2016 Library news

YorSearch downtime: Overnight 10/11 December

Posted on Monday 5 December 2016

Our suppliers are carrying out maintenance work on YorSearch late on the evening of Saturday 10 December, to be completed by the early hours of Sunday 11 December.

Counting down to Christmas

Posted on Wednesday 30 November 2016

Our 2016 Advent Calendar is here to help you count down the days until Christmas.

Christmas borrowing, opening hours, & SCONUL access

Posted on Tuesday 22 November 2016

Over the Christmas vacation, borrowing times and recall periods will be longer. The Library will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day, and New Year's Day. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.

Library survey 2016: we want your feedback

Posted on Wednesday 16 November 2016

The Library survey 2016 is now open. Tell us how we're doing and you could win a Bose Bluetooth speaker!

Find Archives content on the Library catalogue

Posted on Monday 7 November 2016

The Borthwick Institute for Archives is a rich resource open to all members of the University. We've now added information about the archives that we hold to the Library catalogue to help you find them.

Friends of the Library & Archives: book launch & lecture

Posted on Friday 4 November 2016

You are invited to join us at the first University of York Friends of the Library and Archives event.

Reference management training

Posted on Monday 24 October 2016

Book your place to learn more about using reference management software.

Submitting your Spring resource lists

Posted on Friday 21 October 2016

Please submit your new and updated Spring Term resources lists to the Library by Monday 21 November.

Celebrate Open Access Week: 24 - 30 October

Posted on Wednesday 19 October 2016

Open in Action, this year's theme, encourages everyone in the academic community to take steps to make their own work more openly available and to encourage others to do the same.

ICYMI - information for returners

Posted on Friday 23 September 2016

Been away for the summer? Here's what you may have missed.

Postgraduate Wednesdays - starting on 5 October 2016

Posted on Thursday 22 September 2016

PG Wednesdays is a new programme of workshops and sessions to support postgraduate research students.

Digital Preservation Awards finalist

Posted on Wednesday 7 September 2016

We are finalists in the Research and Innovation Category of the prestigious Digital Preservation Awards!

Temporary study room closure September 2016

Posted on Thursday 1 September 2016

Single study rooms in the Morrell will be closed temporarily while we carry out PC upgrades.

Interlending: new way of downloading files

Posted on Thursday 1 September 2016

From 1 September 2016, there's a new and improved way to access British Library electronic documents provided by the Library's Interlending and Document Supply service.

Postgraduate leaving the University in September?

Posted on Wednesday 31 August 2016

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by 30 September 2016.

Developing our loans service for you

Posted on Tuesday 30 August 2016

During the academic year 2016/17, we're increasing loan limits, introducing longer loan periods, changing the overdue letters that we send, and offering an opt-out facility on weekly emails.

Loan laptops: chargers

Posted on Tuesday 30 August 2016

Borrowable chargers are no longer provided in the loan laptops cabinets.

YorSearch downtime

Posted on Tuesday 30 August 2016

Our suppliers are carrying out maintenance work on YorSearch from 12am on Sunday 4 September.

Swiping out: new exit turnstiles

Posted on Wednesday 24 August 2016

From Monday 5 September, you'll need to use your University card to enter and leave the Library.

YorSearch downtime: Saturday 27 August

Posted on Tuesday 23 August 2016

Our suppliers are carrying out maintenance work on YorSearch between 10pm on Saturday 27 August and 2am on Sunday 28 August.

Minster Library closed: 22 - 30 August

Posted on Thursday 11 August 2016

The Minster Library is closed for collection development work from 22-26 August. The Library will re-open as normal on Tuesday 30 August (after the Bank Holiday).

YorSearch downtime

Posted on Wednesday 3 August 2016

YorSearch will be unavailable on Sunday 14 August due to maintenance work by our supplier.

Reduced Library service - Tuesday 9 August

Posted on Tuesday 2 August 2016

Due to staff training, King's Manor Library will be closed on Tuesday 9 August. The Morrell, Fairhurst and Burton will remain open but will be self-service.

Shut Up and Write! In the summer vacation.

Posted on Monday 11 July 2016

Shut Up and Write! for Postgraduate Students is a simple concept - it's an opportunity for you to start, continue, or finish written work in a supportive environment with other postgraduates.

Minster Library opening time: 6 July

Posted on Monday 27 June 2016

The Minster Library will open up a little later than normal on Wednesday 6 July.

YorSearch downtime: Saturday 25 June

Posted on Wednesday 22 June 2016

Our suppliers are carrying out maintenance work on YorSearch between 10pm on Saturday 25 June and 2am on Sunday 26 June.

Summer collections moves

Posted on Tuesday 14 June 2016

From Monday 20 June, we're moving some book stock in the Library

Electrical work in Burton Reading Room 14 - 16 June

Posted on Friday 10 June 2016

Over the course of three nights, electricians will be working in the Burton Reading Room to replace the light fittings with more efficient LED units.

YorSearch downtime: Sunday 5 June

Posted on Sunday 29 May 2016

YorSearch is being upgraded at 2am on Sunday 5 June and will be unavailable for approximately two hours.

Minster Library: June opening times

Posted on Friday 27 May 2016

Restricted access to Dean's Park on Wednesdays in June means changes to the Minster Library opening hours.

Publishing forum - Monday 13 June

Posted on Monday 23 May 2016

Non-traditional publication formats for PhDs and associated academic outputs.

Graduating this summer?

Posted on Wednesday 18 May 2016

Please remember to return all your Library items and pay any charges by 17 June 2016.

Our excellent customer service

Posted on Tuesday 17 May 2016

For the third year running, Information Services (Library, IT and Archives) have successfully achieved the Customer Service Excellence Award.

Submitting your Autumn resource lists

Posted on Monday 16 May 2016

Please submit your new and updated Autumn Term resources lists to the Library by Monday 8 August.

The Minster Library on Gardeners' Question Time

Posted on Wednesday 27 April 2016

The largest cathedral library in the country and the long-running gardening show. A natural fit?

Open Access Café for Arts & Humanities research

Posted on Monday 25 April 2016

We're working with the Humanities Research Centre to offer an Open Access Café. It's taking place on Wednesday 4 May, 1pm - 5.15pm in the Treehouse, Berrick Saul Building. This event is designed for researchers, and those who support research, in the arts and humanities who would like to know more about open access and how it affects them. The event is flexible - just take up the options that are best for you.

John Neuton and the re-foundation of York Minster Library

Posted on Monday 25 April 2016

We are delighted to announce the launch of a new website exploring the story of John Neuton and the re-foundation of York Minster Library.

Shakespeare at the Minster Library

Posted on Friday 22 April 2016

To mark the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's death, the Minster Library is displaying a number of items from our collection.

Burton Reading Room reopens

Posted on Monday 11 April 2016

The Burton Reading Room has reopened providing additional silent space.

Find a space to study that suits you

Posted on Friday 8 April 2016

The Library's a great place to study, but it can be very busy in the run up to exams, so take a look at some of your alternatives.

Shut Up and Write! Dates for your diary.

Posted on Wednesday 6 April 2016

Shut Up and Write! for Postgraduate Research Students is a simple concept - it's an opportunity for you to start, continue, or finish written work in a supportive environment with other postgraduates.

Remember your card - get in faster

Posted on Monday 4 April 2016

You can come in to the Library, even if you forget your card, but you may need to wait.

Minster Library Book Delivery: now permanent

Posted on Monday 4 April 2016

All University members can borrow items from the Minster Library, and now we're offering a permanent delivery service to the main University Library too!

Changes to Library hold slips

Posted on Monday 21 March 2016

The code that’s printed on hold slips in requested books will be changing from Tuesday 29 March.

Additional silent study spaces in the Burton Reading Room

Posted on Friday 4 March 2016

We know that you need more spaces in the Library - so this Easter we’re creating extra study spaces in the Burton Building, ready for the Summer term.

Achieving best practice in research data management

Posted on Monday 29 February 2016

The University’s Research Data Management Policy applies to all researchers at the University - we can help you ensure that you're observing it.

Easter borrowing, opening, & SCONUL access

Posted on Monday 22 February 2016

Over the Easter vacation you can continue to borrow items for four weeks, however, recall periods will be longer. If you're away from the University, the SCONUL access scheme allows you to use resources at other universities.

Celebrate World Book Day with a Creme Egg & a new read!

Posted on Friday 19 February 2016

This World Book Day (Thursday 3 March) we'll be hosting a number of events to bring out the bibliophile in all of us.

Major improvement to items available at British Library, Boston Spa

Posted on Wednesday 17 February 2016

The British Library have made 85% of their London Reading Rooms collection items available to readers in Yorkshire.

Submitting your Summer resource lists

Posted on Wednesday 10 February 2016

Please submit your new and updated Summer Term resources lists to the Library by Monday 29 February 2016.

Workshops for EndNote Online

Posted on Tuesday 2 February 2016

Book a place on one of our EndNote Online workshops

The Minster Library - open to all

Posted on Monday 1 February 2016

The Minster Library is the largest cathedral library in the country, and it's yours to use.

Book an appointment with a librarian

Posted on Monday 1 February 2016

From finding resources to referencing, a librarian can help

New design for YorSearch

Posted on Friday 29 January 2016

YorSearch, the Library catalogue, will be getting a new and improved design on Monday 8 February.

Update: access to e-resources for visitors restored

Posted on Tuesday 26 January 2016

The Walk-in Access scheme which enables visitors to the Library to access e-resources is now back to normal.

Setting standards in the Library

Posted on Monday 25 January 2016

We set service standards for many aspects of the services that we deliver, and measure ourselves against them to ensure that we’re meeting your requirements.

Minster Library Book Delivery Service

Posted on Monday 25 January 2016

All University members can borrow items from the Minster Library, and now you can request that they're delivered to the main University Library too!

Shut Up and Write! for Postgraduate Research Students

Posted on Thursday 21 January 2016

Having trouble finishing a thesis chapter? Starting a journal article? Writing a long overdue progress report or conference abstract? Do you need to fend off procrastination, writer's block and that 'can't get out of bed feeling?' Then this is the event for you!

York Publishing Forum - 25 January 2016

Posted on Monday 11 January 2016

They call me the seeker: searching and finding in digital collections

White Rose University Press – now open for submissions

Posted on Wednesday 6 January 2016

White Rose University Press (WRUP), the UK's newest press, from the Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York, is now open for submissions!

News by year