2016

Past events

Medieval Mysticism and the Universe in a Hazelnut

Friday 25 November 2016

History of Art Research Seminar Series

Understanding the Global Citizen, c.1200-c.1600

Tuesday 15 November 2016

York Medieval Lecture Series

Blizzards of Steel: Viking Poetry and the Battles of Fulford and Stamford Bridge

Tuesday 8 November 2016

Launch event for the Normans in the North series of lectures

The Apocalypse? Or Just the Vikings? Byrhtferth and Ælfric plan for the End of the World

Tuesday 18 October 2016

Medieval Literatures and Languages Research Seminar

The Rood in Medieval Britain and Ireland c.900-c.1500

Friday 2 September 2016

Keynote Speaker: Dr Julian Luxford (Reading History of Art, University of St Andrews)

The Codex Amiatinus In Context

Thursday 14 July 2016

Dr Meg Boulton and Dr Jane Hawkes

Medieval Women Revisited

Thursday 7 July 2016

3-day conference on Medieval Women with international guest speakers

CMS Graduate Student Conference

Tuesday 28 June 2016

A two-day graduate student conference showcasing innovative postgraduate research

Cultural Heritage: Why Does it Matter?

Sunday 19 June 2016

Peter Lamarque, Harry Munt, Rory Olcayto, and Helen Walasek

Shared Heritage: West and Islamic World

Thursday 16 June 2016

Michele Campopiano

The Private Lives of the Saints

Saturday 11 June 2016

Janina Ramirez

Beer and Beowulf: The Conquest of Cnut

Wednesday 8 June 2016

Come and join us in the beor-sele or beer-hall of the Duke of York pub, for our annual evening of Anglo-Saxon beer and poetry.

Passion, Mystery and Performance: The First Two Centuries of the York Play

Tuesday 7 June 2016

The lecture will consider in particular the origins of the cycle, the role of crafts and groups of artisans and traders in relation to individual pageants, and questions to do with the nature of the production.

5th Annual Norse in the North Graduate Student Conference

Saturday 4 June 2016

'Translation and Transmission' in Old Norse studies,

PREFIGURING (IN) THE MEDIEVAL WORLD

Saturday 28 May 2016

This two-day multi-disciplinary conference brings together emerging scholars, early career researchers and established academics to provide a platform to discuss how this important idea was manifested in the visual, textual and material evidence of the Medieval world and to examine the implications and significance of ‘Prefiguring’ in the Medieval in its widest possible contexts.

Interrogating the 'Germanic': a category and its uses in Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages

Friday 13 May 2016

This two-day conference is on the use of the categorical term ‘Germanic’ – frequently used as a linguistic category, ethnonym, or descriptive identifier for a range of forms of cultural and literary material.

Bede, the recta fides, and the Lateran Council of 649

Tuesday 10 May 2016

Centre for Medieval Studies Research Seminar

The Viking Great Army in England: Torksey, treasure and towns

Tuesday 3 May 2016

From AD 865 to 879 a Viking army wreaked havoc on the Anglo-Saxon kingdoms, leading to political conquest, settlement on a substantial scale, and extensive Scandinavian cultural and linguistic influences in eastern and northern England.

York Historic Atlas Study Day

Saturday 23 April 2016

A new atlas reveals the development of York across two thousand years, and a study day is taking place on 23 April revealing why and how it was created.

Europe: New Foundations for an Unknown Future

Wednesday 9 March 2016

The Judith Rodin Professor of English (UPenn) and CMS alumni returns to York to give the Spring term 2016 York Medieval Lecture.

Subjecthood: Subjects and the Crown in Later Medieval England

Wednesday 2 March 2016

CMS alumna returns to York to deliver a History Department Research Seminar.

The Southwark Connection, Chaucer, Gower, and William of Wykeham

Tuesday 16 February 2016

The Southwark Connection, Chaucer, Gower, and William of Wykeham

Modelling Vaults

Monday 1 February 2016

Professor Norbert Nussbaum (Kunsthistorisches Institut, University of Cologne), Dr Zoë Opačić (Birkbeck, University of London) and Professor Paul Crossley (Emeritus Professor of the History of Art, Courtauld Institute of Art)