International Advisory Board

ASTRA has an International Advisory Board (IAB) made up of five independent experts in the fields of tobacco research, health policy and smokeless tobacco.

The purpose of the IAB is to provide ASTRA with oversight and independent scrutiny. The IAB oversees all ASTRA’s research studies and ensures that the programme is progressing according to the work plan and within the overarching ethical framework. The IAB is also responsible for monitoring governance. Please follow the link for a detailed description of the Terms of reference for IAB (PDF , 575kb)

The IAB meets annually, unless more frequent meetings are required.

The Chair of our IAB is Dr Mark Parascandola, from the National Institutes of Health, USA.

Our other IAB members are listed below. Please click on the links to find out more about them.

  • Professor Jasjit Ahluwalia (Brown University, USA)
  • Dr. Sohel Choudhury (National Heart Foundation Hospital & Research Institute, Bangladesh)
  • Dr. Dhirendra Sinha (National Institute of Cancer Prevention and Research, India)
  • Dr. Nigar Nargis (American Cancer Society, USA)