Accessibility statement

Events 2010

Past events

Televisualizing the Past: Simon Schama and 'A History of Britain' Ten Years On

Wednesday 8 December 2010

Ten years on the 'Televisualizing the Past' conference reflects on the production, distribution and reception of the BBC's landmark history series, Simon Schama's 'A History of Britain'.

Who Do We Think We Were?

Wednesday 17 November 2010

Independent producer Alex Graham of Who Do You Think We Are? to talk about the past, present and future of tv history documentary.

Can we eradicate malaria? Lessons from an earlier campaign

Wednesday 3 November 2010

Professor Randall Packard asks whether we can eradicate malaria in the light of previous attempts to do so.

Troubling Memories: Nineteenth-Century Histories of the Slave Trade and Slavery

Friday 29 October 2010

Professor Catherine Hall (UCL) reflects on the "troubled histories" written by nineteenth-century historians of slavery and the slave trade when she delivers the Royal Historical Society lecture.

News from Africa: Reporting Conversion in Renaissance Italy

Tuesday 26 October 2010

The AHRC-funded Conversion Narratives project launches with a lecture on "News from Africa: Reporting Conversion in Renaissance Itlay" from Professor Kate Lowe (Queen Mary, University of London).

York Postgraduate Conference

Friday 15 October 2010

Our second year research students present papers about their projects.

Hello and goodbye!

Friday 1 October 2010

Department welcomes seven new members of faculty and thanks outgoing staff.

Honorary degree for Professor Dame Jinty Nelson

Wednesday 1 September 2010

Professor Dame Jinty Nelson's remarks to this year's graduands at the degree ceremony on Friday 16 July.

Material Culture in History

Friday 2 July 2010

The theme of the Fourth Annual Conference of the York History Research Society this year is 'Material Culture in History.'

Historia Sacra: Renaissance Visions of Christian Origins

Thursday 10 June 2010

International symposium