2018 Library news

Christmas borrowing, opening hours, and SCONUL access

Posted on Monday 19 November 2018

Over the Christmas vacation, borrowing times and recall periods will be longer. The Library will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year's Day. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.

Event: Get digitally creative with The 12 Days of Christmas

Posted on Monday 19 November 2018

What does a partridge in a pear tree look like in the digital world? How do ten lords a’ leap to the music and where are the six geese a’ laying?

Explore your archives

Posted on Sunday 18 November 2018

Add value to your assignments and research by exploring the unique resources, only available here at York, relating to a wide range of academic subjects, held on campus in our archives.

Library & Archives survey 2018: we want your feedback

Posted on Monday 12 November 2018

The Library & Archives survey 2018 is now open, and runs until Sunday 2 December. Tell us how we're doing and you could win a Chromebook, Fitbit Versa, or £200 experience day.

Ask us for MoreBooks

Posted on Thursday 1 November 2018

Tell us which books you'd like us to buy for the Library between 5 and 18 November this term.

International Open Access Week

Posted on Monday 22 October 2018

International Open Access Week runs between 22 to 29 October 2018

The Magic Touch

Posted on Monday 15 October 2018

Library staff are excited to announce the arrival of a MagicTouch kiosk.

Recommended reading

Posted on Sunday 14 October 2018

Your lecturers work with the Library to ensure that you have access to reading lists for your course. Find your lists to access a host of useful features.

Library & IT tips

Posted on Sunday 7 October 2018

Second and third year students share their top study tips so that you can get a head start!

Write about your book collection to win £500

Posted on Thursday 4 October 2018

Do you have more than ten books? Then you're a book collector! The Tony Fothergill Book Collecting Prize is your chance to tell the world about your collection. The winner will receive £500 and entry to the National Book Collecting Prize.

White Rose University Press publishes translated poems

Posted on Wednesday 26 September 2018

The open access press founded by the universities of York, Sheffield and Leeds, has released Oysters, nightingales and cooking pots: selected poetry and prose of Tristan Corbière.

Treat your shelf

Posted on Monday 24 September 2018

Last year’s graduates generously donated lots of coursebooks for their successors - now you can come and take them home.

Welcome to your Library

Posted on Thursday 20 September 2018

Our Library offers everything you'd expect - books, desks, wifi, advice - and quite a lot you wouldn't expect. The three minute video tour is a great starting point for all students.

ICYMI - information for returners

Posted on Wednesday 19 September 2018

Been away for the summer? Here's what you may have missed from the Library and IT Services in recent months.

Are you a new international student at the University?

Posted on Wednesday 19 September 2018

Welcome to York! Get to know your Library and the services we provide by visiting our information pages for international students.

Need IT support?

Posted on Tuesday 18 September 2018

As the new term starts, the Library and IT Help Desk should be your first port of call for any IT questions or problems.

Postgraduates leaving the University in September

Posted on Sunday 2 September 2018

If you’re a postgraduate leaving us this autumn, please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by Sunday 7 October 2018.

Library receives major updates

Posted on Wednesday 29 August 2018

The library has invested in updated technology to make borrowing books quicker and easier.

Fairhurst kitchen is now a permanent fixture!

Posted on Thursday 9 August 2018

Following a successful trial period, the kitchen for student use in the Library’s Fairhurst building has now been made permanent.

Loan laptops at the Piazza

Posted on Wednesday 18 July 2018

We've launched more loan laptops, this time in the Library@Piazza.

An outstanding team

Posted on Friday 22 June 2018

White Rose Libraries (WRL) collaboration, including the Library, has been declared Outstanding Library Team in the Times Higher Education Leadership & Management (THELMA) Awards.

Reading Lists summer essentials

Posted on Monday 11 June 2018

With the summer vacation on the horizon here is some key information for academic staff about what’s happening with Reading Lists.

Key Texts changes

Posted on Tuesday 5 June 2018

Changes to the Key Texts Collection for 2018/19.

Graduating this summer?

Posted on Monday 21 May 2018

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by Friday 22 June 2018.

Find a new home for your unwanted books

Posted on Monday 14 May 2018

Pass your course books on and raise money for charity.

New Director of Library and Archives

Posted on Thursday 10 May 2018

We are delighted to announce that, following a very competitive selection process, Masud Khokhar has been appointed to the post of Director of Library and Archives.

Enhance your digital skills

Posted on Tuesday 1 May 2018

The Library and IT Services offer training every Wednesday afternoon to help you make the most of digital technologies. This term we will be focusing on managing your project and the dissertation process.

Digital Creativity Week: Culture, communication and creativity

Posted on Thursday 19 April 2018

This event will explore archival material and consider connections between dialect, objects, and places in a creative way, culminating in a new digital creation.

Ask us for MoreBooks

Posted on Sunday 15 April 2018

Tell us which books you'd like us to buy for the Library between 23 April and 13 May this term.

Find a space to study that suits you

Posted on Friday 13 April 2018

The Library's a great place to study, but it can be very busy in the run up to exams. Take a look at our tips to make the most of our resources and information about some of your alternatives.

White Rose Libraries THELMA shortlisting

Posted on Thursday 12 April 2018

White Rose Libraries (WRL) collaboration has been shortlisted for Outstanding Library Team in the Times Higher Education Leadership and Management Awards (THELMA).

New Open Data in Practice event

Posted on Sunday 8 April 2018

The Benefits of Sharing Data event is being held on Thursday 17 May from 2.00pm to 3.30pm in ARC/014.

Easter borrowing, opening, & SCONUL access

Posted on Monday 12 March 2018

Over the Easter vacation you can continue to borrow items for the normal length of time, but recall periods will be longer. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.

Meet the Guide Dogs!

Posted on Monday 5 March 2018

Join us for our Guide dog meet and greet in week 9!

Call for book donations: World Book Day - Thursday 1st March 2018

Posted on Friday 16 February 2018

Donate your books to those in need!

Ask us for MoreBooks

Posted on Monday 5 February 2018

Tell us which books you’d like us to buy for the Library between 12 and 25 February this term.

Upgrading YorSearch

Posted on Tuesday 30 January 2018

We are upgrading the functionality of the YorSearch catalogue on Tuesday 6 February.

New loan laptops

Posted on Thursday 25 January 2018

You love using our loan laptops - so we've added more!

Spring Term research support training

Posted on Monday 22 January 2018

The Library's Research Support Team is here to support you with your research.

Revised University Research Data Management Policy

Posted on Monday 15 January 2018

A revised University Research Data Management Policy was approved by Research Committee in November 2017.

What's your digital experience?

Posted on Wednesday 10 January 2018

We're working with Jisc, who provide digital infrastructure and advice to UK education, to find out more about your experience of the digital tools, environment, and support that you access at the University.

New student kitchen available in the Library

Posted on Friday 5 January 2018

Due to popular demand, a kitchen is now available to students on a trial basis.

Annual book stock review

Posted on Monday 1 January 2018

We are currently undertaking our annual book stock review, starting this year with the books on the first floor of the Morrell Library (Social Sciences). The aim of the review is to ensure that our collections continue to meet research and teaching needs across the University and that we are making best use of Library space.

News by year