Accessibility statement

2019

Past events

Robin Perutz 70th Birthday Symposium

Friday 13 December 2019

Various

'Catalytic Methods for the Synthesis of Biologically Important Molecules' and 'Asymmetric Catalysis of Ketone Reduction'

Wednesday 27 November 2019

Dr Wade Petersen, University of Cape Town and Prof Martin Wills, University of Warwick

Ultrafast spin and charge dynamics in molecular magnets

Wednesday 6 November 2019

Dr Olof Johansson, University of Edinburgh

Organic Seminar

Wednesday 23 October 2019

Dr James Douglas and Dr Mairi Littleson (AstraZeneca) Dr Rachel Grainger (Astex)

Ethical Standards in robotics and AI: what are they and why they matter

Wednesday 16 October 2019

Prof Alan Winfield, UWE Bristol

Photochemically produced air pollution in China: Insights from field campaigns

Wednesday 16 October 2019

Hendrik Fuchs, Forschungszentrum Juelich

KMS Prize winners seminar and poster session

Wednesday 9 October 2019

Various

Dominant Rotors as a Way to Control Macrocycles

Thursday 26 September 2019

Prof Andrei Yudin, University of Toronto

Spotlight on Metalloenzymes - Bioinorganic Strategies for Converting Matter and Energy

Monday 23 September 2019

See below for full speaker line-up

Modulating the colloidal behaviour of amphiphilic nanoparticles

Thursday 19 September 2019

Ye Yang and Dr Stefan Guldin, University College London

Copper foams as electrocatalysts for the reduction of CO2 to C3 products

Wednesday 11 September 2019

Dr Jennifer Rudd, Swansea University

"Natural Product Diversity from Microbial Interactions"

Monday 29 July 2019

Dr Pierre Stallforth, Leibniz Institute for Natural Product Research and Infection Biology – Hans Knöll Institute

Application of Organobismuth Reagents in Metal-Catalyzed Reactions

Wednesday 17 July 2019

Dr Alex Gagnon, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM)

The electron cryomicroscopy revolution in structural biology

Tuesday 16 July 2019

Prof Richard Henderson

Self-immolative linkers in bioorthogonal chemistry and on-demand heterocycle synthesis

Friday 12 July 2019

Dr Allan Gamble, University of Otago, New Zealand

Sustainable N2 reduction to ammonia: Towards a sustainable and circular N-economy

Friday 12 July 2019

Prof Douglas MacFarlane, Monash University

York Biology-Chemistry Glycoscience Symposium

Wednesday 10 July 2019

Various - see below

What flow chemistry can do for materials discovery

Wednesday 3 July 2019

Dr Anna Slater, University of Liverpool

The ups and downs of a globe-trotting troublemaker

Tuesday 25 June 2019

Dr Seishi Shimizu, University of York

Curiosities of electrostatics in concentrated electrolytes

Wednesday 12 June 2019

Prof Susan Perkin, University of Oxford

Towards Sustainable Plastics

Tuesday 11 June 2019

Various

"Fluorine and Iodine: A powerful combination for fluorination" and "Large and small rings in the synthesis of natural and unnatural products"

Wednesday 5 June 2019

Dr Alison Stuart, University of Leicester, Prof Ed Anderson, University of Oxford

Light and Life – A molecular perspective

Wednesday 29 May 2019

Prof Steve Meech, University of East Anglia, Dr Alex Jones, National Physical Laboratory & Dr Helen Bryant, University of Sheffield

Observations of Biomass Burning Complex Mixtures using ultrahigh resolution Mass Spectrometry

Friday 24 May 2019

Dr Lynn Mazzoleni, Co-Director of the Chemical Advanced Resolution Methods (ChARM) Core Facility, Michigan Technological University

Toward Digital Native Chemistry: The Case of Carbohydrates and Peptides

Thursday 16 May 2019

Prof Nicola Pohl, Indiana University

Metal-Hydrogen Exchange: Strategies and Applications

Tuesday 14 May 2019

Prof Jianhui Huang, Tianjin University

Enhancing Learning by Assessing More than Content Knowledge

Tuesday 14 May 2019

Prof Renee Cole, University of Iowa

2nd Microwave Commercialisation Workshop

Thursday 9 May 2019

Various industrial and academic speakers

On Discovery in Catalysis

Wednesday 8 May 2019

Prof Frank Glorius, University of Münster

Bacteriophage – the known unknowns of the gut microbiome

Thursday 2 May 2019

Dr Colin Hill, APC Microbiome Ireland, University College Cork

Iron-sulfur cluster proteins as biological switches

Wednesday 1 May 2019

Prof Nick Le Brun, University of East Anglia, RSC Joseph Chatt Award Winner 2018

“Catalytic conversion of biomass and wastes”

Tuesday 16 April 2019

Dr Dorothée Laurenti, IRCELYON, CNRS

“Food Waste Valorization into Platform Chemicals and Bioenergy in Hong Kong”

Monday 8 April 2019

Dr Daniel C.W. Tsang, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

RSC Organic Section North East Regional Meeting

Wednesday 27 March 2019

Various speakers

"That won’t work with my students" – the role of evidence in changing practice

Wednesday 20 March 2019

Prof Tina Overton, University of Leeds

Serendipitous Science: Accidental discoveries that changed the world

Thursday 14 March 2019

Dr Annie Hodgson, University of York

“What is the pH at an electrode surface?”

Wednesday 13 March 2019

Dr Katherine Holt, University College London

"My journey with Athena: looking back over 20 years’ work on women in science"

Thursday 7 March 2019

Sean McWhinnie, Oxford Research and Policy

“Calculations on reactions of fundamental importance: electron transfer and hydrogen tunnelling”

Wednesday 6 March 2019

Prof Anthony Meijer, University of Sheffield

"Harnessing Non-Covalent Interactions to Address Selectivity Challenges in Catalysis" and "Catalytic Allylrhodium Chemistry for Carbon-Carbon Bond Formation"

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Prof Hon Lam, University of Nottingham, Dr Robert Phipps, University of Cambridge

Luminescent Metal Complexes: From Molecular to Nanoparticle Probes for Detection and Imaging

Wednesday 20 February 2019

Prof Zoe Pikramenou, University of Birmingham

"From hydrogenases to biocatalytic hydrogenation cascades"

Wednesday 13 February 2019

Prof Kylie Vincent, University of Oxford

“Photoelectron spectroscopy of biochromophores”

Wednesday 30 January 2019

Prof Helen Fielding, University College London

“Molecular Devices for the Transmission of Information across Membranes"

Tuesday 22 January 2019

Dr Simon Webb, University of Manchester

McCamley Lecture: "Dye-sensitized metal oxides for solar cells and solar fuels"

Wednesday 16 January 2019

Dr Libby Gibson, University of Newcastle

Seminar archive