Accessibility statement

Department announced national call for works

Posted on 29 January 2015

As part of a wide range of activities hosted by the Contemporary Music Research Centre at York in 2015, we are delighted to announce a national call for works. Composers currently studying at a UK university or conservatoire are invited to submit concise pieces for solo violin to be workshopped by the internationally renowned soloist Peter Sheppard Skaerved.

The selected works will be workshopped at the National Centre for Early Music (NCEM) at York on 9 June 2015.


  1. Duration: ca. 6 min
  2. Up to eight pieces will be selected and recorded during the workshop
  3. One piece chosen by Peter Sheppard Skaerved will be included in his solo recital which will take place later on in the day
  4. The winning work will be published by the University of York Music Press
  5. Works may not have been previously performed
  6. Works must be submitted anonymously marked with a pseudonym
  7. The pseudonym should appear on a sealed envelope containing the following information: the tile of the piece, composer’s name, date of birth, e-mail address, telephone number, and current UK university/conservatoire
  8. No entry fee
  9. Deadline: Thursday, 30 April 2015 (postmark)

All materials should be sent to:

Music Department
(National Call for Works)
University of York
York  YO10 5DD