Performance classes

A student group taking part in a performance workshop with a member of Department Ensemble-in-Residence, Quatuor Diotima

All students, teachers and staff are welcome to attend the sessions, which are free. If you have any questions or suggestions for classes you’d like to see happening, please contact Liz Haddon: liz.haddon@york.ac.uk

Please note, there are ‘vocal’ and ‘instrumental’ sessions, but anyone is free to go to anything – singers are welcome at the instrumental sessions, and instrumentalists welcome at the vocal ones. Some classes take the form of workshops and offer the chance to participate to everyone who turns up (for example, African drumming); others are more like a masterclass and require those wanting to participate as performers to sign up in advance. However, there will be the chance to observe at all sessions – active participation is strongly encouraged, and it’s usually more fun than watching!

Some classes have sign-up sheets for participants to register, particularly those where the leader will work with a certain number of students. These will be available online, sent to students as an email link. Information will be posted on the board at the top of the stairs in the music department main building.


Upcoming classes

Recent classes

Violin masterclass led by Sebastian Müller

Thursday 18 May 2017

All welcome to observe

Vocal class with Peter Seymour

Tuesday 16 May 2017

Performance class for vocal recitalists with Peter Seymour – observers welcome

Pianists with Mark Hutchinson

Wednesday 10 May 2017

Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall

Vocal class with Peter Seymour

Tuesday 9 May 2017

Performance class for vocal recitalists with Peter Seymour - observers welcome

Vocal class with Peter Seymour

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Performance class for vocal recitalists with Peter Seymour - observers welcome

Piano class with Mark Hutchinson

Tuesday 2 May 2017

Performance class for pianist recitalists with Mark Hutchinson – observers welcome

Vocal class with Peter Seymour

Tuesday 25 April 2017

Performance class for vocal recitalists with Peter Seymour - observers welcome

Chamber music coaching

Thursday 2 March 2017

Chamber music coaching led by Lesley Schatzberger

Musical theatre class

Tuesday 28 February 2017

Musical theatre class led by Bill Brooks

Lower strings class

Wednesday 22 February 2017

Lower strings class with Hetti Price

Open rehearsal

Tuesday 21 February 2017

An open rehearsal with I Fagiolini

Piano masterclass

Thursday 9 February 2017

Piano masterclass led by Peter Hill

Realising the challenges of performing contemporary vocal notation

Tuesday 7 February 2017

Vocal class with Anna Snow

Brass class

Tuesday 7 February 2017

Brass class with Tim Barber

Vocal class

Tuesday 31 January 2017

Vocal class led by Susan Young

Piano class

Tuesday 31 January 2017

Piano class led by Mark Hutchinson, for solo pianists, accompanying pianists and duetting pianists

Vocal class

Tuesday 24 January 2017

Vocal class with Alex Ashworth

Vocal class

Tuesday 17 January 2017

Vocal class with Peter Seymour

Vocal performance class

Tuesday 29 November 2016

A mock audition situation with positive feedback and advice.

Beyond the concert hall: creative exploration of performance sites for Western art music performers

Tuesday 29 November 2016

Explore the implications and benefits that an open and creative approach to performance sites beyond the concert hall can have.

Workshop: challenges in performance, composition and communication

Tuesday 22 November 2016

A workshop for performers and composers exploring how vulnerability, honesty and openness contribute towards confidence in performance, composition and communication.

Vocal health

Tuesday 15 November 2016

This session will show you how you can help yourself to maintain a healthy voice throughout your course. Maximising your vocal development during your degree by maintaining healthy practices will be discussed with scientific evidence of why some things are good/bad for your voice.

Piano class (special focus, pedalling)

Tuesday 15 November 2016

This session takes the form of a lecture/masterclass: a talk on pedalling, followed by the chance for three pianists to receive coaching with Jakob (observers welcome).

Vocal Performance class: 20th Century British Song

Tuesday 8 November 2016

A session for singers with, if possible, accompanists. If you can’t perform in the workshop you will, as auditors, learn excellent recital repertoire.

Conducting skills

Tuesday 8 November 2016

The session will focus on absolute basic technique (necessary for orchestral and choral conductors) alongside tips for learning and rehearsing scores.

Q & A for third year undergraduate recitalists

Tuesday 8 November 2016

Questions and Answer session for third year undergraduate recitalists.

Improvisation workshop with members of Tipping Point

Friday 28 October 2016

An improvisation workshop with the members of Tipping Point, who are giving an evening concert on the 28th.

Vocal performance class: ‘Sing what you mean, mean what you sing’

Tuesday 25 October 2016

You’ve diligently learned the music and the text but we all know that’s just the starting point. The ‘how?’ of singing is inextricably linked with the ‘what?’ and the ‘why?’ So how do you set about really using your imagination, being clear about your intention and meaning what you sing?

Songs with or without words?

Tuesday 25 October 2016

How we present works can profoundly affect the way in which people might hear them. Explore the ways we can communicate with the audience, verbally and in print to enhance the concert experience.

Vocal workshop: Warm-up exercises and good music editions for singers

Tuesday 18 October 2016

The first half of the session will focus on warm-up exercises especially suitable for pre-choral rehearsals and performances. The second half of the workshop will give information and lists of reliable editions and explain why these are more suitable for singers and accompanists.

String quartet coaching with the Consone Quartet

Tuesday 18 October 2016

Part of the C18th Keyboard and Chamber music coaching project.

String quartet coaching with the Consone Quartet

Tuesday 18 October 2016

Part of the C18th Keyboard and Chamber music coaching project.

Vocal performance class: “Night and Dreams”

Tuesday 11 October 2016

In this session Richard will work with three singers and their accompanists on material of their choice (ideally related to the title ‘Night and Dreams’ but not necessarily so!) Please make sure that you bring your accompanist to the session. Observers are welcome.

University Life: Survive or Thrive

Tuesday 11 October 2016

University is a time to wonder - about life and the universe, and importantly about yourself. Most musicians take enormous care of their instruments. They understand their value and that without them they are unable to perform. Surprisingly, many of them take less care of the only instrument that is truly irreplaceable – themselves: body, mind and emotions.

Musicians’ Health

Wednesday 5 October 2016

This interactive seminar will explore how to promote musicians' health and well-being and prevent the development of performance-related conditions.

Rhythm and Groove workshop

Thursday 9 June 2016

Dennis Rollins

Folk Music for All

Thursday 2 June 2016

Frankie Archer

Performance class (singers)

Tuesday 10 May 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Performance class (wind)

Wednesday 4 May 2016

John Stringer

Performance class (singers)

Tuesday 3 May 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Performance class (pianists)

Thursday 28 April 2016

Nicky Losseff

An introduction to Vietnamese classical music

Thursday 28 April 2016

Nguyen Thanh Thuy

Performance class (wind)

Wednesday 27 April 2016

John Stringer

Performance class (singers)

Tuesday 26 April 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Performance class (pianists)

Monday 25 April 2016

Nicky Losseff

Vocal class

Thursday 21 April 2016

Alex Ashworth

Performance class for recitalists (strings)

Wednesday 20 April 2016

Martin Suckling

Performance class for recitalists (wind)

Tuesday 19 April 2016

John Stringer

Vocal workshop for recitalists (singers)

Tuesday 12 April 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Vocal class

Tuesday 1 March 2016

Rachel Nicholls

An Introduction to the Harpsichord

Tuesday 1 March 2016

Catherine Hollingworth

Ensemble performance workshop

Monday 22 February 2016

Murphy McCaleb

Vocal workshop

Tuesday 16 February 2016

Susan Young

Diotima Quartet masterclass

Monday 15 February 2016

Diotima Quartet

Masterclass

Thursday 11 February 2016

Adrian Brendel and Jack Liebeck

Piano masterclass

Thursday 4 February 2016

Danny Driver

Vocal class on Complete Vocal Technique

Tuesday 2 February 2016

The Voice Hub, led by Michael Hill and Rósa B. Ómarsdóttir

Baroque workshop

Thursday 28 January 2016

Martyn Shaw

Exploring performance

Tuesday 26 January 2016

Anna Goldbeck-Wood

Performance coaching for recitalists

Tuesday 19 January 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Performance coaching for recitalist

Monday 18 January 2016

John Stringer

Social Media for Musicians

Wednesday 13 January 2016

Ben Eyes

Performance coaching for recitalists

Tuesday 12 January 2016

Robert Hollingworth

Mindfulness class

Wednesday 25 November 2015

Eliza McCarthy

Choral singing class

Tuesday 24 November 2015

Robert Hollingworth

Manage your nerves – talk and practical workshop

Wednesday 18 November 2015

Charlotte Tomlinson

Vocal class

Tuesday 17 November 2015

Susan Young

Conducting class

Thursday 12 November 2015

Dr John Stringer

Vocal class: Art and Science working together

Tuesday 10 November 2015

Linda Hutchison

Performance class

Wednesday 28 October 2015

Max Garrard

Vocal masterclass

Tuesday 27 October 2015

Nigel Cliffe

Rhythm in Groove – a funky performance workshop

Wednesday 21 October 2015

Dennis Rollins

Inclusive Singing Leadership - workshop

Tuesday 20 October 2015

Em Whitfield Brooks

Performance class – Bear-faced Bassoonery

Friday 16 October 2015

Laurence Perkins

Performance classes

Wednesday 14 October 2015

Niall O'Riordan

Vocal class

Tuesday 13 October 2015

Richard Jackson

Arabic and Middle Eastern Singing workshop

Tuesday 6 October 2015

Merit Ariane Stephanos