2016 IT Services news

IT Services over Christmas

Posted on Wednesday 14 December 2016

IT support won't be available between 23 December and 3 January, but other IT facilities will be available throughout.

IT Support: Thursday 8 December

Posted on Wednesday 7 December 2016

Our IT support will be restricted on Thursday 8 December when staff celebrate a Professional @ York nomination.

Qualtrics Offline app now available

Posted on Monday 31 October 2016

We're making Qualtrics even more useful by giving you access to the Qualtrics Offline App.

Reference management training

Posted on Monday 24 October 2016

Book your place to learn more about using reference management software.

Inbox by Gmail coming to your York account

Posted on Wednesday 12 October 2016

Inbox by Gmail gives you a different way to organise your email. It's been available on personal Gmail accounts for over a year, and from Tuesday 18 October it will be available for York accounts.

Advanced computing support for researchers

Posted on Thursday 6 October 2016

From October 2016, our newly-created Research Computing Support Centre offers support on advanced computing topics for research postgraduates and staff. Appointments are now open for booking.

Research computing courses: book now!

Posted on Tuesday 27 September 2016

We provide research computing courses suitable for all researchers - whatever your experience or discipline.

ICYMI - information for returners

Posted on Friday 23 September 2016

Been away for the summer? Here's what you may have missed from IT Services.

All IT systems at risk: Tuesday 13 September

Posted on Monday 12 September 2016

On Tuesday 13 September between 8am and 8.30am we will be carrying out an upgrade to the load balancers that manage our network traffic.

IT training - Access and spreadsheets

Posted on Wednesday 31 August 2016

Our IT training sessions, Essential Access and Essential Spreadsheets, are now available to book for the next academic year.

Logging in to web services

Posted on Thursday 25 August 2016

We're upgrading the tool that manages logins to various web-based services.

Web application security training course

Posted on Wednesday 3 August 2016

We're re-running our practical based training course for web developers in secure development. On the course, participants will learn how to test web applications by breaking into them.

Summer IT room maintenance

Posted on Tuesday 28 June 2016

*Updated 15 August 2016* Over the summer vacation, we're carrying out routine maintenance in our IT rooms.

Withdrawal of York Conferences network

Posted on Thursday 2 June 2016

On Thursday 9 June, we will be removing the York Conferences wifi network. Conference guests should use eduroam if they are from a participating institution or the CityConnect network if not.

EPrint unavailable

Posted on Wednesday 25 May 2016

EPrint is unavailable until further notice. This includes emailing documents to print as attachments and uploading them via the web interface.

Qualtrics upgrade

Posted on Monday 23 May 2016

On Tuesday 14 June, we will be upgrading Qualtrics to the Insight Platform.

Our excellent customer service

Posted on Tuesday 17 May 2016

For the third year running, Information Services (Library, IT and Archives) have successfully achieved the Customer Service Excellence Award.

Showcase IT: an invitation to academics

Posted on Sunday 8 May 2016

IT Services offer more than you might realise to support academics and researchers who want to use technology in new and innovative ways.

Award for IT Services

Posted on Wednesday 6 April 2016

Our monitoring processes have been commended by UCISA (University and Colleges Information Systems Association).

Discounted Apple products - update

Posted on Tuesday 29 March 2016

Following Apple's announcement that they will no longer offer discounts to HE customers, we are pleased to inform you that we will be partnering with Stone for discounted Apple purchases from this point forward.

Changes to Apple purchasing

Posted on Monday 7 March 2016

From Friday 1 April, Apple will no longer offer HE discounts when you buy from them directly.

MATLAB training

Posted on Friday 26 February 2016

Join MathWorks engineers as they provide hands-on, example-driven training on programming techniques, parallel computing, statistical analysis, data processing and visualisation.

Wifi downtime - Thursday 25 February

Posted on Monday 22 February 2016

We will be carrying out work to increase capacity on the wifi network at 7.30am on Thursday 25 February.

Virtual Desktop Service at risk during February

Posted on Wednesday 27 January 2016

We will be carrying out work to upgrade the Virtual Desktop Service (VDS) throughout February.

Setting standards in IT

Posted on Monday 25 January 2016

We set service standards for many aspects of the services that we deliver, and measure ourselves against them to ensure that we’re meeting your requirements.

IT training - Spring term

Posted on Friday 8 January 2016

Our IT training sessions for Spring term are open for bookings from University staff and Postgraduate Researchers.

News by year