Accessibility statement

Ecology and Evolution seminars archive

Polyploidy and Plant Diversification

Thursday 24 June 2021

Professor Pamela S. Soltis, University of Florida

The foraging gene as a modifier of behavior: gene regulation, pleiotropy and plasticity

Thursday 17 June 2021

Professor Marla Sokolowski, University of Toronto

Lovely Ladybirds!

Thursday 10 June 2021

Dr Tamsin Majerus, University of Nottingham

Seabird Phylogenomics: Rate variation and rapid radiations

Thursday 3 June 2021

Dr Adreanna Welch, University of Durham

Cancelled

Thursday 18 March 2021

Dr O'Connell will present her work.

Antimicrobial treatment without antimicrobial resistance: anti-evolution countermeasures

Thursday 11 March 2021

Professor Andrew Read, Penn State University, USA

(pp)pGpp - signalling nucleotides required for bacterial stress adaptation

Thursday 4 March 2021

Dr Rebecca Corrigan, University of Sheffield

Ralstonia solanacearum plant pathogenic bacterium can rapidly evolve more tolerant to volatile organic compounds produced by competitors

Thursday 18 February 2021

Waseem Raza introduces his work on volatile organic compounds (VOCs) produced by soil microbes.

Molecular approaches for the study of social behaviour

Thursday 11 February 2021

Dr Manfredini will present his work.

Experimental evolution of cancer cell lines

Thursday 4 February 2021

Dr Johnson will present her work.

Gone with the wind: What makes a spider fly?

Thursday 28 January 2021

Prof Goodacre will present her work.

Identifying drivers of pathogen transmission within and among species

Thursday 21 January 2021

Dr Biek will present his work.

Patterns of Codon Usage Across Unicellular Eukaryotes

Thursday 3 December 2020

Dr Martin Carr will present his work.

Dosage constraints and the evolution of gene copy number and gene expression

Thursday 26 November 2020

Professor McLysaght will present her work

CRISPR, herd immunity and transduction - an unexpected way of how bacteria have sex

Thursday 19 November 2020

Dr Payne will present his work

Effects of early-life stress on avian social learning strategies

Thursday 12 November 2020

Dr Neeltje Boogert, Unviersity of Exeter

Evolution and consequences of a social circulatory system

Thursday 29 October 2020

Adria LeBoeuf will present her work.

Local adaptation and speciation in Littorina

Thursday 22 October 2020

Professor Roger Butlin will present his work

Emerging Pathogens: Ecology, Economics and Evolution

Thursday 15 October 2020

Professor Andy Dobson will present his work.

Detecting selection in genomes using deep learning

Thursday 8 October 2020

The application of deep learning, a branch of machine learning based on multi-layer neural networks, to biological data appears to be a revolutionary step to address complex questions, even in evolutionary biology.

Busy 'bout the tree of life: Discoveries from telomere to telomere genomes

Thursday 1 October 2020

Professor Mark Blaxter will present his work. The seminar will be hosted using Zoom. A Google calendar invite featuring the Zoom link will be sent to Biology staff and students before the seminar date.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 18 June 2020

Dr Payne will present their research.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 11 June 2020

Dr Biek will present their research.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 4 June 2020

Dr Manfredini will present their work.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 21 May 2020

Dr Fumagalli will present their work.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 14 May 2020

Dr Carr will present their work.

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date) - Local adaptation and speciation in Littorina

Thursday 30 April 2020

Professor Roger Butlin, University of Sheffield

CANCELLED (to be postponed until a later date)

Thursday 23 April 2020

David Robertson will present his work

The evolution of the number of sexes

Thursday 27 February 2020

George Constable will present their work

Cancelled

Thursday 20 February 2020

Philip Mannion will present their work

Social network plasticity decreases disease transmission in the ant Lasius niger

Thursday 6 February 2020

Nathalie Stroeymeyt will present her work

The enemy of my enemy… the impact of a hyperparasite on a plant pathogen

Thursday 30 January 2020

Steven Parrat will present their work

Transitions in sexual system and comparative genomics of sex chromosomes

Thursday 23 January 2020

Dr Africa Gómez will present their work

Cancelled

Thursday 16 January 2020

Ben Ashby will present their work

Genetics underpinning novel phenotypes in social evolution and pesticide response

Thursday 5 December 2019

Yannick Wurm will present their work

CANCELLED - Title TBC

Thursday 28 November 2019

Damian Rivett will present their work

CANCELLED - Origin of yeast's natural genome engineering system, mating-type switching

Thursday 21 November 2019

Kenneth H. Wolfe will present their work

Paradoxical diversity of cell cycle control across eukaryotes

Thursday 14 November 2019

Maria Domingosananes will present her work

Phylogeny and introgression in African mosquitoes Anopheles gambiae species complex

Thursday 31 October 2019

Ziheng Yang will present their work

Exploring the treasure trove – using natural history collections to study biodiversity

Thursday 24 October 2019

Natalie Cooper will present her work

Can the legume-rhizobia symbiosis be improved

Thursday 10 October 2019

William Deakin will present his work

Experimental community dynamics

Thursday 3 October 2019

Teppo Hiltunen will present their work

Natural Products in Predator-Prey Interactions

Monday 29 July 2019

The search for new bioactive natural products has prompted scientists to exploit environmental niches in which the production of these compounds is ecologically motivated.

Size matters: accurate detection and phasing of Structural Variations

Friday 26 July 2019

In this presentation, Dr Fritz Sedlazeck describes the latest work to obtain comprehensive genomes leveraging long and linked reads.

Phylogenomic insights into the molecular basis of the variable risk to food safety of Salmonella pathovariants

Thursday 20 June 2019

Research in my group combines bioinformatics, genomics, molecular microbiology and models of infection to investigate the evolution of interactions between pathogens, the environment and the host.

Title TBC

Thursday 13 June 2019

Event details TBC