Accessibility statement

Success for York Physics students in Three Minute Thesis Competition

Posted on 18 June 2018

The Research Excellence Training Team (RETT) work on behalf of the York Graduate Research School to organise this annual event as a showcase of PhD talent.

The winners and hosts of the 3MT competition

3MT is a competition developed by the University of Queensland, Australia. Its success has led to the establishment of local and national competitions in several countries. Ten University of York research students had just three minutes to communicate their research and its impact to an audience and judging panel. Communicating to different audiences is important for researchers as it helps to demonstrate the contribution that research makes to wider society and the economy.

The evening hosted by Greg Dyke as part of the Festival of Ideas on 12 June 2018 yielded exciting results for Physics:

  • Giampaolo Pitruzzello - supervised by Prof Thomas Krauss (Physics) came 2nd.
  • Steve Thorpe - supervised by Prof Gavin Thomas (Biology), Dr Steve Johnson (Electronics) and Prof Thomas Krauss (Physics) came 3rd.
  • Nicola Farthing - supervised by Dr Laurence Wilson (Physics) won the 'People's Choice' award, which was voted for by the audience.

Read the summary of the talks in the 3MT Finalists Booklet and see the full list of winners on the University of York website.

Photo: Professor Tom Stoneham, Nicola Farthing, Giampaolo Pitruzzello, Jamie Khoo, Stephen Thorpe, Greg Dyke