Academic and Research Staff

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N P R S T V W X Z [ Back ]

Professor Andy Tyrrell

BSc, PhD (Aston), CEng, FIET, SeniorMIEEE

Head of Department

Email: andy.tyrrell@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://york.ac.uk/electronics/staff/andy_tyrrell/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2340
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

A [ top ]

Dr Kieran Alden

BSc (Hons), MRes, PhD, MIEEE

Research Fellow in Intelligent and Adaptive Systems

Email: kieran.alden@york.ac.uk
Homepage: https://www.york.ac.uk/ycil/members/kieran/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2825
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Tareq Al-Shami

Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher
Email: tareq.al-shami@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3497
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Eugene (Evgeny) Avrutin

MSc PhD (Ioffe) MIEEE MIET

Senior Lecturer;
Chair, Staff-Student Liaison Committee

Email: eugene.avrutin@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2341
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

B [ top ]

Edward Baker

Research Associate

Email: ed.baker@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2388
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Simon Bale

MEng, PhD

Research Fellow

Email: simon.bale@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4221
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Bidyut Baruah

PhD, MSc, BTech, AFHEA

Associate Lecturer

Email: bidyut.baruah@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4725
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Jude Brereton

MPhil, BA(Hons)

Senior Lecturer

Email: jude.brereton@york.ac.uk
Homepage: https://judebrereton.wordpress.com/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2570
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Kenneth Brown

Research Associate

Email: kenneth.brown@york.ac.uk

Professor Alister Burr

BSc (Soton), PhD (Bristol), MIET, MIEEE, CEng

Professor of Communications

Email: alister.burr@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2352
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

C [ top ]

Dr Pedro Burmester Campos

Research Associate

Email: pedro.campos@york.ac.uk
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 32 2824
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr David Chesmore

BSc, DPhil, CEnv, FIAgrE, FRES, FIOA

Senior Lecturer

Email: david.chesmore@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~edc1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2394
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Yi Chu

Research Associate

Email: yc541@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3497
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Tim Clarke

BA MSc MIET

Senior Lecturer

Email: tim.clarke@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2359
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Janet Clegg

BSc Mathematics (York), PhD Mathematics (York)

Senior Lecturer, Chair of the Board of Examiners

Email: janet.clegg@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3223
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Alice Courvoisier

Lecturer (E&S)

Email: alice.courvoisier@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://ethicsinstem.blogspot.co.uk/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4722
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Kanapathippillai Cumanan

PhD (Lough.), MIEEE

Lecturer

Email: kanapathippillai.cumanan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4723
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

D [ top ]

Dr Helena Daffern

BA (Hons), MA, PhD

Lecturer

Email: helena.daffern@york.ac.uk
Homepage: helenadaffern.com
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2350
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr John Dawson

BSc DPhil CEng MIET MIEEE

Senior Lecturer

Email: john.dawson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2356
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

E [ top ]

Professor Mohamed El-Gomati

BSc, MSc, DPhil, CPhys, FInstP, FRMS

Honorary Fellow and Professor Emeritus

Email: mohamed.elgomati@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2343
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

Professor Jeremy Everard

BSc Eng (London), AKC, PhD (Cambridge), C.Eng, MIEE

Professor of Electronics

Formerly BAE Systems/Royal Academy of Engineering Research Professor (2007 - 2012)

Email: jeremy.everard@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~jke1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2410
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

F [ top ]

G [ top ]

Dr Ruwan Naminda Gajaweera

BSc, MEng, PhD(Essex), MIEEE, MIET

Lecturer

Email: ruwan.gajaweera@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3222
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor David Grace 

MEng, DPhil (York) Senior MIEEE, MIET

Professor (Research), Head of Communication Technologies Research Group, Co-Director of York - Zhejiang Lab for Cognitive Radio and Green Communications, Guest Professor Zhejiang University

Email: david.grace@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.davidgrace.info
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2396
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

H [ top ]

Dr David Halliday

BSc PhD

MEng Project Co-ordinator; Careers Liaison Officer; Industrial Placement Co-ordinator

Email: david.halliday@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dh20
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2345
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Atsufumi Hirohata

BSc, MSc (Keio), PhD (Cantab), MInstP, SMIEEE

Reader

Email: atsufumi.hirohata@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~ah566/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3245
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Andy Hunt

PhD Music Technology, Diploma Music for the Media, BEng Electronic Engineering

Deputy Head of Department (Teaching)

Email: andy.hunt@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~adh2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2375
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

I [ top ]

Dr John Issit

Lecturer

Email: john.issitt@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4732
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

J [ top ]

Noel Jackson

MBA, MA Ed

Senior Lecturer: Teaching and Scholarship

Email: noel.jackson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4728
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Bin Jiang

Research Associate

Email: bin.jiang@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2395
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Anju Johnson

Research Associate

Email: anju.johnson@york.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2832
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Steven Johnson

Head of Intelligent Systems and Nano-science Research Group

Email: steven.johnson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~sdj507/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2693
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Jose Juan Colas

MRC Discovery Award Project

Email: jose.juancolas@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 322701 (Physics)

K [ top ]

Mahmudul Haque Kafi

Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher

Email: mkk518@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2310
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Gavin Kearney

Senior Lecturer

Email: gavin.kearney@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2374
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

 

Dr Elena Koutsoumpeli

Research Associate

Email: eleni.koutsoumpeli@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3246
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

 

L [ top ]

Dr Wei Li

Research Associate

Email: wei.li@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2828
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

 

M [ top ]

Professor Andy Marvin

FREng Fellow IEEE

Technical Director of York EMC Services Ltd

Email: andy.marvin@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2342
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

Dr Alan Millard

Research Associate

Email: alan.millard@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2419
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Julian Miller

BSc (Lond), PhD (City), PGCLTHE (Bham)

Honorary Fellow (formerly Reader)

Email: julian.miller@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.cartesiangp.co.uk/julian-miller-publications.html

Research Area: Intelligent Systems and Nano-science Group

Areas of Expertise: Evolutionary Algorithms, genetic programming, evolvable hardware

Dr Paul Mitchell

MEng, PhD, PGCAP, Senior MIEEE, MIET, FHEA

Senior Lecturer

Email: paul.mitchell@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2415
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Shuhei Miyashita

Lecturer

Group website: https://sites.google.com/site/shuheidotnet/
Email:
shuhei.miyashita@york.ac.uk
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 32 2393
Fax:
+44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Ryan Montague

Associate Lecturer

Email: ryan.montague@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2415
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Nils Morozs

Research Associate

Email: nils.morozs@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2418
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Damian Murphy

BSc (Hons), MSc, DPhil

Reader in Audio and Music Technology

Email: damian.murphy@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dtm3/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3221
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

N [ top ]

Jo North

Lecturer

Email: joanna.north@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4732
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

P [ top ]

Dr Dave Pearce

BA (Cantab) PhD (York) MIEEE

Lecturer, Chair of Teaching Committee, PGWT Co-ordinator

Email: david.pearce@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dajp1
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2390
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Adar Pelah

BSc, ScMEE, PhD (Cantab)

Reader in Electronics, Royal Academy of Engineering Enterprise Fellow, Digital Media Systems Stream Leader

Email: adar.pelah@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2364
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Andrew Pomfret

Lecturer, Chair of the Board of Studies

Email: andrew.pomfret@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2319
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Stuart Porter

BSc (Hons), DPhil

Senior Lecturer

Email: stuart.porter@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~sjp1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2397
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

R [ top ]

Dr Martin Robinson

MA, MSc, PhD, MIPEM

Senior Lecturer

Email: martin.robinson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~mpr2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2385
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

Professor John Robinson

PhD PEng CEng

Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning, Teaching and Information

Email: john.robinson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~jar11
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2353
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

Marjan Samiepour

Research Associate

Email: ms1783@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2822
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Helen Sharples

Foundation Year Tutor and Schools Outreach Co-ordinator

Email: helen.sharples@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4722
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Stephen Smith

BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD, CEng, CITP, FBCS, FHEA, MIEEE

Deputy Head of Department (Research, Impact and Innovation)

Email: stephen.smith@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~sls5/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2351
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr Ashish Suri

Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher

Email: ashish.suri@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2339
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Dr John Szymanski

MIET, MIEEE, MInstP, CPhys

Senior Lecturer

Email: john.szymanski@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~jes1/index.htm
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2354
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

T [ top ]

Dr Gianluca Tempesti

Reader

Email: gianluca.tempesti@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~gt512/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3328
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

Anthony Tew

BSc, CEng, MIET, MIEEE, AMAES, MIPEM

Senior Lecturer

Email: tony.tew@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2358
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Lewis Thresh

Research Associate

Email: lewis.thresh@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4233
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Jon Timmis

BSc (Hons), PGCHE, PhD, Senior MIEEE

Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Partnerships and Knowledge Exchange

Professor of Intelligent and Adaptive Systems

Email: jon.timmis@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.york.ac.uk/electronics/staff/jon_timmis/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2318
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Tim Tozer

Honarary Fellow and Lecturer (part time)

Email: tim.tozer@york.ac.uk
Tel:+44 (0)1904 32 2347
Mobile: +44 (0)7850 295927
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

Dr Martin Albrecht Trefzer

MSc, PhD, DPG, SeniorMIEEE

Lecturer

Email: martin.trefzer@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.trefzer.net/mat/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2346
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

V [ top ]

Rebecca Vos

BSc, MSc, AMInstP, AFHEA

Associate Lecturer (Teaching and Support), PhD Student (Audio lab)

Email: rrv501@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4722
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3224

W [ top ]

Professor Tony Ward

BSc (Hons), MBA (Open University)

Professor in Engineering Management

Email: tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~aew6/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3021
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 3326

X [ top ]

Professor Yongbing Xu

PhD

Chair in Nanotechnology

Email: yongbing.xu@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~yx2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2349
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Z  [ top ]

Dr Yuriy Zakharov

PhD (Moscow), SeniorMIEEE

Reader

Email: yury.zakharov@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~yz1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2399
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2335

Professor Fu-Chun Zheng

Email: fu-chun.zheng@york.ac.uk, fzheng@ieee.org