Accessibility statement

News 2011

Medical History

Posted on Saturday 24 December 2011

Sanjoy Bhattacharya named editor of Medical History journal

Charting the Impact of Slavery

Posted on Friday 23 December 2011

€4.3 million project into slavery and its legacy

Books of the Year

Posted on Monday 21 November 2011

Edward III and The Queen's Agent nominated as Books of the Year

Doctoral Funding

Posted on Tuesday 15 November 2011

Exciting new opportunities for funded doctoral research at York

What is History?

Posted on Monday 14 November 2011

Elizabeth Buettner gives Radio 3 broadcast on E. H. Carr's seminal book

New publication

Posted on Thursday 10 November 2011

New monograph on natural history in the Spanish Empire in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries

England's Immigrants, 1330-1550

Posted on Saturday 5 November 2011

Major new project explores immigration to England in the later Middle Ages

Great Western History

Posted on Friday 4 November 2011

York student wins transport history essay prize

York has history covered

Posted on Thursday 20 October 2011

For two months in a row, BBC History Magazine has featured research by York historians as its cover story

Department earns record scores for student satisfaction

Posted on Saturday 1 October 2011

The Department of History has received its highest ever scores in the National Student Survey

Book of the Week

Posted on Monday 26 September 2011

John Cooper's new book, The Queen's Agent, serialised on BBC Radio Four

York student wins award

Posted on Tuesday 16 August 2011

The first successful applicants for the Wellcome Trust Masters Awards were announced today, supporting the brightest minds in the History of Medicine and Medical Humanities.

History in Action

Posted on Friday 12 August 2011

York teams up with Gilder Lehrman and Yale University to host seminar series on the history of the transatlantic slave trade

New publication

Posted on Monday 1 August 2011

August 2011 sees the release of a pathbreaking new study of African-Jamaican womanhood by Henrice Altink.

Students celebrate exam success

Posted on Tuesday 5 July 2011

Congratulations to 252 History students who graduate this year with a York BA, over 94 percent with a 2.i or above!

Colleagues bid farewell to two former heads of department

Posted on Tuesday 5 July 2011

Bill Sheils and Allen Warren retire after a combined 52 years at York

History Tutors win Teaching Awards

Posted on Wednesday 8 June 2011

Two of the department's researchers receive university teaching awards for supporting their students learning.

New Perspectives in South Asian History

Posted on Wednesday 1 June 2011

The department welcomes the arrival of a new monograph series, edited by York historian Dr Sanjoy Bhattacharya.

New MA in Public History

Posted on Tuesday 19 April 2011

The Department welcomes applications for a new MA in Public History to begin study in October 2012. Professor Helen Weinstein, director of the Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past will convene the programme. Aimed at recent graduates and experienced practitioners, the programme will prepare students for careers in this field as well as further research into public history.

Conquest and Expansionism Conference

Posted on Friday 1 April 2011

This July, the 5th Annual Conference of the York History Research Society will address the theme of conquest and expansionism. This is a free postgraduate conference, run by postgraduates for postgraduates. The organising committee welcomes proposals for 20-minute papers.

Alcuin's Lost Library Exhibition

Posted on Thursday 24 February 2011

York had a library and school of European renown in the eighth century. But it vanished. Was it exported, recopied or destroyed during the Viking violence of 867. A new exhibition at York Minster Library tries to solve the mystery.

History AHRC studentships

Posted on Wednesday 23 February 2011

The Department welcomes applications for five AHRC awards for doctoral research. Successful applicants will have all their tuition fees paid for three years and receive an annual maintenance grant of £13,590.

World Health Organization's Global Health Histories links up with the department

Posted on Tuesday 18 January 2011

The World Health Organization's Global Health Histories project links up with the department.

Recent doctoral successes

Posted on Monday 17 January 2011

Congratulations to four of our research students on their successful vivas.

News archive