Accessibility statement

Mountaineering Club Orchestra download album released

Posted on 17 May 2011

Undergraduate student Tom Adam's solo project, 'The Mountaineering Club Orchestra', have released their first album as a pay-what-you-like digital download.

The Mountaineering Club Orchestra was formed by Adams as part of his BA degree and performed recently at the York Spring Festival of New Music. Their first album is now available by digital download on a pay-what-you-like basis.

Entitled 'A Start On Such A Night Is Full Of Promise', the project is a set of compositions and instrumental songs inspired by the first crossing of Greenland made by an expedition led by Norwegian explorer Fridtjof Nansen in 1888, and the account that he wrote of that expedition.

The Mountaineering Club Orchestra are:
  • Tom Adams: Composer/Conductor/Electronics/Drums
  • Odinn Orn Hilmarsson: Guitar
  • Joel Hughes: Piano
  • Richard Powell: Violin
  • Simon Fenton: Violin
  • John Cummins: Violin
  • Jess Kettle: Cello
  • Richard Blake: Synths/Trumpet
  • Leo Plunkett: Electronics/Processing
  • Chris Parsons: Trumpet
  • Dave Sims: Trombone
  • Harry Jones: Trombone
  • Tom Cameron: Tuba
  • Dan Jeffries: Sound engineer