Mercury nominees Roller Trio release new music

Posted on 2 July 2018

PhD composition students James Mainwaring and Ben Eyes have collaborated on the band’s third studio album 'New Devices', released on Edition Records on 22 June 2018.

The British Jazz-Rock band recorded the album in several sessions in the SSL Duality equipped Trevor Jones Studio, housed in the Department of Music at York. The band's line-up consists of James on Saxophone, Luke Williams on drums and Chris Sharkey on bass and electronics.

Ben Eyes was responsible for engineering the record and ensuring that sessions ran smoothly, whilst the band improvised on themes and ideas, creating and processing the live instrumental sounds and arrangements on the fly using Ableton Live. During the recording some 12 channels of Ableton were running at any one time straight into the desk along with processed saxophone, drums and bass all being laid down live. 

The album brings the use of technology to the fore giving a creative and distinctly modern sound to contemporary jazz with reviews comparing the album to the Cocteau Twins, Softmachine and King Crimson. Six years after their 2012 debut studio album was nominated for both the Mercury Prize and  "Best Jazz Act" at the Mobos, New Devices has been entered into the Mercury award once more. 

Find out more about Roller Trio

Listen to and buy New Devices