Our people

 Research StaffInterests
Nicholas Pleace 

Nicholas Pleace
Director
Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)1904 321479
nicholas.pleace@york.ac.uk

  • Interdisciplinary research
  • Comparative research
  • Housing and social justice
  • Housing inequalities, health and wellbeing
  • Neighbourhood effects, social justice, health and wellbeing
  • Independent living and co-production of services for people with support needs
  • Housing exclusion, homelessness and social justice, health and wellbeing
‌ Mark Bevan

Mark Bevan
Senior Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321489
mark.bevan@york.ac.uk

  • housing in rural areas
  • housing and older people
  • park homes
  • housing and biographical disruption
  • niche housing markets and the meaning of home
 ‌

Joanne Bretherton
Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321478
joanne.bretherton@york.ac.uk

  • homelessness and housing exclusion
  • social enterprise service models
  • service evaluation
  • gender-based (domestic) violence
  • negative area effects in relation to mixed communities
  • international comparisons with a particular interest in the Asia Pacific region and Japanese social and housing policy
Fiorella Ciapessoni

Fiorella Ciapessoni 
PhD student

+44 (0)1904 321472
fc743@york.ac.uk

  • homelessness
  • housing exclusion
  • urban poverty
  • crime
  • reentry policies
Karen Croucher 

Karen Croucher
Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321473
karen.croucher@york.ac.uk 

  • housing and later life
  • lifetime neighbourhoods
  • extra care housing and retirement communities
  • end of life care
Deborah Quilgars 

Deborah Quilgars
Senior Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321482
deborah.quilgars@york.ac.uk

  • housing, risk and safety nets, homelessness and support services
  • young people
  • European perspectives
David Rhodes 

David Rhodes
Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321483
david.rhodes@york.ac.uk

  • private rented housing
  • housing markets
  • homelessness
  • housing benefits
Julie Rugg 

Julie Rugg
Senior Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321484
julie.rugg@york.ac.uk

  • private renting
  • housing benefit
  • the contribution of the voluntary sector to the alleviation of homelessness
  • cemeteries research
null 

Roy Sainsbury
Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)1904 321975           
roy.sainsbury@york.ac.uk

  • housing and welfare reform
  • housing benefit and universal credit
  • housing and work
 Alison photo

Alison Wallace
Research Fellow

+44 (0)1904 321487
alison.wallace@york.ac.uk

  • sustainable homeownership
  • low cost homeownership
  • housing markets
  • buy-to-let
  • cultural-economy
  • systematic review methodology

 Administrative staffResponsibilities

Teresa Frank 
Research Support Administrator
Part time (Monday to Thursday)

+44 (0)1904 321289
teresa.frank@york.ac.uk

  • Administrative support to a number of research projects across the Department of Social Policy & Social Work
  • Range of administrative duties which help support the day to day running of the Centre
Nicola Moody ‌

Nicola Moody
Research Facilitator
Part time (Monday to Thursday)

+44 (0)1904 321476
nicola.moody@york.ac.uk

  • Budget preparation for research projects
  • Project financial management
  • Budget forecasting
  • Centre's first aider
PA to Director, support staff 

Sally Pulleyn 
Research Support Manager

+44 (0)1904 321951
sally.pulleyn@york.ac.uk

  • supporting the Director
  • personnel work
  • recruitment and induction
  • maintenance of accommodation and facilities
  • health and safety
  • managing a team of staff to ensure research activities are supported efficiently and effectively
Dawn Rowley

Dawn Rowley 
Research Support Administrator

+44 (0)1904 321480
dawn.rowley@york.ac.uk

  • Administrative support to a number of research projects across the Department of Social Policy & Social Work
  • Range of administrative duties which help support the day to day running of the Centre
  • Administrative support to the Cemeteries Colloquium

 

Honorary staff Interests

Janet Ford

Emeritus Professor 

janet.ford@york.ac.uk

  • problematic aspects of owner occupation
  • mortgage arrears and possessions
  • changing relationship between the housing and labour
    markets   
  • risk

Rebecca Tunstall 

Emeritus Professor

becky.tunstall@york.ac.uk

  • social housing
  • neighbourhoods
  • inequality