Accessibility statement

Academic staff

Head of Department

Dr Áine Sheil

Dr Áine Sheil

Reader and Head of Department

Email: aine.sheil@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4565
Room: I/D/118

Musicology: contemporary and 20th-century opera production; Wagner; critical musicology. 

Staff (A-Z) 

A [top]

Dr Charlotte Armstrong 

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

Email: charlotte.armstrong@york.ac.uk

Opera and Disability Studies; Contemporary Opera Production; Theater and Performance Theory; Modernism and Early-Twentieth Discourses of Degeneracy; Digital Musicology and Archives.

B [top]

Paul Baily

Paul Baily

Visiting Lecturer in Music and Sound Recording

Email: paul.baily@york.ac.uk

Music Technology, Music Production.

[top]

Dr Jennifer Cohen

jenni cohen

Associate Lecturer

Email: jennifer.cohen@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Music education, Baroque music, performance practice, timing in performance, embodied music cognition, musicology.


Dr Tom Collins

Lecturer (Assistant Professor)

Email: tom.collins@york.ac.uk

Music Technology: music and artificial intelligence; web audio; user interfaces; pattern discovery; music perception.


Dr Stef Conner

Lecturer (from January 2020)

Email: stef.conner@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Composition, ancient music, medieval music.


Professor Rachel Cowgill

Professor

Email: rachel.cowgill@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Music in Britain, opera studies, music in cultural history, gender and sexuality.

[top]

Dr Peter Dale

Lecturer

Music Education; Contemporary Urban Music: Hip hop; EDM; Grime; House; Music Technology 

[top]

Dr Jonathan Eato

Dr Jon Eato

Senior Lecturer

Email: jonathan.eato@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4792
Room: I/D/122

Musicology, Composition: Jazz; improvisation; South African popular music.


Dr Hauke Egermann

Dr Hauke Egermann

Senior Lecturer

Email: hauke.egermann@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4303
Room: MRC/003

Music Psychology, Music and Media.

[top]

Professor Ambrose Field

Professor Ambrose Field

Professor

Email: ambrose.field@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Composition; New aesthetics and compositional strategies; Postmodern Culture; Immersive media: performance and creativity.

[top]

Dr Elizabeth Haddon

Dr Elizabeth Haddon

Senior Lecturer

Email: liz.haddon@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4564
Room: I/D/129

Music Education: teaching; learning; performance.


Robert Hollingworth

Robert Hollingworth

Anniversary Reader

Email: robert.hollingworth@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4342
Room: I/D/020

Performance: Renaissance and Baroque music; vocal ensembles.


Dr Jon Hughes

Associate Lecturer on BA Music  

Email: jonathan.hughes@york.ac.uk

Composition; Choral Music; Music in the Community.


Dr Mark Hutchinson

Lecturer

Email: mark.hutchinson@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2435
Room: I/D/105

Musicology, Performance: contemporary musical aesthetics and analysis; music and literature; piano accompaniment.

[top]

Professor Catherine Laws

Dr Catherine Laws

Professor

Email: catherine.laws@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2453
Room: I/D/120

Musicology, Performance: contemporary music and experimental music practices; music and embodiment/subjectivity/identity; music and language; Samuel Beckett.

[top]

Dr Liam Maloney

Liam

Associate Lecturer

Email: liam.maloney@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4647
Room: MRC/YAMR

Sound recording, electronic dance music history, listening studies, music sociology.


Dr Daniel March

Dr Daniel March

Senior Lecturer

Email: daniel.march@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2451
Room: I/D/115

Musicology: analysis of contemporary music; minimalism; specific non-western repertoire and traditions.


Dr Jack McNeill

Associate Lecturer

Email: jack.mcneill@york.ac.uk 
Room: MRC/004

Electronic Dance Music culture; visual and participatory arts; electroacoustic composition; DJ practice; creative practice in music education.

 

[top]

Dr Naomi Norton

Image of Naomi Norton

Associate Lecturer in Music Education

Email: naomi.norton@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 4645
Room: I/D/022

Music Education: teaching; learning; musicians’ health and well-being; music psychology.

[top]

Mimi O'Neill

Associate Lecturer

Email: mimi.oneill@york.ac.uk 

Music psychology; music and emotion; music science; empathy; quantitative research methods and analysis.

[top]

Kate Pearson

Visiting Lecturer

Email: kate.pearson@york.ac.uk

Music Education; Music-theatre; Opera; Composition

 


Dr Richard Powell 

Rich Powell Square

‌Associate Lecturer

Email: richard.powell@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 2443
Room: I/D/025

Musicology, Music Education: teaching; learning; analysis; music and temporality.


Dr Amandine Pras

Lecturer in Sound Recording and Music Production

Email: amandine.pras@york.ac.uk

Analysis of Recording Studio Practices; Gender in Audio and in Music Production; Western African Popular Music Industries; Improvisation Processes; Binaural Technology

[top]

Dr Federico Reuben

Federico Square

Senior Lecturer

Email: federico.reuben@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4132
Room: MRC/002

Creative Music Technology, Composition: live electronic performance; improvisation; sound art; music computing and interactivity.


Hannah Rodger

Associate Lecturer

Email: hannah.rodger@york.ac.uk

Tutor on the MA in Music Education: Instrumental and Vocal Teaching

[top]

Professor Thomas Simaku

Dr Thomas Simaku

Professor

Email: thomas.simaku@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4448
Room: I/D/108

Composition: European modernism; contemporary music; the string quartet.


Dr John Stringer

Dr John Stringer

Senior Lecturer

Email: john.stringer@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4447
Room: I/D/111

Composition, Performance: contemporary performance practice; conducting.


Professor Martin Suckling

Dr Martin Suckling

Professor 

Email: martin.suckling@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4750
Room: I/D/127

Composition, Performance: spectral and microtonal music; live electronics; orchestration.

[top]

Dr Caroline Waddington-Jones

CWJ

Lecturer

Email: caroline.waddington-jones@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 3018
Room: I/D/023

Music education, empathy, performance psychology.


Professor Jo Wainwright

Professor

Email: jo.wainwright@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4748
Room: I/D/113

Musicology: 16th- and 17th-century Italian and English music; performance practice; editing.


Dr Tim Wright

Tim Wright

Associate Lecturer in Music and Sound Recording

Email: tim.wright@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 4647
Room: MRC/YAMR

Music Technology, Music Production.

[top]

Susan Young

Associate Lecturer

Email: susan.young@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4692
Room: I/C/101

Vocal performance, including art song, opera, contemporary music and musical theatre, vocal health and pedagogy.