Accessibility statement

Celebration held for 2018 graduates

Posted on 30 July 2018

A reception was hosted by the Department of Physics on Thursday 26th July 2018.

Physics at York graduation cohort 2018

The celebration followed the official graduation ceremony and was attended by graduates, their family and friends as well as staff. Dr Phil Lightfoot (Deputy Head of Department - Teaching) congratulated the graduates on behalf of the Department of Physics and wished them well for the future.

We were also delighted to be joined by Dame Athene Donald who presented a number of awards, these are listed below:‌‌ 

  • BSc Founders’ Prize – Raul Stein
  • MPhys Oliver Heavens Prize – Daniel Cheshire
  • BSc Goodwin Project prize – Cheryl Lau
  • MPhys Goodwin Project prize – Daniel Cheshire
  • Leyah Karodia Prize – Zhengyuan Shan
  • KM Stott Prize – Sandra Schröter
  • Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Award - Thom Shutt 

Photos from the day can be found on our Facebook page