Officers of the Board of Studies and Directors of Schools

Departmental Officers

Head of Department Helen Smith
Deputy Head of Department Matthew Townend 

Chair, Board of Studies

Kenneth Clarke
Deputy Chair, Board of Studies and Disability Officer
Kenneth Clarke
Chair, Research Committee Matthew Campbell
Chair, Graduate Research Committee
Richard Walsh
Director of Postgraduate Teaching Adam Kelly
Chair, Teaching Committee Nicola McDonald
Admissions Tutor Bryan Radley
Deputy Admissions Tutor Alexandra Kingston-Reese
Chair, Board of Examiners Mary Fairclough

Chair, Library and IT Sub-Committee

George Younge
Erasmus and Study Abroad Coordinator

James Williams

Careers and Alumni Officer JT Welsch
Health and Safety Officer Cathy Moore
Part-Time Tutor Coordinator Jonathan Brockbank
Chair of F. R. Leavis Fund Nicola McDonald

'Writers At York' Coordinator

JT Welsch

Norwegian Study Centre Coordinator

Geoffrey Wall

Directors of Research Schools

Modern School

Emilie Morin

Eighteenth Century & Romantics School

Chloe Wigston Smith
(Jon Mee, Spring Term 2017/18)

Renaissance School

Brian Cummings

Medieval School Matt Townend
Elizabeth Tyler

Combined Course Programmes

  English Programme Advisors Chair of Combined Board of Studies
English/History of Art

Chloe Wigston-Smith

Richard Johns (History of Art)
English/History Bryan Radley Bryan Radley (English)
English/Linguistics Matthew Townend Matt Townend (English)
English/Philosophy Richard Walsh Richard Walsh (English)
English/Politics Nicoletta Asciuto Nicoletta Asciuto (English)