universe class

Departmental Awards 

Most Inspirational Lecturer - Martin Smalley

Student Representative of the Year - Jelle Vinkenoog

Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year - Phillip Bentley

Postdoc of the Year - Jamie Brown

Support Staff Member of the Year - Jacqueline Wilson

Academic prizes

Book Prize - Michael Senior

Gai Prize - Thomas Bland

Outreach awards

Undergraduate Outreach Award - James Carr

Postgraduate Outreach Award - Nettie Alevropoulos-Borrill