Accessibility statement

Academic and Research Staff

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N P R S T V W X Y Z [ Back ]

Professor Andy Tyrrell

BSc, PhD (Aston), CEng, FIET, SeniorMIEEE

Head of Department

Email: andy.tyrrell@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://york.ac.uk/electronics/staff/andy_tyrrell/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2340
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

 

A [ top ]

Dr Hamed Ahmadi

Lecturer in Intelligent Wireless Communications and Networks

Email: hamed.ahmadi@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2376

 

Dr Eugene (Evgeny) Avrutin

MSc PhD (Ioffe) MIEEE MIET

Senior Lecturer;
Chair, Board of Examiners

Email: eugene.avrutin@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2341

 

 

Dr Simon Bale

MEng, PhD

Research Fellow

Email: simon.bale@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4221

 

Dr Bidyut Baruah

PhD, MSc, BTech, AFHEA

Associate Lecturer

Email: bidyut.baruah@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4725

 

Dr John Bissell

Lecturer

Email: john.bissell@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2828

 

Dr Jude Brereton

BA(Hons), MPhil, PhD, SFHEA

Senior Lecturer;
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Email: jude.brereton@york.ac.uk
Homepage: https://judebrereton.wordpress.com/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2570

 

Dr Edgar Buchanan Berumen

Research Associate

Email: edgar.buchanan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2419

 

Professor Alister Burr 

BSc (Soton), PhD (Bristol), MIET, MIEEE, CEng

Professor of Communications

Email: alister.burr@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2352

 

C [ top ]

Kaniz Chowdhury

Research Fellow

Email: kaniz.chowdhury@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3246

 

Mohammed (Zia) Chowdhury

Research Fellow

Email: zia.chowdhury@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2398

 

Dr Yi Chu

Research Associate

Email: yi.chu@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3497

 

Dr Janet Clegg

BSc Mathematics (York), PhD Mathematics (York)

Senior Lecturer

Email: janet.clegg@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3223

 

Mr Martin Coulton

Lecturer

Email: martin.coulton@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4730

 

Dr Kanapathippillai Cumanan

PhD (Lough.), MIEEE

Lecturer

Email: kanapathippillai.cumanan@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4723

D [ top ]

Dr Helena Daffern

BA (Hons), MA, PhD

Senior Lecturer

Email: helena.daffern@york.ac.uk
Homepage: helenadaffern.com
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2350

 

Dr John Dawson

BSc DPhil CEng MIET MIEEE

Senior Lecturer;
Deputy Head, Communication Technologies Research Group;
Careers and Placements Coordinator

Email: john.dawson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2356

 

E [ top ]

Dr Kelvin Elphick

Research Associate

Email: kelvin.elphick@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2822

 

Professor Jeremy Everard

BSc Eng (London), AKC, PhD (Cambridge), C.Eng, MIEE

Professor of Electronics

Formerly BAE Systems/Royal Academy of Engineering Research Professor (2007 - 2012)

Email: jeremy.everard@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~jke1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2410

 

F [ top ]

Dr Ian Farr

Research Associate

Email: ian.farr@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2388

 

G [ top ]

Naomi Gildert

Foundation Tutor

Email: naomi.gildert@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2419

 

Dr Wael Gorma

Research Associate

Email: wael.gorma@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2315

 

Professor David Grace 

MEng, DPhil (York) Senior MIEEE, MIET

Professor (Research), Head of Communication Technologies Research Group, Co-Director of York - Zhejiang Lab for Cognitive Radio and Green Communications, Guest Professor Zhejiang University

Email: david.grace@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.davidgrace.info
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2396

 

 

 

H [ top ]

Dr David Halliday

BSc PhD

Reader; Chair of Research Committee

Email: david.halliday@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dh20
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2345

 

Benjamin Henson

Research Associate

Email: benjamin.henson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2312

 

Dr Simon Hickinbotham

Research Fellow

Email: simon.hickinbotham@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2832

 

Professor Atsufumi Hirohata

BSc, MSc (Keio), PhD (Cantab), MInstP, SMIEEE

 

Email: atsufumi.hirohata@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~ah566/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3245

 

Dr Yihua Hu

Reader

Email: yihua.hu@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2394

 

Professor Andy Hunt

PhD Music Technology, Diploma Music for the Media, BEng Electronic Engineering

Chair, Teaching Committee

Email: andy.hunt@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~adh2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2375

 

I [ top ]

Shammi Farhana Islam

Research Associate

Email: shammi.islam@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2311

 

Dr John Issit

Lecturer

Email: john.issitt@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4732

 

J [ top ]

Dr Noel Jackson

EdD, MBA, MA Ed

Chair, Board of Studies
Senior Lecturer: Teaching and Scholarship

Email: noel.jackson@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4728

 

Dr Steven Johnson

Head of Intelligent Systems and Nano-science Research Group

Email: steven.johnson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~sdj507/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2693

 

K [ top ]

Mahmudul Haque Kafi

Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher

Email: mkk518@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2310

 

Dr Gavin Kearney

Senior Lecturer

Email: gavin.kearney@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2374

 

 

Dr Youngwook Ko

Senior Lecturer

Email: youngwook.ko@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2343

 

L [ top ]

Dr Wei Li

Research Associate

Email: wei.li@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2828

 

M [ top ]

Sumaila Mahama

Research Associate

Email: sumaila.mahama@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3497

 

Dr Paul Mitchell

Reader

Email: paul.mitchell@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2415

 

Dr Nils Morozs

Research Associate

Email: nils.morozs@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2418

 

Professor Damian Murphy

BSc (Hons), MSc, DPhil

Professor of Sound and Music Computing;
University Research Champion for Creativity

Email: damian.murphy@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dtm3/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3221

 

N [ top ]

Dr Mohammad Nasr Esfahani

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

Email: mohammad.nasresfahani@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2402

 

 

P [ top ]

Dr Samadhan Patil

Lecturer

Email: samadhan.patil@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2381

 

Dr David Pearce

BA (Cantab) PhD (York) MIEEE

Lecturer; PGWT Co-ordinator

Email: david.pearce@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~dajp1
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2390

 

Dr Adar Pelah

BSc, ScMEE, PhD (Cantab)

Reader in Electronics, Royal Academy of Engineering Enterprise Fellow

Email: adar.pelah@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2364

 

Dr Andrew Pomfret

Senior Lecturer

Email: andrew.pomfret@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2319

 

Dr Stuart Porter

Senior Lecturer;
Chair, Staff Student Liaison Committee;
SWENG project co-ordinator; 3rd year project co-ordinator
Dr. Dave Pearce

Email: stuart.porter@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2397

 

Dr Mark Post

Lecturer;
(Assistant Professor) in Robotics and Autonomous Systems

Email: mark.post@york.ac.uk
Homepage:http://markapost.com/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2392

 

Dr Jane Proszek Gorninski

Lecturer

Email: jane.proszek@york.ac.uk/a>
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2417

 

R [ top ]

Dr Joseph Rees-Jones

Research Associate

Email: joseph.rees-jones@york.ac.uk/a>
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2358

 

Dr Martin Robinson

MA, MSc, PhD, MIPEM

Senior Lecturer;
4th year project co-ordinator

Email: martin.robinson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~mpr2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2385

 

Professor John Robinson

PhD PEng CEng

Pro-Vice Chancellor for Learning, Teaching and Information

Email: john.robinson@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~jar11
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2353
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

 

S [ top ]

Mrs Helen Sharples

Foundation Year Tutor and Schools Outreach Co-ordinator

Email: helen.sharples@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 4722

 

Dr Matthew Simmons

Research Associate

Email: matthew.simmons@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3246

 

Professor Stephen Smith

BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD, CEng, CITP, FBCS, FHEA, MIEEE

Deputy Head of Department (Research, Impact and Innovation); Graduate Admissions Tutor

Email: stephen.smith@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~sls5/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2351

 

Dr Frank Stevens

Associate Lecturer in Audio and Music Technology

Email: frank.stevens@york.ac.uk
Homepage: 
https://audiolab.york.ac.uk/pp-francis-stevens/
Tel:
+44 (0)1904 32 4232

 

T [ top ]

Dr Gianluca Tempesti

Reader

Email: gianluca.tempesti@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~gt512/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3328
Fax: +44 (0)1904 32 2461

 

Dr Martin Trezfer

MSc, PhD, DPG, SeniorMIEEE

Senior Lecturer

Email: martin.trefzer@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www.trefzer.net/mat/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2346

 

Professor Zion Tse

Chair in Medical Robotics
Royal Society Wolfson Fellow

Email: zion.tse@york.ac.uk
Homepage: https://www.mrlabuk.com/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2342

 

V [ top ]

Mr Arunkumar Venkateshaiah

Research Associate

Email: arunkumar.venkateshaiah@york.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2398

 

W [ top ]

Professor Tony Ward

BSc (Hons), MBA (Open University)

Professor in Engineering Management 

Deputy Head of Department (Teaching and Scholarship)

Email: tony.ward@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~aew6/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 3021

 

X [ top ]

Professor Yongbing Xu

PhD

Chair in Nanotechnology

Email: yongbing.xu@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~yx2/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2349

 

Y [ top ]

Kat Young

Research Associate

Email: kat.young@york.ac.uk

 

Z [ top ]

Dr Yuriy Zakharov

PhD (Moscow), SeniorMIEEE

Reader

Email: yury.zakharov@york.ac.uk
Homepage: http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~yz1/
Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2399