Accessibility statement

Aronson Teaching Prize - Winners announced

Posted on 28 January 2013

Starting from 2011/12 onwards we have re-introduced the Aronson Teaching Prize for best designed module and most engaging & effective lecturer.

The awards process has been led by our course reps who have set the award criteria, run the surveys, confirmed the prizewinners and will also be presenting the prizes to the winners.

We are pleased to confirm the awards for 2011/12 as follows:

Best Designed Module (one module per year group)


  1. Creativity and innovation in the formation and presentation of the course material, as demonstrated through structure of lecture program and hand-outs, progression through the material and correlation between lectures, seminars, formative and summative assessment
  2. The module includes excellent feedback from all assessments in a format that ensures students understand where they need to improve
  3. Students are encouraged to learn in a variety of ways and learn a range of differnet skills, with a particular focus on transferability and employability. This should include a variety of media, for example - projects, individual presentations and group work

Most Engaging & Effective Lecturer (one prize)


  1. Particularly positive attitude and displays enthusiasm towards the material
  2. Ability to manipulate material, making it understandable, clear and intuitive - depth of understanding of material
  3. Considers key concepts in the wider context of Economics

The awards for 2011/12 go to:

Best Designed Module 1st Yr - Intro to Statistical Theory - J Thijssen, F Iacone, Y Tavman & D Bregantini

Best Designed Module 2nd Yr - Micro II - J Hey, J Lomas, D Howdon, J Bone, M Beacham, X Dong & K Georgalos

Best Designed Module 3rd Yr - Monetary Economics - S Chattopadhyay & M Bambi

Most Engaging & Effective Lecturer - Sue Bowden

Congratulations to the Prizewinners!