Accessibility statement

Graduation Celebrations!

Posted on 19 July 2017

A reception was hosted by the Department of Physics on Thursday 13th July 2017.

Jim Al-Khalili presenting award to Matthew Shelley

The celebration followed the official graduation ceremony and was attended by graduates, their family and friends as well as staff. Professor Sarah Thompson congratulated the graduates on behalf of the Department of Physics and wished them well for the future. We were also delighted to be joined by Prof Jim Al-Khalili who presented a number of awards, these are listed below.

3rd year Founders’ Prize – William Brzozowski
4th year O.S.Heavens Prize – Matthew Shelley
BSc Goodwin Project prize – Laurence Bradley; Thomas Jackson
MPhys Goodwin Project prize - Matthew Shelley
Leyah Karodia Prize – Sean Wheeler
K.M.Stott Prize 2016 - Matthew Hodgson
Outreach Volunteer of the Year - James Lees

Prof Thompson also recognised those who had gained a Starred First, these graduates are listed below. Photo's from the day can be found on our Facebook page .


Year 4 MPhys

  • Adam Langeveld – Physics with Astrophysics
  • Alice Newitt - Physics
  • Samuel Rannala - Physics
  • Matthew Bourn - Physics
  • Benjamin Morris - Physics
  • James Lolley - Physics
  • Matthew Shelley – Theoretical Physics
  • Kieron Wilkinson – Theoretical Physics

Year 3 BSc

  • William Brzozowski – Physics with Astrophysics
  • Erik Grinaker – Theoretical Physics