Accessibility statement

New Year honours for Professor Sarah Thompson

Posted on 3 January 2013

Professor Sarah Thompson, Head of the Department of Physics, has been made a Member of the British Empire(MBE) in the New Year’s Honours List.

Sarah Thompson

Professor Sarah Thompson, who became Head of the Department of Physics in 2011, is honoured with an MBE for services to Higher Education. Her main research interests lie in magnetic thin films and multilayers, spin-dependent transport, spintronics, remote sensing of magnetoresistance and infra-red spectroscopy of magnetic thin films and multilayers.
Sarah said “I first came to the university in 1992 as a research fellow on a temporary two year contract! In the twenty subsequent years I have enjoyed working in and playing an increasing role in a rapidly developing and ambitious department and university. I greatly value the core collegial ethos of the university, the mutually supportive environment this has created and the dual emphasis of research and teaching. I find working with both undergraduate and graduate students revitalising and take great pleasure in their achievements - a tremendous benefit of working in a university. I also relish any opportunity to enthuse about physics and engage the general public and future generations of scientists!” She also notes that the technique she uses to grow magnetic thin films is called Molecular Beam Epitaxy, so the initials “MBE” have been on the lab door for many years!