Accessibility statement

Lyons and Holmes Awards announced

Posted on 24 September 2014

The Department is delighted to announce the recipients of the Lyons Celebration and Terry Holmes Performer-Composer Awards for 2014/15.

There are two recipients of the Lyons Celebration Award. Patrick John Jones and James Cave will each receive £1500 to compose a large scale work for performance in 2015. They will also both have the opportunity to take up a short residency at the Banff Centre in Canada during the year.

Merit Stephanos and Morag Galloway won the Holmes Award with their proposal to collaborate on a new music theatre work for voices using words and narratives sourced from Arab women’s writings. The new piece will be premiered at the York Spring Festival of New Music in April 2015. Merit and Morag will also receive £1500 each for this commission.

The winners of these awards are all current PhD students.