Academic staff

A [top]

Dr Áine Sheil

Dr Áine Sheil

Senior Lecturer and Interim Head of Department

Email: aine.sheil@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4565
Room: I/D/118

Musicology: contemporary and 20th-century opera production; Wagner; critical musicology.

B [top]

Paul Baily

Paul Baily

Visiting Lecturer in Music and Sound Recording

Email: paul.baily@york.ac.uk

Music Technology, Music Production.


Professor William Brooks

Professor William Brooks

Professor

Email: w.f.brooks@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4449
Room: I/D/114

Composition, Performance, Musicology: American music; contemporary vocal music; World War I songs.

[top]

Dr Jennifer Cohen

jenni cohen

Associate Lecturer

Email: jennifer.cohen@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Baroque music, performance practice, timing in performance, embodied music cognition, teaching, learning, musicology.


Bruce Cole

Bruce Cole

Fellow in Community Music

Email: bwc2@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4693
Room: I/C/002


Tom Collins

Lecturer (Assistant Professor)

Email: tom.collins@york.ac.uk

Music Technology: music and artificial intelligence; web audio; user interfaces; pattern discovery; music perception.


Dr Stef Conner

Lecturer (from January 2020)

Email: stef.conner@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Composition, ancient music, medieval music.


Professor Rachel Cowgill

Professor

Email: rachel.cowgill@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

Music in Britain, opera studies, music in cultural history, gender and sexuality.

[top]

Dr Jonathan Eato

Dr Jon Eato

Senior Lecturer

Email: jonathan.eato@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4792
Room: I/D/122

Musicology, Composition: Jazz; improvisation; South African popular music.


Dr Hauke Egermann

Dr Hauke Egermann

Senior Lecturer

Email: hauke.egermann@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4303
Room: MRC/003

Music Psychology, Music and Media.

[top]

Professor Ambrose Field

Professor Ambrose Field

Professor

Email: ambrose.field@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 2430
Room: I/D/101

[top]

Dr Elizabeth Haddon

Dr Elizabeth Haddon

Senior Lecturer

Email: liz.haddon@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4564
Room: I/D/129

Music Education: teaching; learning; performance; music psychology.


Robert Hollingworth

Robert Hollingworth

Anniversary Reader

Email: robert.hollingworth@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4342
Room: I/D/020

Performance: Renaissance and Baroque music; vocal ensembles.


Professor Tim Howell

Dr Tim Howell

Professor

Email: tim.howell@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2433
Room: I/D/116

Musicology: analysis, including of contemporary music; Finnish music from Sibelius to the present.


Dr Mark Hutchinson

Lecturer

Email: mark.hutchinson@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2435
Room: I/D/105

Musicology, Performance: contemporary musical aesthetics and analysis; music and literature; piano accompaniment.

[top]

Dr Catherine Laws

Dr Catherine Laws

Reader

Email: catherine.laws@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2453
Room: I/D/120

Musicology, Performance: contemporary music and experimental music practices; music and embodiment/subjectivity/identity; music and language; Samuel Beckett.

[top]

Liam Maloney

Liam

Associate Lecturer

Email: liam.maloney@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4647
Room: MRC/YAMR

Sound recording, electronic dance music history, listening studies, music sociology.


Dr Daniel March

Dr Daniel March

Lecturer

Email: daniel.march@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2451
Room: I/D/115

Musicology: analysis of contemporary music; minimalism; specific non-western repertoire and traditions.

[top]

Dr Naomi Norton

Image of Naomi Norton

Associate Lecturer in Music Education

Email: naomi.norton@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 4645
Room: I/D/022

Music Education: teaching; learning; musicians’ health and well-being; music psychology.

[top]

Dr Richard Powell 

Rich Powell Square

‌Associate Lecturer

Email: richard.powell@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 2443
Room: I/D/025

Musicology, Music Education: teaching; learning; analysis; music and temporality.

[top]

Dr Federico Reuben

Federico Square

Senior Lecturer

Email: federico.reuben@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4132
Room: MRC/002

Creative Music Technology, Composition: live electronic performance; improvisation; sound art; music computing and interactivity.

[top]

Professor Peter Seymour

Professor Peter Seymour

Professor

Email: peter.seymour@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2431
Room: I/D/014

Performance: Renaissance, Baroque and Classical performance practice; choral music, keyboard and vocal performance.


Professor Thomas Simaku

Dr Thomas Simaku

Professor

Email: thomas.simaku@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4448
Room: I/D/108

Composition: European modernism; contemporary music; the string quartet.


Dr John Stringer

Dr John Stringer

Senior Lecturer

Email: john.stringer@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4447
Room: I/D/111

Composition, Performance: contemporary performance practice; conducting.


Dr Martin Suckling

Dr Martin Suckling

Senior Lecturer

Email: martin.suckling@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4750
Room: I/D/127

Composition, Performance: spectral and microtonal music; live electronics; orchestration.

[top]

Dr Caroline Waddington-Jones

CWJ

Lecturer

Email: caroline.waddington-jones@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 3018
Room: I/D/023

Music education, empathy, performance psychology.


Professor Jo Wainwright

Professor

Email: jo.wainwright@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4748
Room: I/D/113

Musicology: 16th- and 17th-century Italian and English music; performance practice; editing.


Dr Jez Wells

Dr Jez Wells

Senior Lecturer

Email: jez.wells@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 2436
Room: MRC/005

Music Technology: sound recording; music signal processing and modelling; technology in pop music production.


Dr Tim Wright

Tim Wright

Associate Lecturer in Music and Sound Recording

Email: tim.wright@york.ac.uk
Tel: 01904 32 4647
Room: MRC/YAMR

Music Technology, Music Production.

[top]

Susan Young

Associate Lecturer

Email: susan.young@york.ac.uk
Tel: (01904) 32 4692
Room: I/C/101

Vocal performance, including art song, opera, contemporary music and musical theatre, vocal health and pedagogy.