Accessibility statement

2020 Library news

164 more study slots per day, and Library Home From Home

Friday 20 November 2020

We’ve changed the lengths of some of our booking slots in the Morrell, Burton and Fairhurst to introduce a lot more 2-3 hour slots.


York Minster Library to close from Thursday 5 November

Wednesday 4 November 2020

As a result of the national lockdown across England, there will be no access to the buildings or collections at York Minster Library from Thursday 5 November.


Library services will continue during the lockdown period

Monday 2 November 2020

The UK Government has announced a national lockdown with increased restrictions until at least 2 December. We know you’ll be wondering how this impacts the library and we would like to reassure you that, for the time being at least, the Library and Archives buildings on Campus West and at King's Manor remain open for study space and access to physical resources. However the Minster Library will close from 5 November; appointments and Minster collections will be unavailable during this time. We'll let you know as soon as it reopens.


Video call rooms are now available to book

Friday 23 October 2020

More study spaces are now available around the University and we’ve provided some rooms in the Library which are suitable for video calls and other interactive online learning.


Recommended reading

Sunday 18 October 2020

Your lecturers work with the Library to ensure that you have access to reading lists for your course. Find your lists to access a host of useful features.


Library services during level 2 COVID restrictions

Friday 16 October 2020

The UK Government has announced that the City of York will be subject to increased coronavirus restrictions from Saturday 17 October. The Library and Archives will remain open with safety measures in place.


Your Library, Your Voice: Migration and Refugees

Thursday 15 October 2020

Explore Migration and Refugee issues with the latest reading list from Your Library, Your Voice.


Supporting self-isolating students

Tuesday 13 October 2020

If you’re self-isolating or shielding on campus, use our new Campus Delivery option to request books to be delivered to your campus accommodation.


Celebrate Ada Lovelace Day with our data equality reading list

Tuesday 13 October 2020

To mark Ada Lovelace Day, a celebration of the achievements of women in STEM, we’ve compiled a reading list on data equality.


Recommend books to mark Black History Month

Monday 5 October 2020

We’re celebrating Black History Month this October across the Library.


Welcome new and returning students

Sunday 27 September 2020

A very warm welcome from the Library and Archives. Whether you’re new to York, returning after the break, or studying and working at a distance, we are delighted to be here for you.


Reintroducing recalls

Thursday 24 September 2020

With the start of term on Monday 28 September, we're reintroducing recalls for library items.


Library opening hours for the Autumn term

Wednesday 23 September 2020

We are now able to confirm that the University Library’s opening hours during the Autumn term will be 8am to midnight every day. These hours take effect from Monday 28 September.


More Library services reopen in September

Monday 14 September 2020

We’re making more progress in introducing new services and reintroducing old ones, and the next round of changes happens from Monday 14 September.


Library closed for the Bank Holiday

Thursday 27 August 2020

We're closing the Library on Monday 31 August for the Bank Holiday, including our online support. We’ll be back in the building and online from 9am Tuesday 1 September.


More Library services reopen

Wednesday 5 August 2020

We’re continuing to open more of our buildings and add more services.


Reopening of study space

Wednesday 22 July 2020

From Sunday 26 July, you can book space to study in the library.


More options to return your Library books

Tuesday 21 July 2020

We know that you’ve been wondering about how to return your outstanding loans to the Library. We’re now able to tell you about some options to get your books back to the Library. Thanks for taking care of them for us in the meantime!


Access print resources with our Book Takeaway Service

Sunday 12 July 2020

We’ve been working to widen access to electronic resources, but we know that you want access to print resources too. Our new Book Takeaway Service means just that, giving you options for how to access resources which are only available in print.


Reopening our buildings from Monday 27 July

Monday 6 July 2020

We’ve been working hard behind the scenes to get the Library buildings ready for reopening, and we can now give you some more information about what is happening and when.


Your Library, Your Voice: LGBTQI+

Monday 29 June 2020

We are committed to ensuring that the Library and Archives are representative of the diversity of voices at the University of York and our wider community.


Your Library, Your Voice: Black Lives Matter

Tuesday 23 June 2020

We are committed to ensuring that the Library and Archives are representative of the diversity of voices at the University of York and our wider community.


Changes to our virtual opening hours

Monday 15 June 2020

Since the closure of the Library buildings we have been operating a fully online service. During the summer vacation we’ll be making some changes to our virtual opening hours in line with our usual schedule over the summer.


Reopening the Library and Archives buildings

Monday 8 June 2020

Since we closed the Library buildings in March, we've continued to provide online access to resources and support, but we know that access to onsite Library services is important to you. We're now planning how we will reopen our buildings.


Rachel Garner wins York Book Collecting Prize 2020

Tuesday 2 June 2020

Archaeology student Rachel Garner has been awarded this year's prize with an essay about her Robin Hood books


Returning your Library books

Friday 22 May 2020

We appreciate that many of you are anxious to know how you can return books to the Library, especially if you are soon leaving the University.


Library services in response to Coronavirus

Monday 11 May 2020

Since the closure of the Library buildings in March, we’ve been working on a number of ways to run the Library as a fully online service.


Library Easter closure

Friday 3 April 2020

We are closing the Library entirely from 5pm on Tuesday 7 April until 9am on Tuesday 14 April.


Library closure: changes you need to know about

Wednesday 18 March 2020

In line with government advice, we will be closing all our library buildings by 5pm on Friday 20 March - some are already closed. We've made changes to arrangements for loans, recalls and fines so that we can best support your access to our services.


Library and Archives staff working from home - Tuesday 17 March

Tuesday 17 March 2020

Today, Tuesday 17 March, the majority of our Library and Archives staff are working from home for the day. This is an exercise to test our readiness in the event of a large number of staff having to work from home due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.


Digital Creativity Week 2020 (cancelled)

Thursday 27 February 2020

This event has been cancelled.


Library service over Easter

Friday 21 February 2020

This news article was updated on 23 March due to the coronavirus outbreak.


Write about your book collection for a chance to win £500!

Monday 3 February 2020

Do you have more than ten books? Then you’re a book collector! The University of York Book Collecting Prize is your chance to tell the world about your collection. The winner will receive £500 and entry to the National Book Collecting Prize.


Wonders on Wednesday

Thursday 16 January 2020

Wonders on Wednesday is back for the Spring Term! Join expert Library and Archives staff to learn more about the treasures in the University collection.


News by year