Events: 2014

Past events

White Rose Aesthetics Forum

Monday 15 December 2014

A forthcoming White Rose event...

Philosophy of Space and Time and Theories of Quantum Gravity

Thursday 4 December 2014

A Intitute of Physics / Royal Institute of Philosophy joint lecture...

Normativity in Reasoning

Wednesday 26 November 2014

A department colloquium event...

Visiting Speaker: Ellen Fridland

Wednesday 19 November 2014

A Departmental colloquium event...

Philosophy Postgraduate Open Afternoon

Wednesday 19 November 2014

Booking for Postgraduate Open afternoon now open

The Placebo Effect

Wednesday 12 November 2014

A Departmental colloquium event...

White Rose Philosophy Postgraduate Forum Meeting

Thursday 30 October 2014

Forthcoming meeting details...

Visiting Speaker: Dr Ophelia Deroy, Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Study

Wednesday 29 October 2014

A Departmental colloquium event...

Self-Torture as Practical Sorites

Wednesday 22 October 2014

A joint Philosophy / PEP colloquium event...

Visiting Speaker: Dr Peter Vickers, Durham University

Wednesday 15 October 2014

A Departmental Colloquium event...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 6 October 2014

Weekly postgraduate student research presentations...

10th Meeting of the Mind Network

Saturday 4 October 2014

The Mind Network is a UK-based network for philosophers of mind and cognitive science.

Graduation Afternoon Tea & Degree Ceremony

Friday 18 July 2014

Details of the forthcoming Graduation Ceremony...

Nonperceptual Sensuous States Workshop, 29 June - 1 July 2014

Sunday 29 June 2014

Forthcoming Workshop details...

6th Form Philosophy Conference

Friday 27 June 2014

This conference for post-16 students (Year 12 or equivalent) will provide a taste of what it is like to study Philosophy at university through a packed programme of talks and workshops...

'The Body in Modern Philosophy' Workshop: 25 - 26 June 2014

Wednesday 25 June 2014

A Centre for the History of Philosophy (CHiPhi) event...

CHiPhi-PKU Joint Workshop on History of Analytic Philosophy

Tuesday 24 June 2014

Members of the Institute of Foreign Philosophy at Peking University join CHiPhi members for this full-day workshop...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 23 June 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

PG Work-in-Progress meeting

Monday 16 June 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 9 June 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

White Rose Philosophy Postgraduate Forum Meeting

Saturday 7 June 2014

Forthcoming meeting details...

MA Philosophy Student Conference

Tuesday 3 June 2014

A one-day conference presenting research work-in-progress...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 2 June 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

'Experiencing the Present and the Time-Lag Argument'

Wednesday 21 May 2014

A departmental Colloquium event...

Voids or Fragmentation: Moral Responsibility for Collective Outcomes

Wednesday 14 May 2014

A joint Philosophy and PEP colloquium event...

Staff Work in Progress Meeting with Professor Michael Devitt

Wednesday 14 May 2014

A special staff Work in Progress meeting...

Climate Change: life and death

Tuesday 13 May 2014

A Royal Institute of Philosophy Public Lecture...

Wittgenstein in the 1930s

Wednesday 7 May 2014

A colloquium event...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 5 May 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 28 April 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

MA in Philosophy Publicity Event

Thursday 24 April 2014

Final year undergraduate students thinking about applying for the MA in Philosophy are welcome to attend this event

Integrity Lost, Integrity Gained: Social Conditions and Institutional Pressures, 11-12 April 2014

Friday 11 April 2014

The first 'Integrity Project' international conference of the year...

Third workshop "Cognitive and Aesthetic Values in Cultural Artefacts": 10 - 11 April 2014

Thursday 10 April 2014

The third and final workshop in this series...

The Unity of Action, Perception, and Knowledge

Wednesday 12 March 2014

A colloquium event...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 3 March 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

White Rose Philosophy Postgraduate Forum Meeting

Saturday 1 March 2014

Forthcoming meeting details...

Shakespeare's Sonnets Workshop

Friday 28 February 2014

Second workshop examining the relationship between cognitive and aesthetic values and their place in our cultural practices...

Consciousness and its Limits

Wednesday 26 February 2014

A colloquium event...

CANCELLED: Visiting Speaker - Gustaf Arrhenius

Wednesday 19 February 2014

Apologies - this event has been cancelled...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 17 February 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 10 February 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Chauvet Cave Workshop

Friday 7 February 2014

Examining the relationship between cognitive and aesthetic values and their place in our cultural practices...

The Normative Skeptical Paradox

Wednesday 5 February 2014

A Colloquium event...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 3 February 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Analogies in Kant’s Philosophy of Science

Wednesday 29 January 2014

A colloquium event ...

Visual Evanescence

Wednesday 22 January 2014

A colloquium event...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 20 January 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Would you kill the fat man?

Tuesday 14 January 2014

David Edmonds talks about his latest book...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 13 January 2014

Weekly research student presentations...

Postgraduate Work-in-Progress Meeting

Monday 6 January 2014

Weekly research student presentations...