Previous events

Humanities Research Centre Tenth Anniversary Celebration

Friday 18 October 2019

An event to provoke, inspire and open new conversations and connections.

From Past to Present at the King's Manor

Saturday 21 September 2019

A Heritage Open Day led by Kate Giles

A Contemporary Robinsonade

Thursday 11 July 2019

Peter Robinson (University of Reading) reads from The Constitutionals: A Fiction (2019) and discusses the praxis of adaptation

Crusoe at 300: Adaptations, Afterlives & Futures

Wednesday 10 July 2019

The sixth biennial meeting of the Defoe Society

Prudence or Pathology? The Figure of the Miser in the Eighteenth-Century Money It-Narrative

Tuesday 18 June 2019

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Charmaine Falzon (Queen Mary University of London)

Art as Commodities / Commodities as Art: An Interdisciplinary Conference

Friday 14 June 2019

This conference will demonstrate the centrality of markets to art’s modern cultural ascendancy, while also recasting art objects as bodies of knowledge and vehicles of cultural exchange through networks of global trade.

The Aesthetics of Autonomy

Tuesday 11 June 2019

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Marte Stinis (University of York)

Festival Film Screening: Peterloo

Sunday 9 June 2019

Join us for a special Festival screening of Mike Leigh’s epic film Peterloo.

Peterloo: Mike Leigh in conversation

Sunday 9 June 2019

Join Mike as he discusses the film and its making.

Small Things in the Eighteenth Century

Thursday 6 June 2019

A British Academy funded conference

Beer and Ballads

Wednesday 5 June 2019

Join us at a local tavern as we recreate the convivial atmosphere of the radical meetings of the early 19th century

City of Beasts: How animals shaped Georgian London

Tuesday 4 June 2019

CECS Research Seminar with Thomas Almeroth-Williams (University of Cambridge)

Living amidst the ruins: A social geography of eighteenth-century Whitehall

Tuesday 28 May 2019

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Juliet Learmouth (Birkbeck University of London)

Making Harewood and the Modern World

Wednesday 22 May 2019

Department of Archaeology 40th Anniversary Open Lectures Series

Reviving the Credibility of the Criminal Law: Robert Peel’s reform and resistance to Jeremy Bentham’s radicalism

Tuesday 14 May 2019

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Cheng Li (University of York)

Wordsworth’s Anglo-French Pamphlet: Public and Private Codes in A Letter to the Bishop of Llandaff

Tuesday 7 May 2019

Professor David Duff (Queen Mary, University of London) will be giving the CECS Annual Stephen Copley lecture

The Spouting Club: A Workship

Tuesday 30 April 2019

CECS Postgraduate Forum with Ellen Brewster (University of Oxford)

Poverty, Prisons, Death and Disease (PPDD) in 1840s York

Tuesday 16 April 2019

This "PPDD" event is organised jointly by York Museums Trust and "York and All That".

Writing a philosopher’s life: The case of George Berkeley

Monday 1 April 2019

Dr Tom Jones, University of St Andrews

Peterloo at 200

Friday 15 March 2019

Two days of public events to commemorate and understand the Peterloo massacre.

York 1844 and all that: Ideas and themes 175 years on

Tuesday 12 March 2019

A York Unconference Join us on March 12th for a gathering of enthusiasts focussing on a unique period in York's history!

Poetics of the Pillory: English Literature and Seditious Libel 1660-1820

Tuesday 26 February 2019

Thomas Keymer (University of Toronto)

'A work of time' The material decay and notional permanence of the Cotton Library

Tuesday 19 February 2019

Will Burgess (Queen Mary University of London)

Intoxicants and the Invention of ‘Consumption’

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Phil Withington (University of Sheffield)

Clarissa Repurposed; or, How the Fictional Corpse Became Gothic

Tuesday 29 January 2019

Yael Shapira (Bar-Ilan University)

'On Thin Ice': The launch of Thin Ice Press

Thursday 24 January 2019

Join the Department of English and Related Literature to celebrate the launch of Thin Ice Press, our newly-built in-house printing studio.

Disrememberance of Things Past, or: À la recherche de l'histoire perdue

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Guy Beiner (Ben-Gurion University)

Mary Guyatt on Careers in the Heritage Industry

Monday 14 January 2019

Dr Mary Guyatt, Director of the Jane Austen's House Museum